Confession of a serial iOS’er.

So on Friday, I sold my Iphone 4S . Came home and gave that news to my wife. She got thrilled. The only other time I saw her more ecstatic was when I said ‘Qubool hai’ to her some 16 years ago. Very next day she became the proud owner of a husband who owns Samsung lll.

I am not regretting that I ditched my Iphone and moved to Samsung Galaxy S lll. I am excited, but before I give my take on Galaxy, let me admit to couple of things.

1.   Iphone design and iOS is pretty much the same from last 5 years. In last 5 years I used (and still use) some half a dozen iOS products (Iphone, Ipads, Ipod) and they operate the same. To some, it might be boring. To me it was predictability, and I love predictability. I am the kind of guy who would rather go to the same restaurant again and again just because I like the food there, than to try a new restaurant. I would rather watch Terminator 2, 13[SUP]th[/SUP] time than to watch a Jean Claude Van Dame’s new movie. ‘

If it was not for the fact that my Iphone’s data plan was running at EDGE speed because it was not compatible with Tmobile’s network, I might still be carrying my iphone.

I loved the touch, feel, size and weight of my Iphone. iOS is so dead simple that my friends 2 years old daughter uses her dad’s ipad without any guidance. Yes it may not have the fanciness and bling of S lll, but I think that iOS devices are real family friendly devices. No one can convince me on that when comparing iOS with android.

1.   I am somewhat of a loyalist. I had the similar guilt when I switched from blackberry to Iphone, some 4 years ago.

Anyway., let me talk about the S lll and start with the down side.

I do not like the email syncing. Its not as smooth as Iphone’s. First, if you don’t have a known email domain (like gmail or yahoo), then it could give you a heartburn. I still could not figure out how to sync one of my email that has a private domain. Second is the confusion between Regular, Exchange and backup email accounts. I am not sure why Galaxy has these accounts sitting in three different places. In fact I don’t even see the need of backup account and why cant exchange Account be used as backup too. Also, if you use the same account twice (once for exchange and then again for backup), S lll will stupidly sync your contacts and calendar twice and then you will have 2 Joe Johnsons in your contact list and your calendar is repeating every entry twice. If I am using the same email address, S lll should be smart enough to realize that it’s the same email ID so should use only one set of calendar and contacts to sync.

I am getting used to the text input but hate the smarty pants text predictive feature of S lll. I know what I want to write, you don’t have to complete the word for me right after first 2 alphabets. Just leave me alone you jerk and highlight my completed misspelled word at the end. That is all I need. Not someone breathing over my shoulder, passing suggestions as I type every character.

I have not played with the device much to discover other things that I used to do with my iphone. (Playing music, recording voice notes/lectures).

Having said that, S lll is a great phone. The screen is amazingly vibrant, camera results are gorgeous, it is very light compared to its size, GPS is great, speaker phone is very loud and clear, customized widget display is very helpful. All the mentioned features are better than Iphone in comparison.

Last thing that I want to talk about is the ability to play flash content. I must confess that I forced myself to believe that we all can live without flash, but that is not true. Its very refreshing for me to use the S lll and Nexus 7 to visit websites with flash content and not to get an error notice.

All and all, it’s a fun phone. If you are not an Apple loyalist (and have tried Iphone already, as I think that every Smartphone user should experience Iphone at least once to appreciate the master widgetry of Steve Jobs) , then you should buy S lll.

So what is the bottom line comparison?

You can own a BMW, where even for a simple oil change, you need to go to a dealer, but you are happy because its BMW. You don’t want to change it from its original shape and form. You know that pride of owning that car is to keep it as original as you can.

Or you can own a VW beetle and color it bright green to reflect your taste, and chop the roof off, and extend the wheel base to make it longer, or convert it into a beach buggy.

That is how I compare Iphone and S lll (or any other android). Its not about which is better and which is not. It’s which one makes you feel happy because it compliments your own style and personality.

Welcome....
Now wait till.you get addicted to flashing roms!

Re: Confession of a serial iOS’er.

I’m the one who said qubool, lemme make that clear to the public :barbie:.

How can you compare iPhone to BMW? I know you are going through separation anxiety still but BMW? I’d say it’s more like Toyota Camry…the predictable/reliable/high mileage/every desi must own a silver or gold one deal :smiley:

Having said that, welcome to the S3 club TLK. We’ll do S beam tonight :D!

You cant compare Iphone with Camry. Desi's with Camry start with store bought floor mats over original floor mats to preserve the latter (that is how stupid they are), but 4 years or 100K miles later, they are looking for the cheapest place in town to get the oil change (usually Walmart or Costco). You can never have a pride in the ownership of Camry.

Acha Acha, I'm just happy that you made the switch. I'm not going to argue with you. I be happy and all!

since you’re using car analogies… welcome aboard using what is being referred to as the Ferrari of the Android Circuit

Having owned multiple gens of the iPhone as as well as Android phones, I think Apple never really had an answer for android in terms of the functionality that was available through the operating system (e.g. true multi-tasking) or through the hundreds of apps that didn’t meet Apple’s strict criteria but were extremely functionally relevant for power-users. What Apple did have was a distinctive advantage primarily by virtue of the usability of its devices and software but that gap is fast closing.

Apple ki ghada gari se uther kai kaisa lag raha his?
See what I did there :-)

N: no salt in your daal until you cross over to the dark side. :snooty:

T: :bummer:

Sorry Q

:khumar:

Now, what is wrong with putting rubber heavy duty mats on your stock ones? :o

Apple main gadha, garee ke aage hota hai. Android main garee ke ooper.

see what I did there :-)

Apple main gadha, garee ke aage hota hai. Android main garee ke ooper.

see what I did there :slight_smile:

Nice lol

...magar woh gari totally modded hoti hai. With spinning rims, lowered shocks, boosted horse power and louder dug-dugi, backrest for the driver and more ways to entertain while the ride is going on etc etc. You get my drift? :D

accident hoghya hai! Driver ghari nikalo

SO you are saying that android users are attention seekers. They believe in form over function :hmmm:

Nope form and function!

Android users like hardcore function, and form.

Attention seekers? Lol. We’re too busy playing with our phones :snooty:!

I think iPhone users are like the older or really young generation that start doing cheen cheen peen peen if something is a little out of the box. Yes, I totally get the predictability part with iPhones… like for example, we go to Fresno, CA. We don’t know the place much. See a MacDonald’s and get our burger and fries although there may be an Aunty Amelia’s burger joint right next door that serves a juicier patty, fresher bun, custom toppings other than mustard and ketchup…you get carmelized onions and mushrooms, jalapenos, 3-4 types of cheeses, a hot sauce, etc. But we went for MacDonalds because of the predictability. But we all can agree that MacDonald’s burgers aren’t the best in town. When you’re starving you don’t want to take chances. And you’ll never know how good Aunty Amelia’s burgers are until you take a breath of fresh air, keep your options open and are willing to check out the endless possibilities.

You weren’t starving when you went in for your S3 but you were most definitely missing out on some sweet toppings :D!

For me, id get bored with the iphone after maybe 5 days. I really dont want to be side swiping for two years before I get my new phone. With Android, Im free to choose whatever I want to do.
Heck, I have my wallpaper set to change every two hours because it gets boring. And this is when I am at work...and not even using the phone constantly.!

Niksik, are you rooted?

Not yet Stonecold. Not yet!