choosing the right colour

okies.. im in confusion and not getting much help from anyone… (ie family)

when deciding what colour u want to wear on the “day” what do u look at? i know the red/maroon thing is really traditional and all.. but i dont think i’ll be wearing those types of colours…

so whats next? i mean what colours would suit a tanned/sanwali complexion? although i know the beauty parlour people will make me look like snow white.. i still wanna stick to something that’ll suit my darker complexion..

i was thinking along the lines of creamish (with gold/bronze work), or a lilac colour, or light light purple or hmm tea pink..

any suggestions?? masle masle

Re: choosing the right colour

something that sets you apart. i'd go with the cream colored.

a multicolored also goes well too - the patched ghararas kind?

yeah.. im thinknig of the cream too.. but i think i may be wearing something similar on the engagement party... yeah i saw a multicoloured one done by Lajwanti.. it was like pink and lilac.. looked gorgeous..

i just want to look different.. not the normal red/maroon bride

i think white looks HAWT against tan skin :blush:

hmm kewl... yeah.. when i imagine the day, i see myself in white/cream too.. maybe i should stick to that hmm

yeah…

wat about the “kam” and jewelry? What color do you want for that? I’ve seen beautiful white outfits with multi color kam or just simple ivory with lil bits of white or gold beading, though the latter seems more fusion than totally traditional. Also, what kind of cut and styles have you decided? lol i love wedding fashion talks :hehe:

ive not decided anything... but ive in mind is like a cream coloured lengha or whatever it is.. with gold and bronze beadwork/embroidery on it... the shirts gonna be like a boat neck style cus i cant wear anything else.. if not that then maybe a neck line that slants to one side..

ive seen mermaid type lenghas are quite "in" these days.. but i dont think it'll suit my figure.. hmm i dont have big hips but still.. id just look retarded... lemme see if i can find a pic of what im talking about

i get wat ur saying. So your goign to go for the traditional full-skirt right?

Oh btw this is for the acutal wedding right?

At least you have somethign in mind. My brother’s fiance has NO CLUE wat she wants so he asked me to send as many pix of wedding outfits as I could so she could make a decision… They gave no specifictions whatsoever, not even color/style/cut/heaviness of kam :clown:

no please dont let them make an attempt to mke u look like snow white.. with ur complexion u’ll end up all grey..

u’ll look gorgeous & sexy if ur makeup is well toned against ur own complexion.

yeah mohs right...bring ur own foundation and be like...this is the color i want!!! (sometimes they just don't get it..but use their makeup..cuz its like stage makeup) don't settle for anything white..ull look all pasty..u might look white in the pics..but upclose..it won't look good..you wanna look urself..especially on ur wedding day..its urrrr day!! and go the other way..im kinda tan too..i think..lol..and i put some bronzer on after my foundation..and it just makes me look all dewy..and i glow. most desi people i know..avoid bronzer..but i feel it looks really good on us too..it just brings out our tan complexions..like they get enhanced. whether u use that or not..don't let them plaster ur face with white...u know thats just gonna look wrong..lol.

Sadzz, meray moun ki baat cheen li aapnay :blush:
But unlike you, I want to go with the traditional look on the nikah. I want red/maroon combined with a different color perhaps to make it look different InshaAllah. But I still cant decide.
Anyhow, coming back to your question, are you going to buy your wedding dress from OZ or Pak? If Pak, i would say browse different bazars and shops. If i were you, i wouldnt go with a specific color in mind and just look at what the shops have to offer. I am sure you will find a huge variety of designs and colors!!! rahi off white ki baat: my mangni lehanga was offwhite and i thought i looked ok in it. I have darker skin of a differnet shade than yours: mine is more olive toned. Plus I think offwhite is really common now, just like red/maroon is. I personally like a goldenish color like Aishwarya is wearing in Aur Piyar hogaya.
The pink/lilac sound awesome though. My friend’s wife had her nikah lehanga in a lilac with silver kaam and some deep purple (but in very few places). I loved her lehanga!!!

i want u to wear red :(
i love red wedding lengay..no one seems to wear them anymore.

mauve, cream/bronze combination.

I think cream would be good..but blackish maroon would look really good on u too!

they wore red for 50 years hun, it’s time for a change :blush:
1 thing i dont like bout pak fashion industry is everythign is so cookie cutter. it’s very rare to find anything different ya kno? i saw the same colors over and ovre when i was there. I want a red sari. I’m gonna get one for bro’s wedding inshallah. i was gonna get it but everyone talked me out of wearing one coz i’d look like a buddhi mai :bummer:

^ old is gold.
ne one in the Uk wears red anymore, its all maroon and bright purple or green or blue.

i think red is a classic wedding colour, especially blood red, i love blood red.

aaah ummz i have no shauk of looking like snowwhite.. im hoping i can retain my natural colour.. and yeah i am thinking of taking my own makeup.. but SIL says that the person she recommended is really good.. and wont make me look like a clown or anything.. so lets just keep the fingers crossed..

awww MM, see over here EVERYONE wears red/maroon.. like EVERY girl whose gotten married wore red.. so i wanna be different.. sowwies babe.. i’ll do everythign else traditional, just the outfit is prob gonna be different..

IRA, we cant get anything here in OZ.. well not in melbourne neways, so the plan is to to go back and get the outfits done there… plus even if u can find something here.. its at least double the price.. so aint any point in shopping here… get this.. i dont even get a choice in what im wearing!! cus im gonna be like the last person to get to pak.. my mum, sis and relos have the privledge of getting watever they want for me.. how sucky is that? but i get choice of colour… to some extent :halo:

Razea, bronzer rules!! i soo know what u mean… it makes the face glow sooo much.. love it

saddzz can u get like a makeup done from her before ? like to show u how she does it?

^ i dunno Tikhi.. apparently they dont do that in pakistan... u actually have to pay for the trial and stuff.. someone told me its like paying pretty much for the actual day.. so dunno if i can be bothered..

maybe i can do my own make up... hmmm

ive alway wanted to wear baby pink but if everyones gnna be wearin baby pink when itsmy turn, ill wear red accha? and ill show u the pix :smiley:
and anyway reds kewl…u dont c american brides going “why does no 1 wear white anymore???” (at least idon’t…