Why do desis keep going on about colours? I mean look at the rishta adds in Pakistani newspapers, they are full of crap like ‘abc, 5’4, skin colour fair’ ‘skin colour fair’ ‘skin colour fair’…you get the point.
Why are people so obsessed with colour? Who gives a mango what colour someone is? :no:
We tend to focus more on things we have no control over:
Country of birth
Height
Skin colour
Race
and weight is also very important for rishtas but we do have control over it (mostly)!
And I second Aish… my friends consider me lucky for being brown coz I need not worry about tan one of them also said to me asian skin is the best! be proud girls!
I wish people would stop caring so much about their damn stupid skin tone and care about more important stuff! Their are a worse more things to have been born with than the fact that your skin is dark/fair! GET OVER YOUR SKIN TONE PLEAASE!
I also dont know many guys who care abouty skin colour, or weight even. its the women. we are our worst enemies. its the MIL who youll find will be looking for slim, fair girls. not the sons. or FILS. its the women whol make comments on someones elses weight or colour.
When i went pak last year, my aunt had the audacity to ask me tumhari bhen ko kya hua....i asked her what she meant. she said pehle to bahut pink pink uska colour tha, abi kitni sanwali hogi hai, yeh kyu?.......PUHLEASE, and her own daughters are twice as dark as my sister.
and i hate the way desis ask ab kya hua.......with eyes wide in shock, like getting darker/tanning is something absurd.
Not only confined to desis. People everywhere...in every race/culture....pay attention to color. Not just the color of people....but the color of inanimate objects around as us as well. Color is a part of our daily lives...as is having an opinion/preference. A negative opinion about the color of an object....is no big deal. People can brush it off easily saying that an opinion is subjective. A negative opinion about a person...on the other hand...(opinion is STILL subjective...like beauty).....is harder to brush off....and you'll receive harsher criticism.
i hav been commented by white ladies while looking for sunscreens n cosmetics " oh well u r too dark" and the comment doesn't come as a compliment so its not with desis only.
Go to Life4, and there is a rishta thread there. You’ll see all kinds of bakwaas - looking for or offering a “fair” girl.
First of all, ya’ll are desi. Which means you are brown. You’re not fair. Quit kidding yourself.
Now some of us are more or less “kaali” than others. It’s really not all entirely genetics. Some of us get sunburned more easily and some of us spend more time outside.
And quite honestly, some of my most prettiest friends are a little on the darker side. And that’s totally ok.
I love when they’re like “looking for a rishtaa for my sister, she is fair and tall, and she is also hijabi and reads Quran every day, looking for a good muslim who prays 5x a day”…
Why is it that some of the most “religious” or even “parhay likhay” are the ones putting up ads like that?
Right, because God told you in the Quran that being light skinned is a trait that you should advertise of yourself to get a rishta.
It happens everywhere...just have a look at the Far East, according to people in China, Japan, Korea fair = beautiful as well. I'd say their whitening industry was bigger than the ones in India/Pakistan. Big skincare companies like Clinique and Shiseido make whitening products that are specifically sold in the Far East because they know it'll sell there. The black community in America use bleaching creams as well. White people use fake tan, lie under sunbeds at the risk of developing skin cancer...heck they're even resorting to injections that increase melanin production now. This obsession with skin colour really isn't just limited to desis.
Every place in the world has an 'ideal' of beauty and people will do anything/spend anything to achieve it. Just get over it and learn to love your own skin colour because you're stuck with it for the rest of your life.