Churches of Sub-Continent

British ruled sub-continent for a long time. During this time, they built many churches here.

Anyone knows, which church is the oldest church in sub-continent?

Which are the famous churches in sub-continent?

Re: Churches of Sub-Continent

File:St. John’s Church Jhelum.JPG - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

We can see this … I think when we drive up the GT road …

I know the name of oldest church in Sindh, Saint Patrick church in empress market -Karachi

dont know about sub-Continent! :(

kerala has churches from 52 AD, when christianity arrived via sea from the middle east, and flourished until the europeans came, and were disgusted at the non-latin liturgy, and what looked to them as jewish festivals and customs. they did their best to burn down every book in aramaic/syrian, and impose their euro-christianity. but the syrian orthodox church still goes strong.

One I know its on Mall road in Lahore. Its church & College.

t

wasn't that saint thomas who visited india...

when i was in madras there was one entire region named after him since his visit there

I think there is a big and one of the important churches in Allahbad too

Kolkata and Chennai has most number of churches, we have central baptist church in Chandni chowk too, it is just opposite to Gurudwara SisGanjSahib:)

we need not to remove shoes before entering church hence it is safer for footwears than mazar, mandir or gurudwara, though Gurudwaras have token system:)

lols. There was this joke... A man put his shoes infront of him while offering Namaz. Molvi Sahib came and after announcing his theories of hell burning and all said ' Joote aage rakhne se namaz nahin hoti'. The man replied 'Aur joote peeche rakhne se joote nahin hote' :D

Yes Saint Patrick Church, Karachi is the first church of Sindh built in 1845

St. Philomena’s church, first big church that I went

UP wallas while waiting for train on platform use their shoes as pillow to avoid its theft:)

Mysore got a biggest church. When was it built?

lols at UP walas. :cb:

UP is the only state apart from delhi where I can live for years once again:k:

St Philomena was created in year 1936, its architecture in neo Gothic:), none of delhi’s churches has such a fine western look:)

How about churches in Goa. I think the oldest and biggest churches of the subcontinent might be there.

There are a few churches in Murree, and a few years back we could even see some old white nuns maybe they’d have died by now.

And there’s one near my khala’s house, will that count? :hmmm:

Definitely count.. post some information about them. BTW, which is the biggest church in Lahore? I think Sahiwal and Bahawalpur also got some old churches.

my town, [nahihaal], Allahabad has a very small Christian population but during the British Raj, since Allahabad was a provincial administrative hub and it still is, there is a Girjaa ghar [church] in Allahabad…here is the pic of that church. btw, it’s the biggest ‘round-about’ in Allahabad where no one follows the traffic rules and almost everyone takes the shorter route.

lols about traffic rules. same here in Pakistan on every chowrangi near Masjid or church :cb:

18th century church in Murree

Sacred Heart Cathedral Church Lahore

http://www.archdioceselahore.org/images/Cathedral_church_Lahore_Pakistan1.jpg

The day UP wallas will start following traffic rules I will have to see if sun rose from right direction or not. Two autos won’t be able to cross the road but the third one will come in middle of these two and will make traffic even worse, But Allahabadi ko kaun samjha sakta hai:D