Re: condition of having a degree to become MNA
okay, if we go by this i.e. not everyone has a right to represent people then we are okay.
I think most people here are confusing between the job of a bureaucrat and that of a politician. It is bureaucrat's job to "run the country". The politician's job is to ensure (in a democracy) that the country runs in accordance with the wishes of the populace.
The elitist bias of some posters on this site is sickening.
Yeah that is the average butcher and janitor runs for the elections in the US and Europe.
a former bus conductor did become the prime minister in UK.
Yeah that is the average butcher and janitor runs for the elections in the US and Europe.
They can and people decide whether to vote for a janitor or a JD. There is no restriction if a Janitor wants to represent people of Alaska.... why there should be? Might be better than a Palin with a degree in 'communication' :D
And two actors have won the elections in the US. Arny and Ronald Reagan. Difference is that they had an education. Our Jahils don't.
Not fair... not because it disqualifies 95% (i believe not everyone should have right to vote about who should sit in the govt) but because it may disqualify some of those who are really capable but they do not hold this worldly education as per standards...
if this "degree condition" or something similar is imposed, then those who are capable of leadership, who are honest, hardworking, learned, experienced in managing people, experienced in taking care of people, those who know "who best can do what", but they may not have so called degree (be it asli aur jali, as we all know karachi university and other universities in sindh are very good at asli looking jali degrees), they may be left out, and be disqualified...
education does not guarantee a leader, and a character, yes it does help, but does not guarantee... taleem aur tarbiyat do alag alag cheezain hain, we need good tarbiyat degree is an add-on. this is limited to becoming part of a govt., the authority who runs the country, they do not run everything alone themselves, they do it with the help of experts of every field under them, and those experts of course need to have a good professional education of their field
i'm not talking about this bunch of uncivilized humans/ burglars/ criminals who have none of these two...
as for democracy, as Allama Iqbal said
is raaz ko ik mard-e-farangi nay kiya faash
harchand ke daana issay kholaa nahi kartay
jamhooriyat ik tarz-e-hakoomat hay kay jis main
bandoon ko gina kartay hain, tolaa nahi kartay
i believe not everybody should be given right to vote directly about who should form a govt, rather a well known, acknowledge, respected, honest subset of public should do this. though public may vote for their local representatives, but those representatives by no means should be given power to steer the whole country to havoc and subsequent failure, rather they should be focal persons point of contact with higher authorities regarding regular repeated tasks/ duties/ matters etc.
yep, its a correct form of democracy.
jaisi awam waisi hakoomet.