Confession of a serial iOS’er.

Re: Confession of a serial iOS’er.

Yea, i agree with most of your points TLK, iOS is all about predictability and familiarity, even i will rate iOS UI design choices higher than most of the Android UI design choices, iOS is a well polished mobile OS, but there are limitation Apple created them self. Its good for a new smartphone owner, but for someone who is willing to experiment a bit, there starts the limitations.

The best thing like about Android is the use of something called Android Intents, that helps to share data between Apps, Users, Devices. Eg: you want to share pics with your buddies, click share then you have option for Bluetooth, Email, Gmail, DropBox, GDrive etc (all the apps registered for that particular Intent). And the the True multitasking, in android world the complete apps can be run in the background unlike iOS where some limited services only can be run in the background.

If iOS is BMW 330i then Android is BMW M3.

Oh comeon TLK VW beetle? I agree with Rayan’s car analogy better. :snooty:

after a week on android, i think the best thing about it are the google apps. but otherwise, it is the linux vs. mac philosophy. sure one can do a lot more internals on linux, but 99% of everyday desktop users don't need it and cant use it in a way to make things better. power users will love android. average users are clearly better off with ios, where they wont accidentally break stuff, drain their battery by accidentally running all kinds of apps in true multitasking etc.

My thing with android is that because its open source, there is no standard left. iOS is a better os than android.

Now when we compare hardware, I think Smasung is in par with Iphone 4S

TLK, why don’t you just admit you’re enjoying your S3 experience much more. It’s OK, no one will judge you. :mad:

I am enjoying, and admit that Samsung is a great phone. I am just comparing operating systems.

While some would cite lack of standardization as a deficiency of the Android, to me this is what makes it an enabler for a free market. The android OS was conceived to cater to multiple form factors, price points, resolutions and processors, and that’s why you have such a wider variety of products available that run on this platform, including what we may feel to be a substandard tablet or phone but works perfectly well to meet the needs of someone lacking financial resources to afford a Samsung S3.

Secondly, this is what has given HTC, Samsung and Sony Ericsson the ability to create their own user experience architectures. These firms spend considerable resources in enhancing UI design beyond the Android common core because they can afford to, and in addition to the quality of their hardware, the difference in the front-end UI is part of what differentiates their product from their competitors.
Afterall, why should the OS dictate all aspects of the end-user experience? a common pet peeve of power-users with the iPhone.

We can use the same argument for Linux, but look where linux is (in terms of market penetration) as compared to Windows. Just becasue something is free or open source does not make it more valuable.

linux’s penetration? linux is everywhere, from your car to your toilet. :snooty: windows is still stuck in desktops/laptops.

did you read the rest of my post where I highlight how this is valuable in the context of mobile? Linux is a whole different ballgame and not an apt comparison.
Also since we're talking "penetration"... android already has 65% of the mobile handset marketshare worldwide... again, not becuase it's better than the iOS... it just gives people more options... the option to buy a cheap phone that has a sub-par user interface but meets their basic requirements to an expensive phone where the manufacturer invested in providing an elegant UI. The key is "choice" which there isn't with the iOS.

I was strictly talking about the consumer electronics where the end user has a choice and his choice matters.

Its unfair to have a one sided comparison and only look at OS, when you are actually comparing a software/hardware combo. Android spread over so many phone manufacturers maybe 2/3[SUP]rd[/SUP] of market share, but Apple keeps the banner and standards high in the hardware/software combo and one cannot ignore the combo effect because that effect defines the user experience.
A regular end user does not care about the manufacture investment, he cares about the value he is getting out of it, and Apple provides that value in complete package.
Even after 2/3[SUP]rd[/SUP] market share of Adnroid, iOS devices still maintain a very high resale value. Check out your local craigslist if need more proof. They maintain the high resale value because they are in demand – and that is the bottom line in a consumer driven market.

^^ More people have Camrys than Benzs, doesn't make Camry a better car...:D

After using the iPhone for so many years, I think iPhones still have that resale value because of the bandwagon effect...and also because people are generally afraid to try out new stuff. I'm not saying iPhones are bad...no, not at all, but just sharing my personal philosophy for their success. Now if you wanna talk about the Macbook Air, then really, what a product!! I should start a separate thread on that though! :D

I can just imagine TLK bhai under a dupatta as the imam comes to him after Sister Niksik …

Imam: Niksik has asked for your hand in marriage with Samsung Galaxy S III as dowry … kya aap ko qabool hai?
TLK: Qabool hai, qabool hai, qabool hai !!!
Niksik: :e6::sadiyah:

Bhaijaan... please make up your mind on what you want to compare... in your earlier post since you said you wanted to compare OS, and that's why I wrote my post about how the android is perhaps not a better OS, but it gives more options to manufacturers and users alike. Manufacturers can produce a cheap product that caters to the needs of those who don't care about advanced UI features, or they can produce elegant expensive products that cater to power users who have deeper pockets and the will and ability to customize their end-user experience beyond the core product.

Also Re: resale value, it may be irrelevant to someone who wants a new phone every couple of years but doesn't want to spend an arm and leg on it.

I think in the end, what is clear is that the segment of users who are loyal to either iOS or the Android have vastly different needs, expectations and preferences and constitute specific niches - e.g. the former who like reliability and assurance from manufacturers versus the latter who crave customizability and flexibility to try things out their own way.
The two just cater to different niches.

:hehe: so true

In my first post that you quoted, I said that I was just comparing OS, otherwise Samsung is a great phone.

But when you compare the whole package, iOS + Iphone is a better combo.

Tariq, you lie you lie :mad:

Let the truth speak for itself. Go and check out prices of used Iphones vs used android phones on Craigslist, ebay and amazon

That never happened :rolleyes:

I didn’t get nuffin’ on my wedding… oh no, this thread is taking a Life1 shape.

Even in PIA planes…I was sitting in my seat when the penguin appeared my heart sank. Wasn’t quick enough to pull out my phone and take snap though…:slight_smile:

I’m not talking about the prices :smack:. I’m saying that you’re actually loving your S3, just not revealing your true feelings here :D!