Do you find that there are more comparisons made between girls of the same age in a particular family?
I.e., two cousins the same age, one is prettier, or the other is smarter, etc?
I’ve heard of pretty strange cases…
Two bhabhis under the same roof, have kids at the same time and actually compete to see who can lose weight the fastest..b/c they say ppl will compare them, that she lost it faster etc.
Or that a girl gets marries, and her oldr cousin/sister is still single and t’s a source of shame.
And then the sadly typical story, not so good looking older sister, and prettier younger sister that everyone wants (rishta wise)
I’m hoping that i’ve just heard the exceptions and it isn’t the norm (it happened in my family as well with me)
do males go through this as well? being compared to their cousins/brothers/peers?
among guys, the race will be about who is getting better grade? then a better job? and the who makes a good fortune?
and later on who has a better wife.
so competition is everywhere...and it is what makes you MOVE!
**"falan ka bachcha govt officer lag gaya apnay nalaik betay ko diaikho sara din gher baitha rotiyaan torta hai"
"tumhari umer k saray larkay dada bun gaaiy tum umer bher kunwaray he rehna"**
Pendu, I think what Mabs is saying is that guys will get comments along the lines of...."So and so's son has a job/post in the government and look at your incapable son who just sits at home doing nothing but stuffing his face with rotis." *OR *"Look at the guys of your age who have become grandparents (they've already had families) and you're going to stay single your whole life."
Me and my sister have an 8 year gap but I hate the way we are compared. She is the prettier one (mashallah) and I have no qualms with that and love my sister to bits but I hate the ways people will use the little comparison to rub in you face.
Academic scores/personality/weight/looks/family/career/who dresses better/who looks after her parents etc etc, right down to who can cook better becomes a point of comparison.
It is downright rude. There is no sense of live and let live. If people think that comparing and competition is a healthy thing, it can also work the other way.
^ IMO, that is one of the reasons of large scale corruption in Pakistan.
Wives comparing neighbor's/relative's house, car, tv, school their children go to, etc. with their own and urging their spouses to 'earn more'. The guys living in Pakistan and in government service have no option but to try for 'ooper ki kamai'.
i think a lot desi parents do it to their kids, you know "so and so's daughter got an A" "so and so's daughter started cooking at 12" and so on lol.but it seems to be the ladies that do it more. have never come across guys doing it.
am sure non desi parents do it too though.
yeah everyone compares me with my cousin who is two months younger than me and has two kids.. I have none.. so everyone tells me, "look at her, she is TWO MONTHS younger than you has two and you are not EVEN ready yet"
I just ignore and move on with my life.. doesn't make any difference to me!