Cooking

Would you marry a woman who cooks, but just doesn’t cook desi food. Cooks other foods. Can make you a great healthy salad, but a salan is out of her skill range?

Re: Cooking

But salad and salan are not equivalent. The latter is a meal, an entree.

Ohh I would love a woman who doesn't make desi food and curry and salan and stuff. It freakin stinks up my closet. Every time I have to go out and my mom is cooking, I literally run so the smell of onions doesn't get in.

A salad is a perfectly good entree, and if desis viewed it as an entree, we'd have less artery clogged at-their-tombstone obese uncles.

Good.

Lazania versus Qorma fight.

:yummy:

Answer is no for most desi men. :slight_smile:

panang curry vs nihari, sure
ropa vieja vs qorma , sure
koubideh vs koftay, sure
paella vs pulao, sure
Moqueca de Camarao vs prawn masala, sure
point being, one does not have to be decent at cooking desi food, as long as one is decent at cooking some cuisine, does not have to be gourmet chef level, but tasty, and with enough variety.
You can eat healthy, and have great tasting foods as well. many mediterranean and japanese entrees are perfect.
Maybe that should be the point of comparison.
Now if someone simply does not know how to cook, or has no interest in learning, then it would have been an issue, for a number of reasons.
(eois, kwhtbf, aicatt, dihtec)

Why does the girl even have to cook? The guy can too, or they can do it together and take turns. Why is that an option that makes desis wanna jump off a cliff?

as long as she can distinguish b/w salt and sugar and is willing to learn more, I am good.

No where is anyone saying that the girl is the only one have to cook.
but you are saying "why does the girl even have to cook...."
why does anyone?... the alternatives to not cooking are eating out, or someone else cooks

You are completely right in the second sentence, the guy can as well, they can do it together, or take turns... so now lets look at the acronyms I had posted because I had anticipated this question of why does one have to cook.

eois, - eating out is expensive- some people may be okay with it, but I would have not gone for someone knowing that we would be eating out as a need rather than as a want

kwhtbf- kids will have to be fed- and if the parents dont know how to make nutritious meals, there is a problem. could be ethiopian food for all I care, but healthy home cooked meals

aicatt, - am i cooking again this time- I know how to cook, and not just desi food. I fully expected the girls I was talking to would be able to cook as well, or were willing to learn and then cook and not make it some ego or gender issue. its food...make good for, for yourself, for those you love, spouse, children...family

dihtec - do i have to eat crap...i.e. if you can't cook well and serving me burnt/bland/blah/blegh food...thats not cool, especially if i have made the effort to learn to cook and make good meals when i am making food.

you are right. I think both husband and wife should know how to cook. I am not sure if guys would be interested in cooking everyday or on schedule but if wifey is unavailable, then guys should know what they are doing. When my mom went to pakistan for 3 months, my dad cooked us food everyday albeit it wasn't really good

LOL, that reminds me of a funny story. I was eating at a diner in NYC for the first time I was ever in a diner for breakfast since I was in travel mode. So I sprinkled sugar on my eggs, since I wasn't familiar with the sugar container in a diner. (I never really ate out growing up, only food at home).

So sugar on eggs instead of salt. Welp, failed that litmus test to be anyone's wife!

I know how to cook…a lot of desi dishes…

Qorma, Nihari, Bhagari daal, Sabzi dish, Sabzi Gosht, kata-kut etc. Sometimes biryani. Great desi style omelet (Khagina), too. Not to mention BBQ/steak/grille/burger.

But only when I feel like.

Would rather have someone make it and I just do something else. :snooty:

If I need non-desi dish, there are lots of Italian, Japanese, Chinese, Thai.. etc. places to go to for non-desi meal.

I cannot fill my house/kitchen with all the ingredients of these kind of foods require.

PCG, you may not agree, but most women like to cook majority of time and feel proud of feeding their husbands.

They look for the approval and husbands fulfill this need by saying:

Kia Baat Hai Begum. Ammie Jan Ke Baad, Hum To Aap Ka Pakaya Hua Hi Pasand Karte Hain Ab.

And wives say:

Aray Jaiye, Rehnay dijiye. Ziyada Baaten Na Banaiye. :blush:

And then the night gets colorful.:slight_smile:

Cooking can be learned. It's not rocket science...which can also be learned.

You just have to figure out what works for your family.

If only the so called.. liberated women against cooking desi meal knew,

..they look so attractive when cooking in the kitchen..

…the Roti. :wub:

If you can make a great salad can't you make a basic salan.
or just feed him oysters.

There is absolutely no harm in guys cooking and taking turns etc. I find it weird when i see women working, cooking ,cleaning ,taking care of kids all on their own. Nobody on earth loses respect by cooking food. Whether its a guy or a gal P cee ji

Cooking is one of those things Pakistani and/or Muslim guys just don't do.

If you want a guy that cooks, find a WHITE guy, make him fall in love with you enough to convert to Islam, then marry him and live happily ever after while he cooks up a storm in the kitchen wearing an apron that says "Kitchen King" and brings you breakfast in bed "just because."

pcg i am a WHITE guy. Will you marry me. You will just have to bear the smell of paint.

Cooking

^^ I dont think that's true for everyone. The men in my family do cook, so did my Dad. My hubby can cook apni pasand ki type things, like his own versions of keema and pastas that you wouldn't really serve to anyone lol. We usually eat American too but I don't think preparing a salad is considered "cooking." Some desi foods aren't that difficult, I didn't know anything before I got married but started after, their just annoyingly time consuming. Not easy like pasta recipes or other things like Mexican foods.