a poem in our course book, titled;

"IF I WERE THE LORD OF TARTARY"
It went something like this...(per memory);

"If I were the Lord of Tartary,
myself and me alone.
My bed would be made of Ivory
and beaten gold my throne....."

(the poem continues..with narration of some ivory towers
by a person...day dreaming and making sand castles)

Later in 1960, I heard a song sung by
Muhammad Rafi for some movie....

and the lyrics of that song totally
matched the poem I had read in school a few years back!

I searched for that song the entire Karachi.
Wrote to my relatives in India to get me a cassette
of that song....all failed to yield desired results..

till last night I happen to be at one of my branch
and after the official business...I visited one of
the music outlets where I casually inquired
about that song...and there was this employee
of 40 years service there...who was so quick in
searching out that I got the very song and well..
it took me around 25 years to search for it...and get it!

Never loose hope...they say...

SO....wait for the link of that song...I'll paste
on this thread by the (Pakistani) weekend.....

Khush Rahein.....

Re: CLASSICS (songs) OF YESTERYEARS

An old pakistani song which goes like

***Lakhon haseen hain mujhey tum keyoon pasand ***
Khud hi bataoo achey khasey aqalmad ho ..

I dont know the movie but song is amusing :slight_smile: If you could find, i will be greatly obliged :flower1:

The movie: MUJRIM KAUN
The cast: ZIA MOHEYDDIN & ROZINA
The Year: 1973-74.
The Duet by ; Irene Perveen and Rushdie

**Never loose hope…they say…

SO…wait for the link of that song…I’ll paste**
on this thread by the (Pakistani) weekend…

MUHAMMAD RAFI sings;

“Raat Suhani Ho…Naddee Ho Paani Ho…”
http://www.youshare.com/view.php?file=03Track031.mp3

The Indian B&W movies
of early FIFTIES left a

compelling effect…so strongly
that the teens…today find it
essential to play some mesmerizing numbers

which, to me appears quite musing…
and makes me get up to dance!

The number you are to hear…
bears a very special place in
AMITABH BACCHAN’s

showbiz life..when he adopted
the style and steps of
BHAGWAN DADA (1952-53)

when performing a fast dance
for some movies…

***This particular song picturized
on BHAGWAN DADA ***
(and a lady I am not aware of…)
is a mixture of FOXTROT, RAMBA SAMBA and TANGO…
Presenting;
“SHOLA JO BHARKE…DIL MERA DHARKE”
http://www.youshare.com/view.php?file=Sholajobhadke.MP3

THE MOVIE;

MADHUMATI

The stars the song filmed on;

Dilip Kumar & Vayjanti Mala

The singers;

Mukesh & Lata

WAAAH !
Kiya (duo) Gaana Hai…
http://www.youshare.com/view.php?file=diltadaptadapke.mp3

uuff mai nay kitna kuch miss ker diya g s per,,ajj open kia aur yeh thread daikhee tou bus wahhh keh gaee,,bohat shukria arjay,,khob say khob ter payishkash ki hai app nay.vnice

MNyk....whatever you missed in Pakistan..while you were in New York...
got balanced when you came to your beautiful country--Pakistan.

It was wonderful to talk to you...and to know that you are enjoying your visit home...away from home!

I know the feelings for the Country when one is away--overseas!
I have lived 23 years abroad on my postings and long courses...and its really a painful yet desired feeling of all that's happening back in the country...and reminicising the good days of yesteryears....all the while becomes a habit.

Khush Rahein.....

A lot many requested a repost of this Audio-Video via a different link..
Thanks to HHL that I got a new site for an easy view of this absolutely a classic number by CLIFF RICHARD…hence the repeat;

http://www.youshare.com/hosting.php?file=cliffrichardbachelorboy.wmv

yesssssssss back to pavallion...:)

WELCOME back to home away from home.....

YOU were missed and are being missed.....

W.H.E.N.E.V.E.R
A GROUP OF FRIENDS
AT SOME PARTY…
ARE IN MOOD TO DANCE…
LIKE THEY SAY;

“A LITTLE MADNESS IN THE SPRING…
IS WHOLESOME…EVEN FOR THE KING..”

THEN…ITS TIME FOR
HENRY
BELAFONTE’S

“GIVE ME HOPE JOANNA”
WHICH MAKES YOU AUTOMATICALLY
MOVE TOWARDS THE FLOOR
FORMING A CHAIN…AND JIVI’N YOURSELF OUT!

http://www.youshare.com/view.php?file=givemehopejoanna.mp3

DOGGONE!

Now this dog can well
find place at PRIME TV-UK’s
Dance Competition!!!

See the Amazing COLLIE
dance with her master
**at some show…on the famous
song of yesteryears from YOUR favorite movie
“GREASE”

http://www.youshare.com/hosting.php?file=AmazingDogDancingToTravoltaSon.wmv

I have been a die-hard ELVIS PRESLEY fan
since I was 16 of age.....and I was also the
member of;

ELVIS PRESLEY FAN CLUB
at Jamshed Road Residence of
Farzana Farooqui d/o Mrs. Maryam Farooqui

owner of HAPPY HOME SCHOOL....

ELVIS had a great following in Pakistan
during 50's - 60's

Here's a recap of some classic numbers of

ELVIS PRESLEY

*The 50 CD Box Set was released in 1996 by BMG Netherland. The set comes with a 94-page-book and a ertificate of authenticity which says: " The Original Elvis Presley Collection has been compiled by BMG Nederland BV, authorized by RCA Records, the exclusive worldwide owner of Elvis Presley's sound recordings. - Elvis Presley is the greatest recording artist of all time." The box includes previously released original CD albums, only the cover art is different. This collector item was not sold in music stores. It was only available through a dutch book club. *

Vol.01 - Elvis Presley
Vol.02 - Elvis
Vol.03 - Loving You
Vol.04 - Elvis' Christmas Album
Vol.05 - Elvis' Golden Records
Vol.06 - King Creole
Vol.07 - For LP Fans Only
Vol.08 - A Date With Elvis
Vol.09 - 50.000.000 Elvis Fans Can't Be Wrong
Vol.10 - Elvis Is Back !
Vol.11 - Double Features: Flaming Star / Follow That Dream / Wild In The Country
Vol.12 - G.I. Blues
Vol.13 - His Hand In Mine
Vol.14 - Something For Everybody
Vol.15 - Blue Hawaii
Vol.16 - Pot Luck With Elvis
Vol.17 - Double Features: Kid Galahad / Girls! Girls! Girls!
Vol.18 - Double Features: It Happened At The World's Fair / Fun In Acapulco
Vol.19 - Elvis' Golden Records Volume 3
Vol.20 - Double Features: Kissin' Cousins / Clambake / Stay Away Joe
Vol.21 - Double Features: Love In Las Vegas / Roustabout
Vol.22 - Double Features: Harem Holiday / Girl Happy
Vol.23 - Elvis For Everyone
Vol.24 - Double Features: Frankie and Johnny / Paradise Hawaiian Style
Vol.25 - Double Features: Spinout / Double Trouble
Vol.26 - Double Features: Easy Come, Easy Go / Speedway
Vol.27 - How Great Thou Art
Vol.28 - Elvis' Golden Records Volume 4
Vol.29 - Double Features: Live A Little, Love A Little / Trouble with Girls / Charro / Change Of Habit
Vol.30 - NBC TV Special
Vol.31 - From Elvis In Memphis
Vol.32 - In Person
Vol.33 - Back In Memphis
Vol.34 - On Stage
Vol.35 - That's The Way It Is
Vol.36 - Elvis Country
Vol.37 - Love Letters From Elvis
Vol.38 - Elvis Sings The Wonderful World Of Christmas
Vol.39 - Elvis
Vol.40 - He Touched Me
Vol.41 - Elvis As Recorded At Madison Square Garden
Vol.42 - Aloha From Hawaii Via Satellite
Vol.43 - Elvis (Fool Album)
Vol.44 - Raised On Rock
Vol.45 - Good Times
Vol.46 - Recorded Live On Stage In Memphis
Vol.47 - Promised Land
Vol.48 - Today
Vol.49 - From Elvis Presley Boulevard, Memphis, Tennessee
Vol.50 - Moody Blue

" I MIGHT.."
by Shakin Stevens…
was the rock-n-roll song
which got me an award (1st Prize)
***at Jumeirah Beach Hotel’s ***
MAY QUEEN
Ball of 1990 at Dubai…

This song has a certain mood of its own…
You’ve got to be very accurate of your steps
and the body movement to synchronize with the beat!

Here…enjoy the song;
http://www.youshare.com/view.php?file=01-Imight.mp3

A totally unknown
***person; ***
ATIF
reportedly hailed
***from Okara ***
(but some say that he is from Multan)
IT WAS WAY BACK IN ELECTION '70
THAT ATIF MADE HIS FIRST EVER
APPEARANCE AT PTV LAHORE
DURING ELECTION-70 SPECIAL TRANSMISSION.

HE SANG THIS SONG COMPOSED & WRITTEN
BY HIM WHICH IS ALMOST A WORK
OF GENIUS AND QUITE AMAZING ACTUALLY!

THE WAY HE SPEAKS OF CITIES FROM
KARACHI TO PESHAWAR
AND THE WAY HE DELIVERS THE WORDS
BREATHLESSLY…IS YET ANOTHER
CLASSIC SHOW.

**TYPICAL DISDAIN OF OUR COUNTRY
THAT ATIF DID NOT RECEIVE THE RECOGNITION
HE DESERVED…
ON WRITING, COMPOSING & SINGING
“PAANI KA BULBULLA”

http://www.youshare.com/view.php?file=PaaniKaBulbula.mp3
I URGE UPON YOU TO DOWNLOAD
AND HEAR THIS BEAUTIFUL & AMAZING
PUNJABI SONG…
AND FORWARD THE LINK TO YOUR FRIENDS ALSO.

***HOW I WISH THAT I HAD MET
THIS BLOKE SOMETIME!!!

THEY SAY HE HAILS FROM KHANEWAL
WHILE SOME SAY THAT HE HAILS FROM MULTAN !***

***TO ME…ATIF HAILS FROM PAKISTAN !!

THIS GUY IS REALLY AMAZING…
I MEAN REALLY REALLY AMAZING
AND THE WAY HE HAS SUNG THIS SONG…
IS TOTALLY BEWILDERING AS WELL AS
ENTERTAINING…***

ATIF WROTE, COMPOSED & SANG THIS
PUNJABI SONG AND APPEARED
IN PTV-LAHORE’S SPECIAL TRANSMISSION
OF ELECTIONS-70…FOR THE FIRST TIME.

THE WAY HE HOLDS HIS BREATH FOR A FAIRLY LONG TONE
AND NARRATION…IS NOT ONLY MIND BOGGLING BUT SOMETHING
ABSOLUTELY AMAZING…

HE SINGS FACTS & FIGURES RANGING FROM KARACHI TO PESHAWAR
AND I URGE UPON YOU ALL TO OWNLOAD THIS SONG & ALSO
FORWARD IT TO YOUR FRIENDS…

TYPICAL DISDAIN…THAT WE DID
NOT REALLY RECOGNIZE THE FINE TALENT
OF ATIF THAT HE IS UNKNOWN TODAY…

IT TOOK ME A WHILE TO TRACE THE AUDIO CASSETTE
OF THIS SONG AND GUESS WHERE I FOUND IT???
AT OKARA MAIN CITY…WHILE ON MY WAY TO LAHORE
FROM MULTAN BY CAR RECENTLY…

LADIES & GENTLEMEN…
INSAAN “PAANI KA BULBULA” HAI…

HEAR IT…
http://www.youshare.com/view.php?file=PaaniKaBulbula.mp3

When we think about OLD songs of yesteryears—rightly termed as IMMORTAL songs by MORTAL men,
its a totally mesmerizing feeling that takes us over in a very strong grip.

Very small were the boundaries with the neighbors; INDIA and also easily accessable through the
RADIO magic of RADIO CEYLON on MW & SW which was indeed a food for the soul on music
then under the husky yet soft voice of AMIN SAYANI.

There was some so appealing in the songs that not being accesible to the B&W movies then…
I use to make a sketch of the scene in my mind..and enjoy the song more! and noiw when
I visit the YOUTUBE on daily basis…I reach out for those songs on video and strangely
it’s close to my imagination–the scene and / or the ambiance.

Here’s a selection of some songs I did visualise nearer to their scenes…and just see
how innocent and real the heroine and hero look…quite contrary to the songs and scenes
we see today in our and at our neighbor’s movies these days…absolutely flat faces
extricating that its only money that we are doing this for :slight_smile:

PAANCH RUPAIYA BARAA AANA (Madhubala and Kishore Kumar);

also see the ameature video made by an Indian family at their home----on same song! CLASSIC!

Then we have Nutan and (still young at heart at the age of 80) Dev Anand;
CHORR DOU AANCHAL;

also see…what HASHAR NASHARR this beautiful song has been subjected to..by their own countrymen;

Then we have this wonderful scenario on NUTAN & RAJ KAPOOR;
WO CHAND KHILLA;

While—this one showing Dev Anand and his wife…is simply mesmerizing;
YAAD KIYA DIL NE…

At this point…I wouldn’t mind enjoying a colored scenario from NAILA
made in 1966 by our Faree’s dad…Agha G.A.Gul…on a novel by the name
where Shamim Ara, Santosh Kumar and Darpan…took Pakistani Cinema Viewers by a storm…!! NAILA was 80% picturised in Murree & Ghariyal…10% at Aghajee’s Gulberge Bungalow…and rest at the EVERNEW Studios at lahore.
It is technically the first full length color by technicolor movie of Pakistan with sizeable budget;

In 1970, HUSNA the Helen of Pakistan was the most popular of the LADIES of Pak-Movieland. I met her thrice at some new year parties at Beach Luxury,Excelsior and Hotel Palm Grove
at karachi. She was a very good REMBA SEMBA dancer besides FOXTROT.
She paired with our KAMAL in “BHEN BHAI” and did a wonderful song shot entirely in Karachi…at some places you may also recognize…like the PECHS Block-VI JHEEL PARK
(which is now a swamp near Cafe D’Khan)..and at the Karachi Beach now in front of
West Wind Towers & BON VISTA…and at the famous JEHANGIR KOTHARI dome and parade areas…which still stand tall…
HELLO HELLO MR.ABDUL GHANI;

Going back to India…there was this bloke JOY MUKERJEE…probably the brother of Rani’s dad that I heard from someone…
JOY was like KAMAL of ours…ever jubiliant and full of hip hop…and this song became ever popular when he majored in a pic SHAGIRD with I.S.Johar as his ustad;

This series continues..and more follows…
Best…
Raju Jamil