i couldnt really cook before mrriage, i know how to make roti, just dont know how to make it well...recently learnt how to make chawal, the second time i made it was for my parents when they returned from hajj, so that was nice :). i think its not that hard, you can either be a really good cook, or just an average one, im average deffo lol, but nothing wrong with being average if the food is edible! :)
Re: married girls or to be married soon......
^aww crap. i need more practice of chawal too. sigh.
I see spoiled people
^that's very presumptuous. i didn't get this impression from any poster in this thread. a facetious remark no doubt.
as for myself. apart from cooking, my mother doesn't do a single bit of housework. it's done almost entirely by myself and a little delegated to my siblings. we don't have a cleaner or even a gardener. we are a family of 8 people and very often have people/families staying with us. i am also a counselor to my siblings, their tutor, the person my dad relies on to get things done in his stead. i won't go on to my education and work as that will be off topic. let's just say my husband is very thankful for what i can offer and that we don't have financial worries thanks to my savings, even if it's not perfectly cooked meals just yet.
i'm sure other posters are far from spoiled too.
^ i'm sorry if it offended you ... i meant it as a joke from that movie sixth sense where he says i see dead people ... i'm sure people here are not spoiled and every one has their own priorities and things that they excel it ...
personally i don't think cookin is hard ... i'm a guy and after living alone i can pretty much cook anything .. if given a half decent recipe ... or know how and where to find recipes if i don't have one ... all you gotta do is put some heart and effort into it and trust me you'll be good at it in no time ... just try to enjoy and have fun with your cooking :)
i got where it came from, i just didn't find it very funny. as i said, probably facetious but you're forgiven.
i don't rate cooking as particularly hard either, hence why it has been at the bottom of my priority list. i do find desi cooking the hardest though.
i'm more of a immediate person, i do the jobs on hand rather than worrying about the future too much.
i love eating but im not very good in cooking iam really worried about it because sometime i try to cook i can make some good things but some are not really tasty but my sisters always help me and guide me how to cook and all my sis are execellent in cooking
lol stoppit it was a joke...take a chill pill! And if anyone is spolied its me....
I refuse to touch the dead animal....and so my mom does it for me :P
And then they ask what are you gonna do when you get married...my answer is get a maid....and if worse comes to worse invest in a really good pair of rubbergloves!!!
Re: Cooking fear
Mizz Khan, hope you get more relevant replies here!
Cooking is not dangerous, so no need to be AFRAID. Whats all this hush hush abt it ? Secondly, Cooking is not hard, difficult, out of the way... Cooking is FUN!! So much FUN :D well IMO of course before u all throw tomatoes at me :p
I use cooking as a stress-off factor.. very helpful. If u are really that scared, follow a recipe? It aint that hard, most of us can read and understand, thankfully!.. Just grab some stuff (according to the recipe of course), twist it around and voila u have the most yummilicious chocolate cake coming out of the ovn, now tell me whats better than THAT? a chocolate cake .. Sweetmoi's medication for everything!
Re: Cooking fear
^ baking and cooking are two different disciplines. i can bake just about anything but cooking, more often than not, stumps me. i just cannot manage to get the hang of it and i think its because cooking requires a certain level of confidence that i just lack, and its probably because of lack of practice- its a vicious cycle, i tell you. you don't cook, no confidence/ no confidence, you don't cook. i've baked for so long, however, since i was 15 or so, that i know exactly what goes where and how to substitute what for what, and how to adjust recipes and i just know that whatever i'm making is going to taste awesome :D so i'd say i'm in the same boat as a few of the other girls here.
luckily, my husband isn't too fussed about desi food because i find it a lot harder to cook biryani's (chawal are always soft, argh! why? why??) over making burgers and throwing them on the grill. also, i don't have enough desi recipes on hand, funny as it sounds. i do the basic qeema, salan, and rice dishes, then i get bored and bake something instead. d'oh!!
another thing i always had one cookin rule, if u also adopt it u will b able to learn more dishes and will b satisfied : try not to ever use shan masalas. i know GS posters swear by them and i respect that completly but i m givin my POV. i m a bit egoist abt my cookin and i hate that the credit shud go to shan masala when i cook so i have NEVER in my life cooked with shaan (esp infront of guests).. i have only made pulao from shan thaz it!! i know ppl are gonna argue ke mein apne masalay bhi dalti ho but honey still dusnt make it ur own dish... u took help of shan so u like it or not, the credit goes to it also. anyway try cookin urself so that will keep u motivated and trust me the pleasure of hearin compliments for ur own recipe dishes is OUT OF THIS WORLD!! all my tikkas and other well known dishes are as a result of my own creativity. just try it once.. mujhe duahein de rahi hogi phir.. ;) hehehe
you sound like my mom!! she thinks shan masala's are the tool of the devil or something lol and no self-respecting housewife should be using them. then again, this is the woman who dries and grinds up her own spices, so her standards are quite high! bless her, if i could cook half as well as she does, i'd be a gourmet chef! her food always, always tastes amazing and she can whip up an elaborate meal for 20 in a few hours. always amazes me. i've never tried shan yet myself because i'm always hearing her voice in the back of my head going, "dude, what're you doing??" (except she doesn't call me dude in real life haha)
^ baking and cooking are two different disciplines. i can bake just about anything but cooking, more often than not, stumps me. i just cannot manage to get the hang of it and i think its because cooking requires a certain level of confidence that i just lack, and its probably because of lack of practice- its a vicious cycle, i tell you. you don't cook, no confidence/ no confidence, you don't cook. i've baked for so long, however, since i was 15 or so, that i know exactly what goes where and how to substitute what for what, and how to adjust recipes and i just know that whatever i'm making is going to taste awesome :D so i'd say i'm in the same boat as a few of the other girls here.
luckily, my husband isn't too fussed about desi food because i find it a lot harder to cook biryani's (chawal are always soft, argh! why? why??) over making burgers and throwing them on the grill. also, i don't have enough desi recipes on hand, funny as it sounds. i do the basic qeema, salan, and rice dishes, then i get bored and bake something instead. d'oh!!
Lolz, well I always felt it the other way around, like baking is more difficult than cooking. Cooking you can make anything as u wish, which is not the case while u bake .. But ok I am impulsive while cooking, so recipe's just dont work with me .. I like to add "my touch" :D
you sound like my mom!! she thinks shan masala's are the tool of the devil or something lol and no self-respecting housewife should be using them. then again, this is the woman who dries and grinds up her own spices, so her standards are quite high! bless her, if i could cook half as well as she does, i'd be a gourmet chef! her food always, always tastes amazing and she can whip up an elaborate meal for 20 in a few hours. always amazes me. i've never tried shan yet myself because i'm always hearing her voice in the back of my head going, "dude, what're you doing??" (except she doesn't call me dude in real life haha)
hahaha... loved ur post, made me feel gud but also a buddhi aatma at the same time hahaha considerin that i sound soooooo old and mature and motherly type na :D Lol!! am only 26 btw! :P no one in my family or mom is like me. i m like that but honestly readin ur post made me realise thaz EXACTLY how u made excellent chefs!! u make ur own masalas and all and then u cook.. only then can u excel or improve in ur cooking. i wish when i grow old i m also an expert like ur mom. AMEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEN :d