Comments from a "transformed Shoaib Akhtar"

Shoaib Akhtar has said that Pakistan’s crushing 2-0 victory over England in the recent Test series had set up the prospects of an interesting contest against India, scheduled to tour early next year.

“Our victory sets up the prospects of one hell of a series [against India] because the pundits had more or less written us off for the series against England,” said Shoaib who starred with 17 wickets in the series at 24.58. “But the team proved the critics wrong and instead earned praise and appreciation for a thoroughly professional performance that has to be attributed to a combined team effort.”

Pakistan fought back brilliantly at Multan, after conceding a lead of 144, and wrapped up the series in Lahore with a thumping innings win. Shoaib said the England series had provided an excellent opportunity for Pakistan to assess preparations for the series against India. “In 2004, we were a much younger and inexperienced side and consequently lost to India,” he said. "Now we are more experienced, mature and combined outfit.

“In the series against England, we also proved that we have more than one matchwinner in Inzamam-ul Haq, Mohammad Yousuf, Danish Kaneria, Salman Butt, Rana Naved-ul-Hasan and Shahid Afridi.”

He credited Inzamam for Pakistan’s transformation, with whom he has not always seen eye to eye in the past. “I think the entire credit for this transformation goes to skipper Inzamam,” he continued, “who has not only established himself as a great leader but a huge motivator who inspired the team with his performance. As far as I am concerned, Inzamam was the major difference in the series against England. I am enjoying my bowling as much as I am enjoying the company of Inzamam.”

** Shoaib added that praying five times a day had united the team. “The difference between this team and ones I have played in the past is of namaz (prayers)” he continued. “The boys have started backing each other, their tolerance level has increased and they are always there when someone needs them to lift their dampened spirits.”

source

Mashallah, from statements such as “iam a ferrari” and “it was me vs Australia”, this is a whole new and different shoaib.

People on Gupshup have changed their views on Shoaib because they are now looking a different Shoaib Akhtar. This is not the Shoaib we knew, and mashallah this is a very healthy change and Inshallah this team will go and achieve much greater heights than the teams of the past.

Amazing when u look back and see what a death of a 4 year old girl can lead to. We now have an entirely changed Pakistan cricket team, and it all started with the death of 4 yr old girl, and her father’s early retirement.

Re: Comments from a "transformed Shoaib Akhtar"

hey whats that 4 years old girl story....????

^ Saeed Anwar's daughter.

masha'Allah Shoaib's attitude is totally transformed. Just too good/changed to be believed :p insha'Allah he'll keep his good spirits up.

^InshaAllah.......

oh saeed's daughter.....

I cannot be more happy with Shaibi but i am afraid to say we have to wait and see how he reacts to this renewed interest and passion towards him................. that will be the true test of how much he has changed .

*Shoaib added that praying five times a day had united the team. "The difference between this team and ones I have played in the past is of namaz (prayers)" *

So where does Kaneria stand? Or, when Yusuf had not converted? This is all rubbish, these are paid professionals, it is their job to perform no matter what religion or social background they belong.

Re: Comments from a “transformed Shoaib Akhtar”

Agreed … Keeping your namaz is commenable but its a personal thing… just saying ur namaz doesnt guarantee success in everything u do … u still have to put in hard work and application
I very much doubt that in Imran’s era they were sayin namaz regularly but they still won the world cup because of their belief and application.

if sticking closer to Islam does such wonders for the team, imagine what it would do for us as a nation....
if only we cud learn and see the blessings Islam brings upon us....

stop crying, whenever u see Islam getting credit for anything u people only know how to cry…

he did not say that a regular praying mullah wud play better cricket…

just that prayerhas held them together and brought unity amongst them…
otherwise we all know of the rifts among the team…

lekin tumjaahilon ko foran Islam ki taareef sun kar aag lag jaati hai or jaisa tumhara naam hai “fart-guru”, u start spreading noises which r nothing better than what ur name says… :rolleyes:

Aray aray aray, aap tho naraaz hogay…aisa hai ke aap jaisa aik gadha hai, jo na samajtha hai na samajna chahtha hai…THIS IS A FORUM FOR DISCUSSION ON CRICKET, PLEASE KEEP YOUR RELIGIOUS, POLITICAL, SOCIAL CHAPPALS (apologies to Greig Chappel) OUTSIDE…:smiley:

Our team won the 1992 worldcup under Imran Khan’s captiancy and Javed Miandad’s Vice-Captiancy, one a womanizer the other a gambling zombie. Does that mean all our players should follow the same path? Take a hike, this is a forum for sports and cricket,

yahan sayassi aur baihuda bathain karna sakhth manna hai…trespasser will be prostituted…:stuck_out_tongue:

excellent!! well said! People just have a problem ithink with any1 who starts nimaz and wears their religion on their sleeve, because the new modern and enlightened thing to do is wear your liberalism on your sleeve! agreed religion is personal but in terms of pakistan team they are giving out their secret to success! maybe as a nation we can learn from them this positive thing, just like we learn about the new hairstyles or actions they have!

Can someone please tell me what was the relationship between Anwar’s 4-year-old daughter, and Akhtar? I haven’t followed up on cricket (until very recently), so I am unaware of the surrounding circumstances.

On a sidenote, I do note that a “Shoaib Akhtar” thread generates more responses than possibly any other thread in Cricketnama (of course, other than the regular “matches” thread). Seems to be quite popular when it comes time for praising/bashing. His name just somehow always manages to get past Mohammad Sami at the top of the list. :smiley:

Nice post. I completely agree.

sorry but you are seriously misinformed, perhaps we can discuss that issue in “religion” section as if I try to explain here “the thread will be diverted/off topic”.

If praying Namaz is what was the “missing element” for this team then so be it :k: I’m glad that the team has found a common ground to be a unit :jhanda:

I agree that these are “paid professionals” but if some professionals have too big an ego to be “part of team” then there will always be problems. I’m glad that we now have a united “Team” whether its thru praying together or not, we can’t ignore the fact that these players and us (majority) are Muslims so we should be able to appreciate that these guys were able to resolve their issues and found unity thru namaz.

fartguru is denying his own guru’s statement/comments/feelings. :hehe:
What Shoaib is saying is that this team is more united and has ‘decipline’ than the young team we had back in 2004. One of the factors that played a role in maintaining decipline and glue them together is participating in namaaz in jamaat. It makes sense too, as in namaz we all are same no mehmood or ayaaz hence egos/differences go down the drain.
Wese he was the one who needed it most and he deserves to smell it before it got worst.

well, untill recently the Pak team was very aiyaash. With the death of Saeed’s daughter, he quit cricket, grew a daari and joined tableeghi Jamaat. He then started working on members of the team, and the first people he was able to influence were Inzamam, Mushtaq and Saqlain who then continued the work ahead and mashallah we now see the results.

Very nice to read. Thanks!

One of the members of GS said it best: “The only means to realize whether Allah is on your side or not is to look inside yourself and ask a question whether you are closer to Allah (by means of performing religious duties). If affirmative, you will most likely see the fruitful results.”

And Masha-Allah, with the help of Anwar, he has now united our team as one!

These paid professionals are giving credit to Allah and praying nafal to celebrate their victory. Maybe we should tell them to stop, eh?

I see namaz as a direct link towards the unity of the team. Only thick minded people will refuse to see it that way. Islam it self has nothing to do with team but NAMAAZ has a direct influence on a lot of things. I saw the sheer love and happiness within Inzi and Shoaib was hugging each other on each and every wicket. Because of namaaz all the team is united like a solid rock and it is clearly shown in each and everything that team does.
-Salman

If a muslim kills someone, Islam is to be blamed for it, but if a muslim do something good, or gives credit to islam for something good, oh no no sir. unbelievable, simply unbelievable.