Compliments from strangers.

My sister and my mother went to a shop to buy few things. The shopkeeper asked my sister her relation with my mother. She said, “She is my mother”. Despite the fact that my mother had covered her head and face, he replied," She looks so young, and I thought she is your sister." Let us not discuss here my mother’s response, the shopkeeper sure won’t commit this mistake in future, inshaAllah.

And I do realize why he said it, because a lot of women do like to be called young when above 40, and such compliments do work for those shopkeepers in few cases to be able to make good customers.

In general, it is amazing that a Muslim woman at times don’t mind compliments of her beauty online or in practical life coming from a MALE STRANGER !? Isn’t she suppose to give this right to only her Husband ? Same goes for Muslim men. Compliments of their good looks coming from a na-mehram woman seems very odd.

Re: Compliments from strangers.

I disagree - you dont give RIGHT only to your husband to pay you compliments. You are going to get complimented even if you wear hijab or not - coming from a woman or a man.

Personally, i have noticed complimenting women who wear hijabs - mashallah it brings out noor. Its beautiful and i wouldnt hesitate to compliment.

I have been stopped on the street once or twice and being told how the freckles look so nice blah blah. You didnt get yourself into that kind of situation but if it happens you jst say thank you and cut the confrontation short!

Dude, your mother did the right thing Mashallah.

Your thoughts in the last paragraph are a bit too righteous (won't say self righteous) for my understanding. Different situations, different reactions.

I agree. Have had loads of compliments by randoms on the street (both sexes) but **never **one from a desi :( It's usually 'who does ur hair' or 'nice hair' or something along those lines. Have had 'will u marry me' a couple of times from random people in Oxford Street but never anything in a lewd way.

Hijabis do also get compliments, my Mum has had the 'oh, u look young to have kids that old' lol quite a few times. My Dad thinks it's funny..

:omg: Oh my sweet lord! random strangers proposing on the street? I feel so deprived to never have witnessed that. That makes flashers seem decent :smack:

Yeah, not Muslims tho (well, am assuming they weren't)...

are you having problems TAKING compliments?

sick and tired of this mehram and no-mehram thinggie.

If someone compliments - JUST SAY THANK YOU and move on.

THEY ARE NOT TRYING TO BED YOU. This is tooooooo much when simple things are made complicated in the name of religion.

Get a life.

ha ha. this reminds me....i was at this party once, and this little girl who was six or seven years old comes up to me and goes "you're so pretty." It made my day-- actually it made my whole year!! whenever i see that little girl now i make sure to give her a big HUG!! lol....obviously i'm flattered really easily!!

how did he compliment ure mom on being young when he couldnt see her face or hair? :confused:

my mom gets compliments left right and centre with ppl saying she looks young enuff to be our sister .. some ppl get shocked to find out she isnt and is indeed our mom… no need to get bent outta shape cuz someone noticed it and said it.. like someone said above, not all men are out there with nothing but naughty thoughts on their minds.

I hadn’t noticed he’d said that lol

Women.

the last person who complimented me on my phsyical beauty (of my feet) i married him.

^ Awww :)

anyways he was just trying to get her as a customer, thats it. and yes most women would feel flattered. no need to get all holier-than-thou.

^lol girl stop showing your feet, or you'll hafta marry 'em all

See....
now guy had respect for you, so even he wanted to praise he didn't go beyond.

You did the right thing!

I dont see the problem here. No one actually goes out there and gives someone the RIGHT to compliment them...thats putting a little too much blame on the women, dont you think?

How am I supposed to stop someone from saying something nice to me? How do I know what they're about to say before they open their mouth? Do you have any suggestions as to how Muslim women can take this RIGHT to compliment them back from strangers and give it only to their husbands?

Its not really an issue unless the shop keeper was going out of line and being disrespectful. There are men everywhere and short of staying home all the time, you cant do much to avoid encounters with them.

you are right, we should drop-kick any stranger with the audacity to speak unauthorised.

First thing we are not living in 14th century, secondly Muslim women don't mind compliments for her beauty online, coz they feel secure their. They love it offline too, if no body is around.

Secondly complimenting opposite sex is not wrong at all in any way, as a guy i can assure you we are not full with lust all the times !

People will have issues with everything and anything...you compliment, they have issues, you don't say anything to them your going to percieved as stuck up, you call them zit face they have issues , and on and on...I remember once reading an advise column where someone had an issue with the phrase "No problem" after they thanked them...

If you know someone is sensitive about something, then apologize and don't do it again...I've learned your never going to make everyone happy. Sometimes we'll say things that will hurt others, just don't do it again if they find it offensive...if you've apologized and they still have issues, it is THEIR issue, not yours....