Competition of the Month - Biryani

Mashallah! It looks delicious! Is this Sindhi biryani? Would mind sharing recipe? Thanks

Re: Competition of the Month - Biryani

shaboooo.. I cant believe I missed the opportunity to eat your food!!! I will have to plan a visit just to eat your food now!!!

I am trying your biryani this weekend but I need to know what is that round thing in your spices plate? and do you fully boil your rice?

choori i don’t like you for not visiting me :snooty:
khair next time inshallah.. the round thing is nutmeg and boil rice 3/4.
squeeze half lemon in your boiling rice..it helps keep the grains from sticking together.

i just called husband and asked him to get nutmeg, tomatoes, ginger and garlic.. I am making it tonite!!!!

ps: last time, I got shy because of so many changes last minute in schedule so didnt feel good bothering you.. but next time even if it means getting to your place midnite.. I will be there :D

ok so as CB said too.. and now you, here goes my recipe and yes, you can say its sindhi biryani!

ingredients:

1-1/2 chicken
yogurt- 1/2kg
Rice- i always measure with cups so, 7 standard sized cup
tomatoes 7 medium sized finally chopped
green chillies almost 20 small in size
podina 1 ghatti

potatoes as per your choice, but each potato should be cut in 2 pieces (peel potatoes, cut them and now boil it in a bowl, also add orange food color in it, when boiled, drain it and keep it at a side, in my recipe, you may not see them orange because I was in hurry and I cooked them along with the chicken, but I always follow the above mentioned steps when preparing for guests, it gives great look)

ginger garlic paste 3tablespoon
aalu bukharay 8 to 10
bari ilaichi 3 vertically cut
long, kaali mirch 5 and 10 respectively
tez patta 2
pisi laal mirch 1-1/2tbspoon
haldi powder 1 light teaspoon
salt, 1-1/2 teaspoon (you can add later when the curry is ready, to adjust)
chaat masala 1 teaspoon, heaped
pisa dhanya powder 1 teaspoon heaped
plain biryani masala (can find from any shop) 1 tablespoon heaped
lemons 2 big, sliced
fried onion 1-1/2 cup, crushed
oil, 1cup

Method:

Soak rice for approximately 15 to 20 minutes. For boiling, in a degchi, add water, 1 tablespoon salt, a slice of lemon, 1 green chilli, 2 to 3 mint leaves, 2 cloves, 3 black pepper, 1 tez patta... pani ublnay per, add rice, and when done 2/3, turn off the stove and drain the rice. (this can be done either in beginning or during your curry gets prepared, its your choice).

Heat oil in degchi on low flame, now take a bowl, add yogurt, ginger garlic paste, pisi laal mirch, pisa dhanya, haldi, salt, chaat masala, biryani masala, all garam masala mentioned above, tez patta and aalu bukharay, insab ko achhi tarha phaint len and now pour it in the degchi, is masalay ko achhi tarhan bhoonain aur jab oil ooper aajaye to chicken add karain, now chicken ko bhi achhi tarha bhoonain ke wo apna color turn kerle, now cover it and check after 5 minutes if chicken leaves its own water, if yes, isay galnay den, if no, you can add a little amount of water and check when needed. when you notice, ke ab chicken ko agar 5 minutes aur rakhha to sahi gal jayegi waheen p add tomatoes, (but agar pani zada hoto tez anch pe khushk kerlen) now cover it for 2 minutes, uncover and tomatoes are tender now, ab you can add all green chillies and fried onion and masala ki thickness fried onion se adjust karain, now, taste it and see if you need to add some salt or red pepper. add accordingly. leave it for 2 more minutes covered at low flame and now turn off the stove.

Ab jis deghchi main biryani charhani hay, usko apnay hand se halka sa oil laga len, now pour half amount of rice in it, then pour all masala in it, its times for garnishing, so pour sliced lemons, boiled potatoes and mint leaves now sprinkle a pinch of salt and almost two pinches of red pepper, and now pour rest of the rice in it.. now pour 1 serving spoon oil, food color, mint leaves, sprinkle 2 tablespoon kewra and now cover it on high flame for 1 minute and then low medium flame for 5 to 7 minutes.. uncover, halkay hath se mix karen and serve!! delicious biryani is there you have :D

P.S. agar zada rice ki biryani bana rahay hon to tahain zada lagayen, main nain 3 tahain lagayi hain.

i lyk hw it is captured step by step. queen birayni is yum yum

Queenie, thanks so much for sharing the recipe :hugz:

GTG, you better take a pic of the biryani and post it here :sahar02:

I will if you promise to announce me the winner even if turns out Koji :D ( you know hosla afzai prize)

GTG , you are such a siasatdaan kasmay :omg:

Fine, i will think up an announcement for your biryani :fatee:

I think, trying it will help you announce me as a winner :cb:

and here is my contribution… I followed Shab-e Hijr’s recipe!!!

BUT I overboiled the rice because I was feeding the baby and couldnt turn off the stove hence the mushy result :frowning:

gtg...It does not look mushy.How did it taste because it sure does look good.And here I was thinking you were busy with avocados...!!

gtg - that looks yummy, lots of masala. How was the taste?

Competition of the Month - Biryani

Seriously aaj mera biriyani banane ka koi mood nahi tha per yeh thread and pics dekh ke raha nahi Gaya :frowning: :smiley:

I wanted to post step by step pics but my phone is taking too long to upload :smack:

kinzzz n gtg :biggthumb:

rice doesn't look over-boiled in the pic.. and yes biryani does look lil mushy cuz rice doesn't look enough for the gravy. :)

Ahaaaa. I never know about the amount if gravy so I actually leave just a lil bit..next ti w I will leave more. Thanks for letting me know.

Sehar,..it tasted great..but husband thinks I should add more while gar am masala next time to make it masala spicy :D

Chipsy.. He is 5 months so I m doing my homework..I probably will not be starting solid a until for another 2-3 weeks. :D

All of you be my host plz :D

i tried queen-24 biryani, and it was delicious. thanks for the recipe :)

p.s will make again for dawat in 2 weeks and berries trifle by Khatti, InshAllah.

Awesome, ladies!

I can’t cook…can I post my mum’s instead? :halo:

CB, I love the potato cutlet; very appetising.