Confession Time.

I had a 2.3 GPA in undergrad and a 1.9 major GPA. It’s been 3 years since I graduated and everyone keeps asking me “Kyon Miyan, kya Maasturs nahi karni hai kya?” And I just tell them "Oh yeah, 2 months from now I am going to take the GMAT and apply for admission for MBA or Accounting or something. Well I have taken the GMAT 3 times already and scored a 560 everytime.

So I have been lying for 3 years about how I am going to start my MBA next semester and that semester has never come. I did the same thing at 2 rishtas I had to go see, lied about future plans.

Sure, I would like to do an MBA or something, but with a 2.3 GPA only Tier III or IV universities will accept me, and there is no prestige in attending one of those. When peole think MBA, they think UT, Cornell, Wharton, Stanford, etc. So I think I am just about done with my schooling.

There’s my confession.

Re: Confession Time.

:yahoo: thanks for making me feel better about myself. i’ve been kinda scared to take the GMATs. i had a 3.7 in college :o

u r so screwed. :cb: aap masters bhool jayen aur teendabbay ka thaila lagga lain… jaaasssssssssss joking!

confession: i have an innate fear of intimacy and commitment. Probably why i think i have secret crushes on legallybrown and saimanyc, and think they are so pretty and smoking hot. Because they are unattainable and taken.

:yahoo: yesss…burden is off…

What are you nuts?

Here is a reality check. You should be slapped upside the head for worrying about "prestige" schools. In America, a "prestige" school might get you an additional interview or two, but one week into your employment no one will care where you went to school, they will be concerned about what you accomplish.

The addage 10% inspiration and 90% perspiration is still alive and well in American Business circles. Work harder than the next guy, and you can still have a brilliant career. You grades indicate that either you were struggling, or you were screwing off, make up you mind what you want to work towards, and go after it hard. Get off yer butt.

So make your decision, go to a lower tiered school and work your butt off, or go into the work world and make a name for yourself and parlay that into a good career. Michael Dell never completed his undergraduate degree, but he was driven by an idea. He has done well for himself eh?

My confession: I have an exam on friday that I will fail so abysbally. I need to get an A to get into the school of my choice, I havnt started revising. I will duely kill myself in May (when I get results) - consider this my suicide note. :crying:

Hii Allah… aap parhay likhay ho? Tau business idea kis nay diya tha? Im so impressed. We need more and more educated people into common businesses of Pakistan. I soon plan to open a halwayi shop in gawal mandi Lahore :phajja: baichun gi bhi khud. ooo I know I know, Im full of great business ideas.

OG's right.A bad GPA's not the end of the world. Education can only take you so far in life.

lol...thank god my parents aent on this site...here goes:

in my AS levels in june 2005, i got 2 As and 2 Bs, including a B in economics, i told my parents i got 3 As, and re-sat the Economics in November...LOL

o...n how do i tell them that i just got rejected by oxford university for my undergard programme?? i was tested, pooled, re-tested and then rejected like a dog :( ...o well...hopefull i'l come up with an excuse like Kings has better research professors, or manchester was rated the no.1 party uni in the uk?? (lol that won't go down to well with them!!)

o well...lets see what happens

I do have a business idea, but it would require millions of dollars and return would be very slow.

Isn’t going to Oxford like going to Harvard or Stanford?

You can make up for bad undergrad GPA by taking the classes you did bad in over again at an extension school or continuing education program.

most of us are silly in college, don’t realize the long term consequences of just ‘getting by’ at that point in life…but fortunately…as Aliyah once said..

“you can dust yourself off and try again” :chupki:

Confession: I only scored 340 in GRE verbal :D

I took money to sit in GREs and GMATs for others :(

confession - I haven't taken the GMAT or GRE yet. I keep on putting it off :-s

But like OG said, you can go to a college that doesn't require a high score on your GMAT.

Ahem.

Rates have gone up now

how much? maybe i can afford u?:(

SD he forgot to add that he pays back double after the results r announced.

I have been putting off my MBA for so many years that I have lost count.

JOb market will be much kinder to you if you get an MBA from a trier 3 university and get a decent GPA than with an undergrad with a 2.3 GPA. GPA is not the only issue here but the GMAT as well.

Here is what you do, get a job, work your butt off..get some promotions so its your work record that speaks for you and not your GPA, take a Kaplan GMAT prep course, do well on GMAT, apply to unis and focus on your achievements at work rather than GPA in your application. yeah you may not get into a Harvard, Kellogg or Stanford..and maybe not into a Rutgers or Syracuse, but some half decent university with a regional rep and then use that to build your career further.

Unless you go to a totally lame school, you will still be much better off with an MBA from there. If students going to other MBA programs were not getting decent jobs, no one would go there and the school would close its doors. look for AACSB acccredited programs and some uni that is well known, large and has strong alumni networks in your target region.

I give too much advise-- thats my confession

First off, I know this is not a priority in your mind, but I think the fact that you're going to different girls and their families and lying about your academic plans is more scary than any 1.9.

A 1.9 reflects one of two things. Either the subject matter is not your type, and you need to find something that is not business related to study. Or you're being lazy and studying less than you should. Only you can figure out which one it is.

Sit with an academic advisor at your previous undergrad college, and ask for advice. If the major didn't suit you, you should have switched it earlier. I think I am pretty smart to be quite honest, but there is no way on God's green earth that I could manage an econ major or anything else business-y. However, there are other subjects that I score much better in, and I have more fun learning about them. Just find the right field for yourself.

If its that you're not working hard enough, then you really need to work a bit harder before you go around fooling girls that you're planning on doing an MBA. Exactly how do you think you're going to help yourself if you fool some girl into marrying you, and then she's unhappy that the marriage started off with a lie? Man, if you end up with a real mean girl, she'll make you cry for the rest of your life for doing something like that to her.

are you nuts? where you go to school has a huge bearing on where you get in life. Probably if you're a history major it doesn't matter where you get it from but for MBA it makes a huge difference. All the top banks and consulting companies have a core set of schools where they recruit and if you don't go to those than you better know the MP or its very hard to move. Dell and Gates are more exception than norm. Let me put it this way, if you're a drop-out than you better be real smart to make it big. On the other hand if you're a MBA or JD from a top school you have to screw up pretty bad NOT to make it big. Without a doubt going to a top school will open up a lot of doors for you.

I agree with Ohioguy...what you know is more important than where you got it from. Credits and debits don't get reversed in better schools...assets are assets and liabilities are liabilites...don't fall for prestige trap.