By the grace of Allah everyone in the world has, owns, or is part of something that is beautiful: it could be personality, brains, family, car, etc etc.
Physical appearence can also be added to that list. In my opinion, there are three classes of people (for both genders): average, above average, and beautiful.
So the question is… should a person from one “class” (both male or female) marry someone who is not in the same “class” as him/her or should marriages occur only between those people who belong roughly to the same “class”?
(I ask this because we know of a family where the husband always tells the wife to count her blessings that she married a “stud” like him; and always gives her a hard time about her looks (compared to his).)
^ That’s really messed up of the guy to do that to his wife. If he thinks she’s so ugly, what does that say about him? Really sad.. :no:
This class thing is really stupid: you may feel you belong to one class but someone thinks u belong to another.. the grl you fall in love with n marry may be that class that u desire, but others may not and will bakbak behind ur back that you or her married “down” in terms of looks.
Physical appearence can also be added to that list. In my opinion, there are three classes of people (for both genders): average, above average, and beautiful.
You are quite an optimist. Whatever happened to below average and borderline repulsive?
Women almost always marry UP. They typically trade looks for money, status, family. A short, bald and stocky man with FMS can dream to marry a hottie without FMS but not necessarily vice versa.
Psychology says people who share lot of similarities, even physically, tend to marry each other (in desi culture it wud prolly be people’s parents lolz!!)
I heard (from a friend) that Islamically, a man is supposed to marry into someone socially (financially) lesser than him, since a man is supposed to maintain the same if not better living standards for woman as she enjoyed at her father’s place, if he can’t she can ask for divorce!)
Realistically, we have seen, people care for same class, meaning educational standards, and/or financial status. When you have lots of money, you have more opportunities to beautify yourself.
Last but not the least, they say, marry someone who loves you than the one you love! since someone who loves you will care more for you or you wud end up caring for the other and not getting back the same, can be frustrating. Same goes for physical beauty I guess. Too much sohna munda wud be too full of himself But we human beings tend to go for the one who rocks our world, than the one who comes after us, silly isn’t it.
I personally don not care for class system, may it be financially or physical beauty. If our hearts click everything inside and outisde would be pretty Oh did I mention, every relationship needs time, effort, compromises and adjustments
Goshh if this is a quick one, wot wud have been a longer version :whistling
^ you didn't address the question; infact none of you have.
Should people still marry if the difference in the appearence between the two individuals is obvious; i.e. one is in a completely different league than the other.
Answer should be based on reality and not fantasy or wishful thinking.
^ woh to humne Allah miya par chora hai; but I tell you one thing, who ever marries me will be damn lucky, InshAllah. There's no one like Khan Aneel (and thats a good thing).
Well, have seen lot of couples where one is hotter than the other, be it male or female.
But, there is one couple that i wud always think of being the most wierd. Both my classmates and had a love marriage. The boy 6 feet 4 inches, white like caucasians, very handsome & a gentleman. The girl, 4 feet 10 inches, black like south indians, voice like a mule, no manners at all.