Communication issues in marriage

I feel that we are having a communication crisis these days. It has been like this for a few months now and I just cant take it anymore.

My husband discusses like everything I say or do. He is a picky person and I get annoyed quickly so whenever he points out something I just get annoyed that why cant he just let go.

I don’t know how to deal with this otherwise…redvelvet and others.please advice me what to do.

I get annoyed especially when he discusses things that are very important to me. I feel that all the joy in a given situation just disappears when he does that. i.e when my family was coming to visit us (after very long time) he kept focusing on the noise (cuz of the kids coming along) and the fact that they were too many people coming over at the same time creating a huge workload for me. I was so exited when I heard family was coming but my husband reaction just killed all the joy and I didn’t feel exited or happy anymore.

The same happened when I told him other good news from the docter. He just said that we should double check with other docters etc instead of sharing my joy at that given moment!

The thing is that I do understand WHY he says all that stuff. But it is just the way he does it that is pissing me off these days. He could say that he is happy for things to happen but perhaps it would be better to do it in such and such way…..
But he doesn’t and then I get annoyed and pissed off and don’t feel like talking to him and I don’t feel that this is a positive development in our marriage.

I know for sure that I should also approach him differently….but how???

didn't you already post this earlier..........no resolution as yet?

just do not discuss those things with him that you want to keep secret!

we Men are kinda insensitive about secrets!

HOw long have you been married for Chameli420? it almost sounds like you are going through the dull stage of married couple's life.

Re: Communication issues in marriage

Chameli, the heightened feelings of annoyance at this time may be due to your hormones, if I have read between the lines correctly about the good news from your Dr?

Aside from that, have you told your husband that he is a killjoy? Yes, bcos that is what he is Mr Kill Joy. It seems that he fusses too much, you should tell him WHEN YOU ARE IN A CALM FRAME OF MIND, never when you are wound up.

Ask him to explain why he says those things, and tell him how it affects you. He may not realise the effect its having on you. Men can be misunderstood by women and vice versa. Perhaps this is his way of looking out for you in his own weird way.

I agree, it must be the hormones, but anyway I would listen to HIM but TRY to ignore his comments as best as I could, and still enjoy the moment or event, would TRY not to let his mood effect mines, this way, if he sees that you are happy and excited, it can be addictive, you know, with your postive mood attire, you can actually change ur husbands ways instead of adopting his grumpy mood, this way you should influence him with your excitment and joy, do not let him get you down if he is down and u are excited, even if he does, tell yourself, u are not becoming like him and will not let him kill your excitement with his mood. Stay positive.

Try it and you will insahallah see a difference!

A man being the 'guardian' of the whole family tend to critically analyze the whole situation before getting all excited and start feeling happy about it. We value satisfaction more than the 'job of the moment'.

My prediction -- He is a mature guy and won't let u down with any sudden reactive action with a spur of excitement.

^ Men are from Mars...

^ Women are from Venus ...

Hence don't use same standard to weigh both.

We have been married almost 3 years. And he has been an amazing husband all the way. I am not criticizing him, just letting out my frustration on the communication issues we are having these days. I know that I play a part in that as well. These days I just don’t know how to cope with the situation.

The thing is that he really dislikes strong reactions as he associate them with his bad childhood memories when his parents were going through a hard time. So he doesn’t like it when I get ‘aggressive’ or tell him off in a way that reminds him of his mother. And I come from a family where it was very normal to speak loud when you are angry so I tend to speak in a loud tone when I get annoyed or angry at him. This makes him go totally introvert and he doesn’t want to speak with me but still he does. It is me who would get so naraz that I don’t wanna speak to him and expect him to come after me and make me feel good.

Totally childish I know!!

Just for the record. I am not pregnant. I wish I was!! The news the doctor gave was however related to my health which has been a reason for us not having kids yet. So he knows that it really meant a lot to me. But the just went on with his critical opinion that we should also wait for the second opinion. And that is already planned. In fact I have scheduled appointments at the 2 best docters here. So why does he start speaking on that when he already knows that I will be going there to double check!!! And he knows that I want kids badly so getting the GO from at least 1 docter was a HUGE thing for me. And I was so happy when I came out of the clinic. But he just ruined my mood by that statement. At least he could have smiled, or say that it was a nice news and lets wait for the next appointment.

Ever since I have been wanting to have kids there has been so many obstacles. So many people have told me to wait (eventhough I have waited for so long) that I have started to feel that maybe it is a sign and maybe I should not go for it. It has been a very frustrating time for me when going through bad health, almost no social life, stress at work, depression and feeling of loneliness. Having a child seemed like a light at the end of the lonely tunnel and I felt that maybe that would bring me some joy.
My husband has been busy with his job and other activities so even though he stays home cuz of me and have literally no social life cuz of my, he still spends time with his laptop more than me. When I complained on that he started to decrease his time with the projects online but still spends time on the computer telling me that I have killed his motivation for those interesting projects so now he is only spending time on online games which he can end easily when I am around rather than finding it difficult to stop the project activities when I would be around…

I don’t see any logic in that. I asked him to decrease time with the computer not with the projects. Instead he is still a lot online playing brain-dead games while he could have done the projects.

At the same time he has been taking very much care of me and made me feel much stronger than I have ever been. He has been like a rock for me. But now I feel as if he is feeling that I am not grateful to him or show interest in him.

I don’t know what to do……

I have been married for almost 6 years and my husband had recently started to develop this kind of behavior I call it 'party pooping' maybe men become like this as they get older. We used to always stay up late on Saturday nights and watch DVDs play computer games etc then suddenly he was like 'oh lets just go to sleep' at like 10pm!! Also when good things were happening he would try to 'micro-manage' my happiness, his reasoning is that he does not want me to become upset and disappointed if things don't work out. In a way it's kinda sweet because he is only trying to protect me but sometimes it can be very draining and de-moralising. I explained this to him and he does try, whenever he starts now I just say 'babe your party-pooping' we laugh about it and he tries a different approach.

^ OMG, I am the party pooper in this marriage, and I micro-manage my husbands happiness bcos I don't want him to get disappointed bcos his optimism level goes right off the page and cannot foresee negative circumstances that may cause him to come crashing down.

Now I sound like both yours and Chameli's husband!

HAYYYYULPPPP!!!!

What a lot of things, he does seem to listen to you and try to change himself for you in some ways. Chameli, have you tried to change the way you speak to him too?

I do pray for you that things improve for you both, IA.

Chameli if u think u r a part of problem too then think of ways u can make urself and ur situation better.
make a resolution everynight that u won't get hyper at any cost.u won't speak loud.u won't get annoyed at every lil or big thing he says.also assessing ur mistakes at bedtime on a daily basis makes u realise ur mistakes too.
do regular excercise to release tension.
do yoga or relaxation breathing practices.
as soon as u get pissed off leave him without saying a single word.then relax urself first b4 u discuss anything with him.(a bath,music,a drive to a nearby park etc watever makes u relax)
u both hav no social life.now this is a big factor.develop new friendships.invite ppl over or drop by their house.

i think ur frustration to becoming a parent soon might be playing a part in affecting ur moods.

Hi Chameli,

I've heard that trying to have children....especially if there are some difficulties such as health problems that are affecting the ability to have kids...........becomes stressful for the couple. Because so much concentration is placed on "having a baby"......that the couple can lose sight of other activities that help bond them together.

You have mentioned you are aware of your loud behavior when you become angry. And I understand that it's hard to control habits that we have grown up with. And while I acknowledge that people express their anger in different ways, frankly speaking.........very few people (extroverted or introverted) like to be yelled at. We don't realize it, but speaking from experience, our tone of voice can hurt the other person. I'm generally an introvert and not a loud person by nature. But sometimes when I have become REALLY angry, I have yelled at others. And i've really hurt the other person. Similarly, I have decided to either completely ditch or maintain a distance from friends and relatives who have frequent issues with managing anger.

Your husband has had negative childhood experiences with aggression. And you don't want him to associate you with those experiences every time you both have a conflict. Nor do you want him to develop a grudge toward you. Our past history can have a very powerful and emotional impact on us. And even from the Islamic perspective, we are encouraged to avoid anger because it is like fire and can be destructive not only to us but our relationships. So, when you feel angry, remove yourself from the situation. Take a break. Because there is no written rule that you MUST have the discussion right then and there when you're all fired up. So, take a break when you're angry. Drink a glass of water. And resume discussion when you and your hubby are both calm and seated. He will appreciate this effort since he's very sensitive to loud voices. PLUS try working on controlling loud angry outbursts.......as a way to prepare for having children in the future. Because, children need to be taught healthy forms of anger management ;)

Your husband was being practical when suggesting you get a second opinion. It can be painful to get our expectations high only to find that we're wrong. Perhaps he just wants to be fully sure about things before celebrating. At the same time, I ALSO see your point of view. It can be very disheartening when the other person is glum while we're excited. It can take the joy out of things. When discussing issues with your husband, try to stay calm. And start the discussion with POSITIVE POINTS first and **then **progress toward areas of concern. For example, you can tell your husband:

"I really appreciate all the support you have given me. And your patience in taking care of me during my health problems has been phenomenal. And I know you're a very practical person who wants to confirm things. I appreciate this quality of yours. But I feel that as a couple, since we've been through so much, we also need moments where we can relax and be positive and happy. I will get the second opinion, but it would mean soooo much to me if you can show some happiness for the good news that I've received right now. I value your happiness because it is important to me and I find it encouraging. Similarly, I know that when family comes to visit, it can be a bit messy and loud and hectic. But let's try to make the best of it and focus on the positive. They are our family, it's not everyday we see them. Plus, life is unpredictable, so let's show them we care and concentrate on the joy of having their brief company."

Now, you say that the stress from your health problems has prevented you from having a social life. And also, that you've told your husband not **to spend too much time on the computer. **BUT.........what activities have YOU planned for when he's off the computer? Why don't you try initiating some activities.....and maybe he'll spend less time on the computer and more time with you. For example, rent a movie that you both would enjoy watching together. Or make reservations at a nice restaurant for the two of you. Or plan to take a brief vacation out somewhere. Or when he comes come, surprise him with all his favorite dishes. Buy him a present. Surprise him with romantic/sweet gestures. And maybe that will motivate him to spend more time with you.

I know it's hard to do, but sometimes you have to put your pride/ego to the side and not have that "I want him to make the first move" attitude. During these moments, try to overlook his flaws and remember ALL the good things he has done. And use that as motivation for yourself to make the first move and reach out to him.

USE HUMOR as a way to diffuse tense situations and complaints. The next time that your husband complains about something you're doing or saying......acknowledge his feelings.....but also make a funny joke. That can lighten up the mood. For example when he complains that the guest's kids are running around the house and making noise. Tell him,** "Yeah, that's true. But you look so cute when you spend time with those same little monsters." **Sometimes when you make a light-hearted comment.........it calms the tension. And it can help your husband reflect over your point-of-view.

So, try these strategies out. My apologies for the lengthy post but I felt there were several issues to cover. I wish you all the best. :)

^ :hayaa:

firenze :emmy:

hello.. kinzzz.. howz your five kids? .. soo gey? … :@:

han sou gaye :sleep2:.

aur ab lagta hai ke tumhe bhi sou jana chahiye isliye bagho yahan se :emmy:

You’re immature firenze. You can only see the length of people’s posts. But you can’t see that people have taken the time out to analyze a problem and help someone out. There’s a limit to immature thinking. Grow up.