Lusi, I just talked to a friend and she said if you can calculate rice as : one cup per three people that should do you fine. No idea how many trays coz we have different tray sizes here . I reckon thought two is not enough since we are talking about 60 people here
90 leg pieces seems a lot, but I will keep mum on this coz I am not experienced. But just my calculation tells me it will be alot. Perhaps Bint naeem can help us.
As CB said,I wont have an idea on tray sizes and how many trays of rice would be enough.But I second that the 90 leg quarters seem a little too much.
90 x 3=270 pieces…if every person helped themselves to two pieces plus the potatoes,its still a lot.I have never cooked for this many people,but if I were to,I would probably get 50 leg quarters.I would also consider the number of kids amongst the 60 people as they most likely would prefer the pizza.
I have once cooked for around 40 plus people and my mother did cook lots of time for 60-70 people. I cant give you ideas as per trays as we always measure rice in cups. I once cooked biryani for 42 people and that i cooked in a daig and we cooked around 4- 4.5 kg of rice ( thats what i remember). It means around 16-18 cups but that was for 42 people and obviously it was biryani it had meat. But there were other things as well so biryani was not eaten fully but it was not even left too much. So I think if you cook around 22-25 cups of rice, it should be ok. As your menu is also simple and thats good in a way that u prepare large quantity of 2 dishes and thats it. For nan i think you can go with 40 nans as people who like rice more may only take one half of a naan.
In my opinion 90 leg quarters are too much just stick to 50-55 leg quarters and that should suffice as you are putting potatoes too.
Salad trays should be 2 as 1 will be less in 60 people also depends o which salad are you making?
Cut Naan in four pieces. You will have less wastage & people who want to eat more can easily take more servings.
What kind of salad were you thinking? I am assuming sliced vegetables set up in a tray?
Let me know how many grownups (that will include any child 12 & up since they will most likely eat regular Desi food over Pizza). Will get back to you about the “hisab” in the afternoon.
Honestly, I do not know the number of kids. I am guessing around maybe 10 under 12. We will be sponsoring for a small masjid that has around 60 people for iftar. That is what I was told by the organizers.
Since its a Masjid I would recommend playing safe & cooking for 60 adults & then getting 2,3 large cheese pizzas on the side for kids.
Great choice for salad. Its Ramadan. People are fasting. No one prefers heavy cream based salads after fasting all day. Do you guys know if the food will be served at two different places? Brothers & sisters side separate? If yes then do two small trays of salad otherwise 1 large pan should be enough.
One leg quarter sold at most Halal meat stores is roughly a little over half a pound. 90 leg quarters would mean almost 45 lbs meat after cleaning & cutting. That’s a lot of meat for 60 people. Since its outsiders & you are probably not sure about how “Meat inclined” the crowd is do 70 leg quarters. You might end up with some leftovers but 60 leg quarters might end up being a littles less. If I was a hosting an iftar at home I would do 60 leg quarters. 30 lbs meat. 1/2 lb for one person. If it was regular whole chicken cut into 14-60 pieces than one lb easily feeds 3 people for one meal provided there is not more than one meat item. Since leg quarters have more bone 1/2 lb per person including potatoes is reasonable amount of meat thinking some women might not eat that much but men might end up eating more than 1/2 lb.
One large aluminum tray/pan of rice holds 7 to 7 1/2 tea cups of rice. By tea cups I mean a standard 1 cup measure, not coffee mugs or “glasses”. That’s a little less than half a sack of the usual 10 lbs Basmati rice sack sold at most Desi grocery stores in US.
1 cup rice easily feeds two people if rice is the only main dish (keeping our Desi appetite in mind). Since you have 2 main dishes. 1 cup rice will be enough for 4 people. That being said, two large rice trays made with 7 1/2 cups rice will feed exactly 60 people. So your “hisab” there is perfect.
Don’t know how large the naans are but 50 naans are a lot. Get 35 Naans cut into 4 pieces. Depending on how much gravy you have in your curry you may or may not end up with some leftovers.
Not sure about the dessert quantity. I am assuming 1 large tray of cantaloupe should be good enough. Good luck & Jazak Allah Khair for feeding “Rozaydaars”
Since its a Masjid I would recommend playing safe & cooking for 60 adults & then getting 2,3 large cheese pizzas on the side for kids.
Absolutely. Some cruel version of Murphy’s law states that the day you sponsor an iftaar at your local mosque is the same day when 15 tablighi people from your neighboring city are gonna show up at your mosque for a three day jamaat.
Lol TLK Bhai. Bahaana to get some more sawaab. Although if a Jamaat is coming the Masjid administration would know in advance about the number of people coming. Then its their responsibility to let people sponsoring Iftar know the exact headcount. Jamaat schedules are made months in advance to accommodate everyone & not be a bother on Masajids or people who are hosting these Jamaats at the last moment.
During Ramadan days you can never be sure how many people might end coming at Maghrib. A lot of single guys, married men with no families around & elderly people go for Iftar not necessarily in their own local Masjid but any Masjid close to work or leisure activities. So depending on the size of Masjid better to have extra food for at least 5% more people.
Lol TLK.
Thanks Bint e Naeem. I don’t plan on putting any dressing on salads. I will just give them the bottles on side. The crowd is a mix of Desi’s, american Muslims, and Arab Muslims. So InshahAllah, I will keep the spices down.
I was also planning on getting 2-3 extra large pizzas for kids.
I frequently cook for 40 plus people at dawats. Is the tray the big Sam’s club tray? If so 2 shall be enough, otherwise if you are using the regular size tray sold at Walmart etc. you should get 2 big and one small trays. Plan on 3 pieces of chicken per person.
Jamats never show up in a manner you described. Masjid administration is ware of their arrival atleast a week before and mostly jamat brothers cook themselves but still if they coming on that day Masjid Admins know and its their duty to tell to the hosts. Jamats never made their plans on iftar parties and local events of masjids, its a proper system where mashwara is done prior to jamat formulation and the associated brothers in community very well know about whereabouts of brother and where they going. If it seemed to be occur in ur experience then i suggest to even check if they are using the name of jamat or they are really brothers of jamat.