Children calling parents by their first names

I found this short critique by a lesbian mother quite interesting. The unstated other reason for the following view was that she was not the biological mother and since the label “mother” in all cultures is such an exclusive term, she was constantly having to explain to others just “who the hell she was”. Having their children call them by their first name was an attempt toward an egalitarian relationsip where the biological mother would not be priveleged.

“I’ve always been quite keen that Peter should know what our names are anyway. I think there’s something completely depersonalizing about the way women sit around and talk about a child’s mummy as if she’s got no identity. It’s fine if there’s a baby in the room and it’s your child, but everyone will say, “Ask Mummy, tell Mummy.” But you become this amorphous mummy to everybody. All women are sort of mummy, they don’t have their own identity. So I’ve been quite keen that he should grow up knowing that people have roles and names, and that you should be able to distinguish between the two.”

I had never thought about it in that way but I think I agree with the reasoning. I would not mind being called Sarah instead of mother or some such variant. My reason is that I do not want my child to develop a view where (s)he sees me as only a mother, as a role that revolves around the child’s needs, especially since typically women take time off from work to have children. It is very obvious to all children that a father is not just that, but a worker, a contributor.

It would be so weird though, disrespectful almost because I don’t know anyone who calls their parents by their first names. Are first names really less respectful than mother / father? I don’t think so, I think it is just cultural. There is nothing inherently respectful in ammi / abu etc.

Re: Children calling parents by their first names

i love sarah, sarah loves me la la l a dum dee dee dee.

sarah I had a dream last night that I was anorexic. FEED ME SEYMORE.

My kids call me and Faisal by our first names

After listening to several reports on NPR about children/teenagers, a recurring theme is emerging: children/teenagers appreciate parents who act like their parents and not BEST FRIENDS. They want their parents to get in their face about their friends, unhealthy lifestyles choices like drugs, promiscuity, and time management (yes folks, time management i.e. help with manaing their schedules for studies, home work and extra-curriculars).

Be a parent, don't be their buddy or pal.

Okay what right does this woman in the article have to say that the biological mother doesnt deserve the privelege of being called mommy? Why is being a mother considered such a bad thing? First we have women looking down at their peers because some women choose to stay home and raise their kids, and now this? You carry a child in your body, go through the pain of delivery, and this dyke thinks a woman shouldn’t be called mother? It seems to me that she might be jealous because she doesn’t have that high status of a mother.

I do believe a woman ought to have a life outside the family if she wishes to without being considered selfish or strange or less than a woman, but this is just ridiculous.

So what if thre is nothing “inherently respectful” about calling your mother ammi? Where is the harm in it? Women have been granted one of the most honourable roles in life, that of a mother. One of the things that I don’t like about western feminist thought is that it has set man as the standard, and women feel they must live upto it. Motherhood is the one thing that is reserved just for women and to make it less than what it is is just ridiculous. One of the most important lessons in Islam has been that heaven is under the feet of the mother. No good, really. :nook:

this is my point of view... Im not a parent and dont really know much about children except that they should be seen and not heard

Actually I occasionally work with them

Anyway... this is how I see it, children are barbarians..YOU as the parent need to instill a set of manners etc... the best way for this is not the middle class namby pamby "let the world revolve around the child"

Ive met these kids, they call their mother "Sarah" or Olivia or Jane and feel that they rights and things like that

Thse kids are foul... they ought to be sent to bootcamp

Its interesting to see that these children In the UK (especially the girls) are the ones that rebel when they are thirteen and forteen.. they start smoking, take drugs are violent etc the parents dont have a clue what to do with them...

So they REASON with them..which gets them nowhere

heres my little anecdotal evidence to back up what I have to say

Mr friends neighbour, a Dentist and her husband the Optition had little girl..shes been "growed up" in the manner prescribed above, sent to expensive schools etc

shes thirteen now and a total tearaway... Police tend to take her home every few days after theyve found her brawling, or doing things she shouldnt be

she hits her parents and then spends hours sulking

Im not saying that your kids will turn into psychos for calling you by your name, but as LI said...there needs to be a distinction between who the adult and authoritarian is and who the child is... and a name is one of the ways our society does it

Anyway, apparantly "mother" is the most beautiful word in the world

Funny but true isnt it ?

The interesting thing is, kids call their father ‘father’ or ‘dad’ or something, and not by their first names. However that does not diminish the status of the father in the childs or communities eyes in any way. Many communities call the father with the name ‘father of so and so’ and that becomes the father’s identity for the rest of his life.

I call my mother Amma, a word generally used in pakistan to describe a Dai Mother, or an older female servant in ones house (atleast so far as i have seen in other households..most people call their mothers ammi). But that does NOT in any way make me think of her as my servant or anything. My mother is a woman of many roles, and im proud to say that she has had more influence in making me the man I am today than my father. Fathers offcourse play a different role in life, but I definetly look up to my mother more. She’s intelligent, smart, sensitive, funny, religious, thought provoking, understanding..everything. The only thing she does not do is provide for us financially, aside from that she’s done everything my father’s ever done for us, and so much more.

This lesbian, instead of taking her OWN IDENTITY is hell bent on aquiring that of a man. And then she has the nerve to speak of identity…

Oh I love the assumptions, and I rather love the biases against lesbian mothers that are backed up by popular and decidedly misguided conceptions rather than any direct contact or even empirical research. Doing a project on them, I have found that they are committed to equality, spend years deliberating things like childcare and division of labor (in one case, for four years before deciding to have children), and the most surprising finding that should shut up homophobic gobs up: they are more committed to their children and their parenting roles than are heterosexual mothers. They are also more educated than most heterosexual men and women will ever be, most of the times they are members of the upper strata, and come from very strong kinship networks. I think it is a great environment to have kids grow up in - great commitment to work but also an extraordinary commitment to mothering. And most of all, a desire for equal sharing of household tasks and a willingness and ability to see look for solutions outside the box.

Everyone is so fracking influenced by ideology that fails to let them see any alternatives, it's dumbfounding. We should all take several pages from the books of lesbian parents, hell let's burn up our books and replace them with theirs.

Aren’t Sara and Maniac married :konfused:

I love seeing the faces of mothers when their child speaks his/her first word “Mama” :slight_smile: It is the most adorable thing to witness. I wouldn’t want my child first word that he/she utters to be my first name.
The kids that my mother has babysat all call her “ammi” even though she is not their biological mother.

Hmmmmnnn,

not convinced!

LD and LI, I am not aware of any conclusive correlation between calling one's parents by their first names and permissive styles of parenting. The nature of parenting is not couched in language. If only things were so black and white and predictable. Anecdotal evidence does not cut it.

Rukhsar, I don't butt into your life, kindly keep out of mine. This is not the first time I have asked you to keep the personal out.

Rukhsar, yes we're married :) What does that have to do with anything ? Do you and your husband (if you have one) see eye to eye on every single issue ?

Sarah, no one here is saying weather a lesbian is educated or a good mother or not.

The simple point being brought up is that modern feminist women do seem to see the Male as a role model and try to become as masculine as possible.

Second point is that the word 'mother' is by no means derogatory, demeaning, identity stealing, or anything negative. It does not bind the woman to one particular role in life and neither does it negate her in any fashion.

Im sure that lesbian woman is perfectly educated and a very good mother and what not. As far as studies go into such thing, the whole phenomenon of gay couples parenting kids is a relatively new one, and though im sure such house holds existed in the past they were a rarity, so i really doubt there's that much research material on them being the best of parents and what not. Research afterall requires the subject matter to be accessable enough to be studied, and the lack of it doesnt really bode well for research.

No Maniac, let me correct you; feminist women do not see the male as the role model - a particular subset of feminists, liberal feminists to be exact, see the male as the role model.

I never said there is anything derogatory about parental phraseology per se, I apply the same argument provided by the lesbian quoted in my first post to men as well. Her focus on "mother" was due to her biological sex as woman.

I agree with you that there is a lack of research but there is no lack of lesbian mothers - "gayby boom" in the 90s. They are not accessible due to biases.

There are some things about south asian culture which are so endearing, one of them being that we call an older brother bhaiya/bhai, we call our brothers wife bhabhi, we call an older sister di and so forth. I think not calling your mother mother/ma/ammi or even mom may take something away from the relationship you share with them. Whether that's a good or a bad thing is subjective.

But wasn't this the point of your original post?

nope just wondering because sometimes you two share logins.

Ouch! I know you are depressed these days for some reason but you don't have to hit everyone w/ the same hammer.

I agree with you here Nikki! I love how we have different names for khalas/mamoos etc. I am not fond of calling everyone uncle and auntie. It makes life a bit more flavorful :)

My cousin's kids call her and her husband by their first names.

Okay. The intent was not to conduct a survey.