conservative hubby

Are there any of you out there who have a conservative hubby? How do you deal with it? Not only that but how do u deal with a semi religious/religious hubby when you are non practising? For example i dont eat halal, i dont care if i wear tank tops outside, i dont mind
Friends or hanging out with guys, i love tattoos, but my husband doesnt. I feel as if tht impacts me as an individual. Like why cant you accept me? So how do i work this out?

Honestly im not trolling and this one of the reasons why me and my husband always gets into fights.

Re: conservative hubby

Like it impacts me because he is always nagging me abt it and lecturing abt it.

Didn't you know he was conservative before marrying him ? Didn't he know you weren't conservative ?

same argument back at you...why can;'t you accept him the way he is...you want him to compromise with his religious beliefs and accept you while you don't wanna change your lifestyle to which you have no religious conviction.

i would say you guys aren't meant for each other. find someone else for your as well as his peace of mind.

Are tattoos, hanging out with guys, and wearing tank tops worth fighting with your husband? I didn't think so either. He isn't asking you to take on Hijab or stop hanging out with your family or friends. If you are spending more time hanging out with friends than him, it's an issue. Those things you mentioned aren't really worth the arguments you are having. Make those changes for him. These things don't define an individual anyway.

Well, if you're both Muslim then having a practising Muslim for a husband might be a blessing in disguise for you. You want him to accept things about you which are against Islam and obviously if he's practising then really he's just trying to follow Allah's commands and help you do the same. He obviously cares about you otherwise he wouldn't lecture you about these things. If you have a spouse who is trying to save your soul then that there is a sign of true love. It's not about you as an individual. He's not criticising you as a person. He is trying to help you better yourself in the eyes of Allah. Parents do it all the time. But we don't say that they can't accept us, we just know they want to make us better people that's all.

Was it a love marriage or arranged?

Did you know you were different in terms of religious commitment and lifestyle before you married?

Sammi,

I refrained from responding to your more recent posts/s in your last thread. But I won't refrain now. You need to do some research on what a nikkah is...you know those papers you signed...? You need to google the gravity of what a nikkah is. Cuz last time I heard that a nikkah is a vow you make to Allah. Does that have any significance to you at all?

I know that adolescents tend to be fickle and perhaps the feelings you are going through have much to do with your age. But despite your youth, I still cannot help but see you as self-centered.

There are so many holes in your story, so many contradictions....that it's a wonder you do not see them. You say that you were so mentally absorbed by your own issues that you didn't pay much attention to your husband and your conversations with him....during the time you both were getting to know each other prior to marriage. You call this stage your "infatuation" with him. I still wonder how you manager to develop an infatuation or a crush on him when by your own admission you weren't even paying much attention to him.

So, when you were going through your ED and phase of low self-esteem, did you think to yourself that marriage was just the thing you needed to feel loved and accepted and better about yourself. And then after you came out of your ED, you realized that now you don't want him cuz he's too different from you. To me that basically reads as "you want him when it's convenient for you, you don't want him when it's not convenient." Is that not self-centered? Then you genereously pepper your posts with comments that he is "such a good guy" and "so nice".....why? Why do you do this? Is it a way to alleviate guilt on your part or yo make you seem less...wrong...for lack of a better word? Then you say that a few years down the road, he might be the perfect guy for you. He is not some article of clothing that you take off and stash in your closet....and forget about for the next several years....until you're "ready" to try it on again to see if it "fits you better now." You can't toss aside a husband and "test him out" at a later point. Again such an attitude reads like you wanting him when it's convenient for you. Again, is that not self-centered?

I sympathize with you for the ED and other issues you went through, but did those issues really cloud your judgment to a point where you overlooked or ignored differences such as level of religiousness between you and him? Moreover, your parents should have considered these differences between you and him if they hadn't done so before.

You love tattoos, he doesn't. Aaaw, how cute. No seriously, who the hell cares. If you currently do not not have a tattoo on your body, who the hell cares if you both don't see eye to eye on this. And tattoos are forbidden in Islam. They were for forbidden by the Messenger SAWS....not your husband. So, now you decide....do you care enough about the Prophet's prohibitions or your own desires? Where do your priorities lie? Your life will jot be over if you don't get tatted. And if your parents are against tattoos, chances are you wouldn't get inked whilst living under their roof even if you weren't married. Seriously, this tattoo argument or preference is about as serious as whether or not he prefers vanilla. You will not shrivel up and die if you give more priority to your marriage than hanging out with a bunch of dudes. You also won't die if you opt to confine your tanks to the home and wear sleeves outside. Ab itni bhi garmi magi hai....you are not living in Pakistan where there is lack electricity for hours.

If this guy had absolutely no idea about your liberal lifestyle prior to marrying you, then I only fault him for not enquiring about these things. But if you and your parents knew fully well that he was more conservative.....then I think you guys are more at fault for making a joke out of marriage and for making a game out this guy's life and and that if his family's.

These things are NOT worth fighting with your husband over.

Childish.

I can’t believe that he nags you only because you don’t eat halal, don’t mind showing your skin, hang out with guys and have tattoos.

What an imbecile :mad:

I dont tell him to change his lifestyle. I have never asked him to change or do this and not that. And how does accepting me compromise his religious beliefs!?! Lmaooo didnt know accepting someone was that difficult.

Hold up. And what if my reasons were he wants me to take of my hijab and go out in tank tops. What if my reason was that he wanted me to eat haram and make some guy friends. I am sure that everyone here would totally be alright with this right? Cause its not worth fighting*about and you guys would totally advise me to make those changes for him right?

Looks like you are daddy's little princess and a wanting machine. Learn to live with realities of life.
You are a married woman not a teenager. If you are still behaving like a teenager then you are at the right spot with a level headed guy. You are lucky that he just nagging otherwise things could be worse and you would be facing bigger issues.

Exactly. Because there is nothing wrong with those things. :slight_smile: just like there is nothing wrong with women who work.

Ha. The only thing i wanted from him was for him to accept me the way that i am. I am not a bad person, and i dont do anything bad. So i hate it when people try to make me out to be the bad guy or try to change me. Like just why? I didnt ask you to change, i didnt ask you for anything besides doing what a husband should, and that is accepting your partner.

Andd out of curiosity, what issues?

And you didn't know all this before you married him?

Hmm before marriage he accepted everything i told him and didnt make a big deal out of it. After marriage he started acting like my parent more than partner. So i guess that would be a no?

I even told him i am hanging out with my guy friends and kid was chill. Then after marriage he was like "you are married now."

OP, most desi girls are expected to make compromises and those which are considered "serious" such as on living arrangements, studying and working so the dressing and so on seems trivial to them.. Most also come from backgrounds where their families aren't ok with the things you mentioned either so naturally there's going to be the reaction that you should go along with it.. If you've been used to wearing what you like, hanging out with guy friends etc of course that's going to be more of a shock to you and harder to give up.. I'm used to those freedoms and I personally wouldn't be ok with giving them up.. If I was told "it's not a big deal" I'd also be thinking if that's the case why is my husband making it one then?? I do think this stuff should have been ironed out before marriage tho.. If your husband knew you were more liberal and had a huge problem with it he shouldn't have married you or agreed to a compromise.. Likewise you should have seen it coming and thought what can be done about it..

He accepted you the way you are , he did not demand you to get tummy tuck , a nose job or some other cosmetic procedure after you two got married. Since from your own admission you have ED so I am sure you must have some appearance issues because of ED. Does he care what you look like because of ED? No! Then it is a screaming proof that he has accepted you for who you are.
What other acceptance you want. Tattoo, tank tops, eating jhatka are all very trivial thing to weight against love of a sincere person.

1) i didnt know he was this religious and would go control freaky on me
2) infaturation has to do with the chemicals in your brain. I was attracted to him and wanted tobe attractive to him and cause i thought i was soo gross i was way focused on my appearance.
3) i do have tattoos. And he knew abt them before we got married. Now he has a problem with me getting more done. But i will. Making eyebrows has the same ruling, doesnt stop the millions of pakistani females from making them. Plus im not attached with religion.
4) my mom wore sarees with short blouses, and this was back in the day in PK, and she wearsburqa's, my dad has never objected to either of those things because he respects that her choice of clothing is exactly that, her choice.
5) i dont have a strong relationship with islam. I wojld barely call myself a muslim... the only reason why i havent left yet is because i havent done a thorough inspection of it yet. My questions recieve lame responses or remain unanswered. The parts i have read up on it arent exactly convincing. Like the lot my parents raised me with is nice but the parts i have read is not entirely convincing. So y should i give up my desires in this life for something that might or might not be?