ok guys so here i m.. my daughter is 3.5 mnths, gonna b 4 mnths in 9 days and still colic. i was desperately waitin for her to turn 3 mnths so her colic goes away but no its still there and needless to say i m mentally so disturbed. i m tired all the time. she sleeps for merely half n hour or more and wakes up cryin pullin her legs up. i m unable to get decent sleep. not more than 3-4 hrs but in intervals. whenever she is up i m up. i m givin her infacol and bonnison by himalaya (its digestive tonic) and saunf water but nothin seems to work and i cant stop crying! i love her but i just hate the colic attacks she is gettin. i m helpless. i tired everythin even pullin up her legs and spreadin her hips so she passes gas and she dus pass but still within mins she is cryin. her head is still not steady.. someone told me maybe she mite improve if i strt a lil solid like rice cereal in her bottle or something. she is BF i give her a bottle maybe only once a day. shud i try that.. cus i m desperate to try anything really but am wonderin abt her head which she cannot hold. wot shud i do. i m at my wits end.
Re: colicky baby even now :(
Any thoughts from her pediatrician?
Re: colicky baby even now ![]()
mall…it can take upto 4 months for colic to go away. I know how you are feeling. My daughter is masha allah 10 months but there hasn’t been a single night since she came home after birth in which I have slept in a stretch. She still wake up 1 time during night and she cries at the top of her lungs . Insha Allah theek ho jaye ga ! I advise you to visit another ped if possible ?
regarding holding her head. my daughter took like 2-3 months too . All babies are different but you can discus this with her ped too.
I hope your problem gets resolved soon ![]()
Isn't there some desi medicine for colic? If you ask around I'm sure there is something. My parents gave it to all my sibilings and we never had signs of colic. Sorry in advance if you've explored this option already.
Are you sure he is just colicky? and it's not acid reflux?
My son was same way and it took a while for doctors to finally figure out that it was acid reflux. he was prescribed prevacid at 3 months age. and thats when he stopped crying arching his back and pulling legs etc... he was also spitting up a lot....
I would say have him checked out by a good pediatrician!
Acid reflux is not very uncommon in babies these days....
-Sanna
maybe it has to do with your own diet too. This lady once said that her baby's colic went away right after she stopped eating anything with tomatoes. Do a little more research on babycenter etc. and of course talk to the peadiatrician
You've mentioned you don't give the bottle much, but some feeders have special anti-colic features which the regular ones don't such as the ones by Avent. A baby I know who never BF and had colic and it went away after the mom switched to Avent.
I'm gonna be a mom soon too iA, and I know soooo many sleepless nights and baby care issues await me too
Sahar: nothin mch.first one said itll take 3 mnths but this new ped says 6 mnths and i was bangin my head on the wall seriously! he asked me to take her stool test (routine, culture and somethin substance) and the result came absolutely fine! so shes not allergic to my milk even as per the result. he gave infacol and bonnison and rubbished gripe water
Diamond:
she is 3.5 already and her head is not jiggly, never was even at birth but still its not stable as it shud b. shud i start rice cereal, a lil bit in her feeder? someoen said mayb that will help her digestive system.. i duno i m ready to try everythin
carpdiem:
how to know if one has acid reflux.. are there any tests. ive already done stool tests.
Isn't there some desi medicine for colic? If you ask around I'm sure there is something. My parents gave it to all my sibilings and we never had signs of colic. Sorry in advance if you've explored this option already.
i m already usin saunf water and its not helpin. thaz the only desi totka i know. some say to give mint water etc...which other desi totkas r u talkin abt which ur siblings took
maybe it has to do with your own diet too. This lady once said that her baby's colic went away right after she stopped eating anything with tomatoes. Do a little more research on babycenter etc. and of course talk to the peadiatrician
You've mentioned you don't give the bottle much, but some feeders have special anti-colic features which the regular ones don't such as the ones by Avent. A baby I know who never BF and had colic and it went away after the mom switched to Avent.
I'm gonna be a mom soon too iA, and I know soooo many sleepless nights and baby care issues await me too
thaz the prb i m so fed up with controllin my diet and still gettin no result. i stopped eatin pakoras and all baadi chezain. but is rice also bad for colic? i cant certainly take out onion frm diet as literally everythin is made from it. plus rice is also such an improtant source in our diet. i give her a bottle only when i m out so i m sure its not the bottle causin colic
colic has no reason behind it.. nothing u eat ( or actually do eat) can give your baby colic.. its just something some babies go through... and it can last as last as 8 months .. so if she is indeed colic, its gonna be a long ride.. u just have to bear with it.
and rule out acid reflux... just ask ure ped the next time... if they can rule it out.. colic usually makes the child uncomfortable and sends them into a crying fit in evenings.. thats the telltale sign baby is colic... acid reflux is usually everytime the baby takes a feed.
which one is it for ure baby? only evening crying episodes.. or all around fussiness ?
ur bby is way too youg for bby rice or any foods yet, try cutting out gassy foods in ur diet things like gobi n sme lentils n other vegs can also upset bby :)
which one is it for ure baby? only evening crying episodes.. or all around fussiness ?
i wud hv to say it has always been all around fussiness since shes born but wot i noticed is that when she turned 2.5 it got a lil better like she wud play for few mins and interact previously it was like feed, cry or sleep thaz it. ill def ask doc for acid reflux, even i m findin myself questioning if this is really colic.
ur bby is way too youg for bby rice or any foods yet, try cutting out gassy foods in ur diet things like gobi n sme lentils n other vegs can also upset bby :)
It is often given to help with reflux.
sahar is there any way to know if baby has reflux. she dusnt spit up or vomit or anything. wots the difference between reflux and acid reflux?? r there any tests. stool tests came fine.
Re: colicky baby even now ![]()
“Frequent spitting up or vomiting; discomfort when spitting up. Some babies with GERD do not spit up – silent reflux occurs when the stomach contents only go as far as the esophagus and are then re-swallowed, causing pain but no spitting up.”
from http://www.kellymom.com/babyconcerns/reflux.html#refluxsymptoms
might be worth asking your doc about silent reflux. I remember you said elevating her head seemed to help.
thanks sahar for the link. i spoke to her doc just secs back and told him infacol and bonnison is not workin. last nite she was cryin for hours and i found myself shakin her a bit and feelin soooooo violent!! but thankfully i controlled.. i feel so helpless and hate to see her in pain like this. i told him abt the cryin sessions yesterday and he said give her 50 percent ur milk and 50 percent Aptamil comfort 1 and try this for 10 days. i m also sensin maybe somethin is wrong with my milk??? also... is it possible (IF in case im preg) that thaz wot is causin some changes in my milk. i m not havin any preg symptoms but did have sex couple of times since her birth.. is it possible?
i asked him abt reflux he said she dusnt have it cus she dusnt vomit and all. thaz wot most docs say. i dint ask abt silent reflux. do u think she cud have it although she is gainin really well and is MA v v healthy (has v cute dimply moti moti legs) :D hehehe.
Mine was gaining well, but still had reflux. She was actually spitting up and stuff. She didn't need any meds, we just had to be very careful with her, and it has gotten better (tho not completely gone).
As for the violent feelings, I think we all have these moments of frustration. For me it's because I blame myself when she is crying and unsettled. It's like nothing I can do is right and that anger gets taken out on her. But yeah, keep it in check and try to get some release and take a break in other ways.
Mine was gaining well, but still had reflux. She was actually spitting up and stuff. She didn't need any meds, we just had to be very careful with her, and it has gotten better (tho not completely gone).
As for the violent feelings, I think we all have these moments of frustration. For me it's because I blame myself when she is crying and unsettled. It's like nothing I can do is right and that anger gets taken out on her. But yeah, keep it in check and try to get some release and take a break in other ways.
mine dusnt spit up. a lil milk cums but v rarely.. neither she vomits AH. i think then maybe its not reflux.