Circumcision

Re: Circumcision

This is what I have against “copy-and-paste”. I glanced through the relevant piece and immediately spotted some glaring mistakes and straight misinformation that, according to me, it makes the whole piece suspect and worthless.

1. “The circumcision of Abraham removed only the very tip that extended beyond the glans penis” - If true, then why were the people mentioned in Gen.34v24-25 in pain for more than three days?

2. “Moses and his sons were not circumcised” - Moses’s son’s were not circumcised UNTIL his wife circumcised his son BEFORE he went to see Pharao. It can be clearly seen from Ex.4v24-26 that God was displeased with Moses for the ommission to circumcise his son. Moses did not have to be circumcised AT THAT TIME because he already WAS circumcised. His mother hid him for 3 months while circumcision were carried out on the eigth day. No wonder the Egyptian woman who found him could immediately saw Moses was a Hebrew baby!

3. “Moses apparently prohibited circumcision during the 40 years in the wilderness” - Nonsense. The practice was just not continued during the wilderness trip IN ORDER to differentiate between those that were born and raised in Egypt, and were not allowed to enter Kanaan because of unbelieve, and those born on the way. Another reason was the difficulty during the trip. Moses NEVER prohibited the practice. In fact the Levites continued to circumcise during the trip BECAUSE otherwise they could not perform their duties before God.

4. “The Romans passed several laws to protect the prepuce by prohibiting circumcision” - False info. The Romans did not place a ban for Romans to be circumcised but for JEWS to be circumcised. They prohibited Jews to circumcise because of the increase of patriotism that it lead to with the Jews. Link

5. “Christians rejected circumcision at the Council at Jerusalem.17 (Acts 15)” - Nonsense. At this council meeting it was decided that non-Jewish converts do not need to be circumcised. No prohibition on non-Jews or Jews to perform it. It was just not required anymore. Anyone wanting to do it, was welcome to.

6. “St. Paul, the apostle to the gentiles, taught parents that they should not circumcise their children. (Acts 21:25)” - Nonsense. Let me quote the verse: “As for the Gentile believers, we have written to them our decision that they should abstain from food sacrificed to idols, from blood, from the meat of strangled animals, and from sexual immorality.” Where is the mention of circumcision? In fact, Paul circumcised the young (no baby) Jewish Timothy even AFTER the council meeting of Acts.15. See Acts.16v3.

7. “St. Paul warned Titus to beware of the “circumcision group.” (Titus 1:10-16)” - Paul warned Titus to beware those that wanted to force circumcision on the non-Jewish converts in opposition to what was decided in Acts.15. Nothing here that circumcision is wrong.

It is when one see such misrepresentation and downright lies in an article, that one throw the whole article out as total rubish and nonsense.

...and hence the reason why, when one becomes TOO fanatical and emotional about a subject, they lose their objectivity and tend to throw out any all all information (true or not)....along with insults to those who disagree....

they sadly end up harming their cause.

Its not our culture. Muslims are not the only ones that do circumsition. Secondly, not all muslims are desis, so when you're talking about muslims, you're talking about a wide range of cultures. And circumsition is not something that only Pakistani muslims do.

The breasts have a function. Foreskin does not. What a horrible analogy.

Female infections have nothing to do with the clitoris. Read up about where genital infections do occur in females and for what reason. Many of those reasons were probably not around some centuries ago. (ex. tight jeans).

The labia majora is not prone to infections. It would look uglier if it were cut off, probably. And most guys don’t seem to mind that anatomy. If you do, then make sure to ask the female before you marry her how big her labia majora is. :k:

accha yaar bus karro

Why are some people hell bent on getting it done and some people hell bent on not getting it done. we have been doing it for centuries and i think no harm in doing that and if someone does not want to do it, his sweet wish and will.

Please stop this thread, it is going no where.

The circumcision can cut the rate of HIV infection in men by 50%.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/health/6176209.stm

^^ LOL I was just about to post that.
OH well, i put it out so save someone a click

Circumcision can cut the rate of HIV infection in heterosexual men by 50%, results from two African trials show.

The findings are so striking, the US National Institutes of Health decided it would be unethical to continue and stopped the trials early.

It supports a previous South African study which reported similar results.

Experts said it was a significant breakthrough but could not replace standard methods of preventing infection such as condoms.

The two trials of around 8,000 men took place in Uganda and Kenya were due to finish in July and September 2007 respectively.

But after an interim review of the data by the NIH Data and Safety Monitoring Board decided to halt the trials as it was unethical not to offer circumcision in the men who were acting as controls.

Bleeding less likely

The trial in Kenya found a 53% reduction in new HIV infections in heterosexual men who were circumcised while the Ugandan study reported a drop of 48%.

Results last year from a study in 3,280 heterosexual men in South Africa, which was also stopped early, showed a 60% drop in the incidence of new infections in men who had been circumcised.

There are several reasons why circumcision may protect against HIV infection.

Specific cells in the foreskin may be potential targets for HIV infection and also the skin under the foreskin becomes less sensitive and is less likely to bleed reducing risk of infection following circumcision.

When Aids first began to emerge in Africa, researchers noted that men who were circumcised seemed to be less at risk of infection but it was unclear whether this was due to differences in sexual behaviour.

A modelling study done by international Aids experts earlier this year showed that male circumcision could avert about six million HIV infections and three million deaths in sub-Saharan Africa.

A further trial in Uganda to assess the risk of HIV transmission to female partners is due to report in 2008 but the effect among men who have sex with men has not yet been studied.

khanabad...tsk tsk. Who cares if women get infected by HIV? They gotta have their precious skin. You know, they have the upper hand when it comes to sex.

The whole of it including the vulva is a prime place for all kind of infections. Would you cut the labia or take the whole vulva out just because it may reduce the risk of infections or cervis cancer, say 50%? Have some common sense. Go and learn how HIV starts!

“Breast have function, foreskin have no function”. You do not know the basics then. Total ignorance. Read my post on Function of Foreskin and do some research before answering. For God sake.

“Labia would uglier if they were cut off”. Please, do some research before putting up your post. Ever heard about labiaplasty and why it is done?

In regards to female circumcision..

A woman used to perform circumcision in Medina [M*adîna*]. The Prophet (peace be upon him) said to her: 'Do not cut severely as that is better for a woman and more desirable for a husband.'–Abu Dawud, Book 41, #5251.

I say this hadith is fabricated!!! YES. The logic is, how can Rasool Allah A PBUH can advise such harmful practice - no way. How can he be an advisor of harm. I do not buy it. RA PBUH was All Rahmat to the whole mankind: until hereafter. Simply unimagineable. Medically, ethically, and by all means FGM and MGM is harmful and is wrong.

My sincere advise to is to use "Aqal" , "Fikr" and solid research in all matters except, in case of Quran and the Holy contents present therein. This will help one to shun all the unnecessary complicated baggage that has crept in our religion. Allah help us.

im not sure about this....but i think its not cutting the main part...just the lil bit of skin covering it. Besides...it's not a common practice. I have no idea if its right or wrong to do so from the Islamic perspective but i dont see why anyone would want to do this in the first place.

AE, you see it does not matter if it is a small part or the whole genitalia. In essence, it is the harm in question. Further, repeating the so called narrative that was attributed to RA PBUH just re-enforces the wrong to our already rituals loaded, Islamist.

FGM is quite wide spread but hushed-up (even in our backyard). That is why there is so much roar in the west against it and MGM. If interested, kindly read my first post for detailed analysis of this cruel practice in the name of religion, health, culture, vice and what not.

I think I will look up foreskin implant (as I lost mine years and years ago) so I can feel the so called difference in sensation.
Ab is maslay ko solve karnay kay liye mujhe hi qurbani daini paday gi.

Look for foreskin restoration techniques. :). Same here, but do not have the time and will to indulge into that activity.