I have a question related to chiffon like fabrics.
there are so many fabrics and people sometimes call them by different names.
I want to get chiffon-georgettes that are ussually used to get the embroidured. But i am not sure of its name and whether its called like this.
Chiffon silk is very delicate and often used as dupatta i think , it also gets torn easily. but it really depends per quality i guess
1.you have chiffon crepe ,
2.chiffon crinkle
3. chiffon georgette
4. chiffon silk …but which one is the best to have machine embroidury or hand embroidury especially for casual kurtis and long kameez
basically the fabric should bee see through that needs lining
i use crinkle chiffon 2 get my embridery done..then i use a lining of pure crepe 60 grams...use chiffon bcs its v flowy gives a v nice fit along wit crepe lining n it doesnt make u sweat at all like with attal lining...:)
there are many qualities in it. i mean grams. people selling in local market or buyers dont know grams in it and know it by price difference only.
good quality i.e having more grams is used for embroidery mostly. because it didnt get torn easily and is comfortable as well as a little tough so u could use it for daily wear(informal dresses too)
there are prices too in my thread.
@glam doll , in 700 u could buy low quality like ones available in liberty plaza.
people buy those mostly for dupata with lawn/cotton dresses from there, but its of low quality as compared to the one used for embroidery.
chiiffon goegert kay sath mostly konsay stuff ka trouser acha lagta hai. jo aj kal bhu use ho sakay aur after this in spring. is anyone know the shop for good design of trouser? thanx
@ mehroo , respected madam the full name of the fabric is "PURE SILK CRINKLE CHIFFON GEORGETTE"
u could call it chiffon , crinkle , crinkle chiffon , chiffon georgette , silk chiffon etc. all mean same.
it is pure silk fabric and could be dyed to any color u could imagine.
@zaiena, respected madam we mostly sell raw silk fabric bottom with our dresses.
u could make shalwar , trouser , churidar etc.
u could stitch any design of trouser by telling taylor.
The best way to judge chiffon, is by its grammage. The lighter chiffons, say 40-60 gms are usually used for duppatas. 80 gms are used for kamiz's and give a nice fall especially if you're looking to get something long and flowy.
For trousers with chiffon or georgette i usually prefer pure silk or raw silk....a heavy grammage georgette can be used for trousers but the look isnt as good as with silk.
oh my sweet innocent friend where in the world did u heard of 60-80 gram chiffon?
and talking about georgette trousers !!!
u must be a very open minded person.
keep it up. i like it.
I will try to take some pictures of the different kinds when I have time.
I posted what gms means in some other thread a long time ago. I would not go below 60gsm personally.
Also for "Plain Chiffon" (without the crinkle) you can get a number of qualities. "Blue Card" Chiffon is mid range quality whilst "Yellow Card" Chiffon is the better quality.
Unfortunately, the chiffon available in Pakistan now days is nothing like the quality available 10-15 years ago.
ohh stoppit u know card....clever girl.... i am well fimiliar with these fabrics. let me clear it to u. crepe chiffon is not the name. the product u r talking about is "crepe silk" and not crepe chiffon.
but u r not familiar with grams. if u have seen the card please read it carefully. if u buy 60 grams chiffon it will be about 5000 rupees per meter. i dont think anywhere in the world it is used. maybe used in some big hotel to make curtains etc.
and talking about pakistan, madam pakistan is such a beautiful country that everything is available here. u dont have to go 10-15 years back. u get everything , just agree on spending some extra cash . people nowdays want good stuff but are not ready to spend more.
and mentioning again :
1. chiffon crepe ,
2.chiffon crinkle
3. chiffon georgette
4. chiffon silk
are all same product. if u dont agree then ok . i dont want to fight. i am friend . if u think u r right then u must be right.
ohh stoppit u know card....clever girl.... i am well fimiliar with these fabrics. let me clear it to u. crepe chiffon is not the name. the product u r talking about is "crepe silk" and not crepe chiffon.
but u r not familiar with grams. if u have seen the card please read it carefully. if u buy 60 grams chiffon it will be about 5000 rupees per meter. i dont think anywhere in the world it is used. maybe used in some big hotel to make curtains etc.
and talking about pakistan, madam pakistan is such a beautiful country that everything is available here. u dont have to go 10-15 years back. u get everything , just agree on spending some extra cash . people nowdays want good stuff but are not ready to spend more.
and mentioning again :
1. chiffon crepe ,
2.chiffon crinkle
3. chiffon georgette
4. chiffon silk
are all same product. if u dont agree then ok . i dont want to fight. i am friend . if u think u r right then u must be right.
be cool and be happy ;)
Just because you don't call them that it doesn't mean they exist.
You can go into any fabric shop in the UK and buy 'silk chiffon' or 'crepe chiffon' they all exist and are different.
The only one that has a 'wrinkle' is crinkle chiffon, the rest are completely flat.
You don't get everything in Pakistan any more. You don't get the same quality of chiffon and even things like the brocade's that were once available. Now people go around calling jamawar or banarsi 'brocade'. Most of the fabrics are imported as they always were but the quality of imports has decreased dramatically.
sweet friend stoppit let me explain in detail. in uk they might be calling these fabrics with twisted names. like in pakistan many shop keepers use twisted names of the products.
have u ever been to china , the main factory where all this is being made???
please dont mix it. as u already know different weaving patterns so
1.silk chiffon
2.crepe chiffon
let me explain in detail:-
1. silk chiffon
As by name "chiffon" is weaving pattern while silk explains the composition.
2.crepe chiffon
crepe itself is a pattern and chiffon is a pattern.so how could 2 patterns in one cloth. no machine is invented to this time in the world to sew 2 patterns on same cloth of same composition.
in most parts of the world chinese product is used for clothing. if u ever visit china do go there. they have a whole setup to teach people while showing them products being manufactured.
do include this tour if u ever visit that country.
thanks.
and if u ever feel to buy "pure silk crinkle chiffon fabric" do remember me.