Commercials for Skin Whitening Products

Do they encourage colorism in desis?

Do you think the obsession is similar to White people wanting a nice summer tan?

Do such commercials bother you?

Does sawla rung make you more self conscious about your appearance?

Have you used any skin whitening products? :hmmm: Do they work?

Re: Commercials for Skin Whitening Products

Never heard about “colorism”…

No, obsession of getting whiter is a manifestation of inferiority more than anything else.

Every commercial plays with the weakness of certain group, every commercial bothers me.

I am off brown and proud of it. ( lol)

Are you kidding me…only chameleon change color, no cream can do that.

^I say colorism because it's not really racism. I agree the obsession goes beyond just wanting to look "better."

Some commercials are actually funny. I like commercials :p I am asking if anyone tried such a product and did it meet the claim to make you gora.

@ Theorist . It is called CSBS "chand see baho syndrome" prevalent in desi folks on both sides of the border. In like mother telling boys " main taray lee-a chand see bivi laoon gee"

amreeka k naa jaaapaan k … hum tu hain dewaney multaan k
jamni hont sarikeee boleen …aur kanoon main ras dhalkeey

most of the ads of these products are funny but I’ll not call it colorism as GK said almost all ads (no matter what is the product) plays on weakness of certain group

@Theroist
Racism has many forms, skin color is one of them......

calling funny to something is a reflection of your strength to enjoy it and strength is merely a measure of your weakness, so every commercial is has an appeal to some kind of weakness.

^:hehe: D6C. JAMNI hont? Is she a smoker?

do these products even work?

What can we do to do away with such nonsense?

There is a very thin line b/w preference and racism when it comes to things like skin color etc.

^Yes, agreed. The last time I used the word “racist” for desis, they were all up in my grill. :nahi:

I dont know. I really wanted to marry a sanwali girl but ended up with gori-desi (begum hope i’ll still get dinner tonight, will I? :smiley: )

If not skin color, I am sure these products give boost to self confidence :slight_smile:

^:hoonh: aaj khana saath leker jaana ghar.

Self confidence? I would be embarrassed to admit that I use such a product. That’s just me..

hahaha.

I agree to the intended meanings of your statement but can not endorse to its correctness.

who admits? :wink:

they don’t look desi to me…

^Wohi na.. Why use a product you are ashamed to use? :konfused:

:eek:

^What? :hoonh:

I have used such products when I was in Pakistan but not anymore...I love my skin colour. I plan to get laser treatment for my freckles though, but that's different than skin whitening products.

^Do they work?