Common diseases in desis

I know that heart disease is one of our number one health issues.

Please list others and some possible causes.

Re: Common diseases in desis

Heart Disease--bad diet, lack of exercise,smoking, generally...bad lifestyle (work all day,late night

meals and going to bed late)

Obesity--high calorie foods, no exercise

Diabetes--unhealthy diet,obesity

Depression--unhealthy lifestyle,over-time working hours,materialism,zindagi ke matlab se mehroom..lol.....no seriously..

from my mother's side its the heart disease..so severe that out of 6 uncles.. 5 of them had open heart surgery , and my mom had heart transplant..

From my dad side.. alhamdolillah no disease at all.

Diabetes , heart disease, obesity (though not very common) are some of the diseases found in desis.. one cant do much about it if its inherited from the family.. some of the precautions are to keep your diet as clean as possible and engage in some sort of physical activity..

ulcer
kidney stone

sugarr

yes "sugar" is pretty common from what ive seen

Showing off yes i know it is not called a disease but if it ruins the whole society than it is a disease if you are desi you know what i am talking about unless you are in deniel..

diabetes and high blood pressure, arthritis

Yes Ihave heard of much diabetes in Desi families. Also something I've read is a high rate in Desis of thalessemia, a disease of the blood that is more rare in other places.

^thatalseemia.. well thats becasu eof high cousin marriage rate right?...

as for disease well i think hypothyroidism

heart disease
Depression
Diabetes
Hypertension
Obesity
terrible hair styles(well, its not that common, but its xtremely deadly if they havw it ) :vivo:

Hmmm. So you you think things have become better in terms of awareness or are we still in the "kuch nahi hota sab Allah key haath me hai" zone?

niksik..i think we r muchbetter now in terms of awareness of western medical science cures..

This depends Nik on where you are. I mean, in the northern areas, they've been giving the Red Cross and medical aid people a horrible time this past year, telling people that the polio vaccine will cause inftertility ec. So the children do not get the innoculations and polio is still a problem there. Very sad yeah?

no it hasn't ...........but ofcoarse improving with time

back biting is most common disease in desi women.

char so beesi in men :chai:

No gandi baateiN here :emmy:

i think regardless of where you live (ie rural or urban areas), that attitude is going to be present. i don't know why that is though. i mean do people not want to make an effort to get well/take care of themselves? do they pay more attention to cases where people die, instead of cases where they get actually get better or take control of their diseases. or is it because healthcare is not a priority. it's funny that people remember that keh "Allah kay haath main sab hai" and forget that your health is a gift from Him, and you have to make sure you take care of that gift.