Compulsive Buying

So how many pairs of shoes, or clothes you bought because you just felt like buying them?

I sometimes do that when I go to grocery shopping. I will buy things which I already have. And a week later, I will throw the old stuff in the bin.

How do you control this urge to spend, when out and about?

Re: Compulsive Buying

Fazool kharchi Nabi Kareen SAW se mana farmaaya hai .. << Just this thought ..

btw, forget excessive buying .. i know someone personally .. only a few streets away .. whose an excessive shoplifter haha .. she got caught on the 5th time ..and funny thing is she shoplifted .. all 5 times from the same superstore lol now that is excessive ..not just that she shoplifted small things .. but big things like haandiz and fruit n veg .. milk lol

^ Is she a compulsive shoplifter or it's driven by need? If she always shoplifts from the same store then may be there are other reasons.

PS: How she managed to shoplift a HAANDI! :-D

^^ she is apparently shoplifting without any need .. her husband pays her for things ... but she just walks out with all the goods in the trolly and load em in the car.

5 times from same store .. Verified lol other stores maybe on her hitlist

Haandi is what got her caught ..cos the store ppl end of the day did the maths and they were short on the haandi section so they checked the CCTV footage ...and saw that it was her .. that loaded the haandi in to the trolly, walked passed the counter ..and out the door without paying and out into the car then loaded it in.

Apparently, shes taking a break these days lol

I am when it comes to clothes! I will just buy whatever i like withuot realising i already have a wardrobe full of clothes some which i havent even worn once and some only 1-2 times.

clothes and watches are my guilty pleasure ... but i'm still not obsessive compulsive

Dude tell me about it.. Every time I go to mall, I return home with couple pair of jeans. I have more jeans than pair of socks.. so just recently I decided to change my habit of fazool karchi by buying something else, like something less expensive and guess what? I have countless amount of shoes now than ever before.. . For every shirt I got has its matching pair of shoes…so I have decided not to change me at all :aliyish:

PS: Yes i’m a male and straight!

I find myself picking up lots of things when I am out and about but often find myself putting them back where I got them from. I often find myself asking the questions 'Do I even really want this?' and 'Do I even need this?'. The answer most of the time is no.

Xeno there's no solution to this problem :(

A former shopaholic reporting, at one point realized that I had tons of crap I hardly wore or saw the light a few times each season. I wish I could say that came due to some altruistic reasons, but my closet was exploding with stuff and there was stuff in other closets too. I pared down significantly, clothes went for good causes, and now I only buy what I need, or in some cases really want and if there is something I really want, one item in means something has to go most of the times.

But one thing I can say for sure that all my money spent well, yes I have shoes and clothes but I use them every single day and get compliments from kids to an old aunty/uncle je - (ofcourse girls in between too) .. So I guess it's not that bad ey.. sigh (hopefully it'll make me feel liltta betta)

yup if things are being used then usually its okay
either extreme of just denying yourself things you need or could use is bad, just as buying stuff for no reason that just sits around, does not get used, or barely gets used.

Maybe its a guy thing, and its a whole diff topic, but that is why i could never relate to the desi chicas thing of how they cant wear desi outfits more than a few times because they have been seen in them already. or sandals or shoes.

I guess an argument can be made that it is the reality if the desi society, but one does not have to like it..and I dont :)

Spending money on clothes, shoes & fashion accessories is something i just can't control.

If i like something, i must have it regardless of how much it cost.