Re: Christian bakers refuse gay wedding cake - face legal action
Anti-discrimination laws make sense in the government sphere because we are all equal citizens and pay taxes to the government, so the govt should not discriminate against us on any basis.
However, they make no sense in the private sphere. If you don’t agree with someones’s behavior just don’t interact with them. Why go to the courts to change their behavior?
If a business refuses to serve you for whatever reason, don’t patronize it. Tell all your friends about it and ask them to stay away. The business owner has the right to make his own choices and live with the consequences. Why impose state coercion on them?
This is what supreme court’s ruling was in the Hobby Lobby case… if it is a closely held corporation, it can be treated as an individual and it will have the same freedoms as an individual… specifically freedom religion
It will be interesting to see what conclusion the courts draw in UK.
Haaye, you’re obsessed with pointing out my posts. Jitni khujli tumhe meray posts se hoti hai, utni hi gudgudi Bella ki assumptions aur what ifs se hoti hai. Andhay support ki bhi had hoti hai and such patterns are what feed the bulk of the memes in this forum and you’ve been a consistent provider thus far. :k:
The one who over-reacts most is the whiner and in this particular news story, it is the gay customer. He wasn’t being forced to give up his lifestyle, he wasn’t being forced to give up his views or to change them, he wasn’t being forced to act in a way that promotes views he doesn’t endorse…yet he’s okay with coercing/imposing upon the baker. He was refunded his money and even directed to a bakery that would fulfill his request.
Had the baker been that hateful or oppressive of the customer, he would not have bothered redirecting as that is a form of help. But despite this, he’s being sued…so whose the bigger baby or whiner? That would be the gay customer and his bayghairat response irrespective of the commercial laws of the country. Rid yourself of the khush-fehmi that you uphold fair and open-minded thinking, free from any bias or discrimination. Truth is that you are also discriminating here and you are supporting the bigger whiner whilst preaching that we shouldn’t whine. One who truly believes in live and let live would let the baker be when there are many other bakeries available to fulfill the request.
Quite frankly, you are the whiner here. Your posts lack compassion, fairness and are quite close minded and are full of what you terms baghairathi and zyadathi.
As for me providing material for MEMES, grow up. Since when did the MEME gods and goddesses dictate what ones stance should be.
I don’t need a certificate from you re whether I support somebody in a Andhay fashion. Since u brought up bella, she has way more wisdom than you. So let’s not go there.
Private businesses have the right to refuse service. End off story.
I refuse business many times based on my beliefs. And most respect my views.
To those hating with hypothetical situations his rights were not taken away through service refusal. Why doesn’t he go to another bakery? If anything he is the trouble causer by going to a religious bakery.
^ This is something RV would never understand. Too close minded wrt religion to see it is immoral to discriminate. Use of zyadathi, baghairathi etc shows her contempt for gays. Sad. And far away from being truly religious and good and humane.
Here, one more post for the MEME gods. Bring it on.
it is discrimination. whether the business is legally required to not discriminate is a separate issue. just like refusing service to a person because of his skin color, or religion can be discriminating, same goes for sexual orientation.