complaining about food

Re: complaining about food

^ what a great idea!!!

I dont understand you. Its me cooking the food so why wouldnt I know how it taste?
I dont eat chili and he does so I cook one without chili and one with chili.

How long have you been married? It takes time for someone to get used to someone else's cooking. If he only had his mother's food in the past, that's the taste he is familiar with. Although he shouldn't criticize your cooking, you should continue to cook even if he doesn't like it. One day his tastes buds will forget mommy ji's cooking. Been there, done that.

Before we got married he lived alone for 6 years. His parents is in pakistan so his taste buds should have forgotten mommy ji!

I dont know I just think he takes me cooking for him for granted so I just think I will stop cooking for him its not like I telling him to eat it no matter what. He doesnt like my food he can cook his own. I am not going to cook for him anymore thats not my job

My advice would be next time invite him to cook with you, and ask him to give his suggestions so you guys are the same page. But it seems like you already came to your own conclusion. Hopefully things will change soon, good luck!

I thought that you were cooking two separate and unique dishes.......

lol no dont have that much free time. I make one dish take my portion out and cooks his more because he likes everything well done meat and overcooked veggies

How about you tell him that you followed the recipe exactly as his mom told you. And tell him that you will ask his mom what you could do different. Maybe that will shut him up? Or next time you both are skyping with his mom, tell her that you made the recipe just like she said but he doesn't like it. Let's see what his reaction is going to be like.

Does he only complain about the desi food you make? Or is that he just complains about anything you cook for him?

I think you're spoiling him...

Just tell him to cook. Seriously, you have a job just like he does. You are not sitting free at home all day and yet you take the time out to cook for him, and for him to not appreciate that is just awful. Even if you were feeding him burnt bread with sour milk every night, he should shut up and just eat it. Next time he complains, just take his plate and dump the food in the garbage, enjoy your dinner and tell him that since he's the one who has issues with the food you are cooking, he can cook for both of you. You wouldn't have any issues eating what he cooks.

I think he is being selfish/ungrateful. It is clear you're trying hard and to the extend asking his mum for tips etc. He should appreciate what he has because I know many guys who have to cook themselves because their wives outright don't cook/

Rather then bash you he should encourage you to improve if you're cooking is not up to scratch... Cooking is like art. No one piece is ever the same.

Hopefully, you can sort it out with him. It will lead to other problems if you don't sort it out ASAP.

Tell him you're not his mom therefore your food cannot taste like hers.
Where was his mommy food when he was living on his own?

Tell him its gunnah to unnecessarily complain about food. He is lucky to have a hot meal put in front of him every time. So your complaining is nothing but simply ungratefulness. So stop doing nashukri *of *rizq and start eating with saying bismillah.

No but still...this marriage is a partnership, not a maid/boss relationship! He has no reason to make her feel like that- if anything, he should be joining her in the kitchen and helping her out.

exactly- a small issue handled wrongly (mostly by him) will lead to bigger problems

What I would do is next time you cook just quadruple (at the very least) the number of chillies you put in, throw in a couple of scotch bonnets for good measure and let him eat. At least the fire in his mouth will make it difficult for the complaints to roll. Be kind to him by doing it on an evening where he's off the next day. Or just tell him to cook if your food is that bad.

…and then she gets a beating. Good going Fatima. :smack:

Why would you even say that? Maybe he needs to be thankful that he has such a sweet, thoughtful wife who not only cooks for him but learned to cook the cuisine of his choice from the chef of his liking. Even our religion says that a woman is not compelled to cook for her husband. And no one should give names to food. He is lucky to have food on his table and a woman who cares to do that for him.

But don't you think that saying that a,b,c things need to be improved is being picky and giving names to the food. My parents have taught us to never say "this is salty or bland or something", just say "I would like more salt or pepper" because giving names to food comes back to you.

lol if he ever beats me I will make sure he will be beaten by a force of my private army

complaining about food

Ufff story of my life. First year of our marriage my husband hated anything I made. Second year it was okay. Mashallah it's our third year now, he is willing to fight over my kheer. He loves a lot of different things I make now. Those days when he tells me , my cooking is terrible. I point him towards bread and butter or cereal, your pick and enjoy.

Above all he is a Lahori punjabi Munda lol and I don't know if you know this punjabis live to eat.

Next time your husband tells you, You are a terrible cook.
1- Ask him to call his dad and find out the first thing his mom made for him and how was the taste.

2-let ur husband know after 30 plus years of cooking your food will be perfect ad well

3- (If it cont -the complaining) ask him to get desi murgi :d. So food can taste the same.

4- get him a ticket to Pakistan :d