Chicago - The worlds best city!

I must say, of all the cities Ive seen, Chicago is probably the best one!!! Its got everything, from the worlds tallest building (Sears) to The Drake!!! The architecture of the city represents the finest pinnacle of modern engineering and architect. I go there occasionally, and its got the best skyline now that Manhatten no longer has the WT towers. Its called the windy city, and if you go there, you’l find out why they say that. Its got a beautiful lake next to it, and oh yeah, its also got a big desi community there, with the best damn junoon concerts!!! The Devon street (called Deewan now) is so desi dominated, that they named a ‘Mohammad Ali Jinnah way’ and a ‘Gandhi margue’ there. Ive even heard there is a mujibur-ur-rehman way there??? If you goto the US, please do visit this particular city, and dont forget to goto the Pakistani restaurant ‘Sabri Nihari’!!! Also, dont forget the navy pier, lake shore drv, and michigan avenue and much more! During the Sears tower tour, I was also told that the entire city was burnt long ago, and was rebuilt.

P.S. another reason why Chicago is so good, thats because my good friend Mr. Fraudia the great lives there LOL!!!

Chicago, my kinda town.

Frank Sinatra's love for this absolutely rivetting city was beautifully relayed in this song. Nestled on the western coast of Lake Michigan, this city is/was home to many great names such as Jimmy Hoffa, Frank Sinatra, Michael Jordan, Mike Ditka, Hillary Rodham Clinton, Cindy Crawford, Harrison Ford, funguy and the list goes on.

The Polish, Greek and German influence is quite apparent as you stroll down the wings of Michigan Ave. Chicago is home to global giants such as Wrigley Chewing Gum Company, Motorola, and Quaker Oats (now owned by Pepsico).

As Spock mentioned, a visit to Chicago is incomplete without a stroll down Devon Ave, just a 10 minute hop from downtown. It's more than mile stretch of Pakistani/Indian/Bangladeshi shops on both sides of the street. You can eat anything from a halwa poori naashta to late night 3 AM dinner at Dehli Darbar Restaurant. At least 5 of the 100's of restaurants are open 24 hours. You will find street corner benches where young and old sit looking at people passing by while chewing on a paan or sipping some doodh patti chai.

Chicago really is everyone's kinda town.

What is the closest subway station for Devon Ave?

Also, which line is the one that takes the L-curve?

Thanks for the info.

Are you on crack..comparing NYC's skyline to chicagos? Bhai mere..SF has a similar skyline to chicago in terms of volume. There is nothying more majestic than NYC when it cocmes to skylines..maybe HK.

"Best" does not necessarily mean "volumnous". "Best" from an aesthetic point of view, represents the beauty of the buildings etc, and is a highly judgmental quality based on a person's own taste. So, there is no point in saying mine is best, and yours is not. To each his own.

Chicago is a nice place. Lively downtown, interesting cuisine and many touristy spots. There is no point in comparing it to some other city. It can stand on its own. :)

*Originally posted by Matsui: *
Are you on crack..comparing NYC's skyline to chicagos? Bhai mere..SF has a similar skyline to chicago in terms of volume. There is nothying more majestic than NYC when it cocmes to skylines..maybe HK.

Matsui, have you been to chicago? I have been to both cities, and Chicago outclasses NYC in all aspects. As for the skyline, if you had your twin towers, then I would have vouched for nyc, but nah, you dont have that anymore, without em, its pretty ordinary...

Chicago looks best at night!!!

[thumb=C]chicagonight.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=C]chicago.JPG[/thumb]

It does look like a charming city. :)

Closest subway (CTA) station to Devon is Loyola Lakeshore campus

What you mean by L-curve?. Do u mean the loop? Purple, Blue and Orange lines circle around the loop. You may take any of them.

Also, you may take the Blue Line inside of Chicago's OHare airport. It's 20 minute hop to the loop. Will cost you $1.50. A cab ride will run you $25.

Also, you may take Western Ave Bus from the Union station to visit Devon.

*Originally posted by World Citizen: *
What is the closest subway station for Devon Ave?

Also, which line is the one that takes the L-curve?

Thanks for the info.

I agree with Faisal that there is no sense in comparing two big cities such as Chicago and New York's Manhattan island. Each has it's own uniqueness to it.

The thing I like about Chicago is it's detailed architecture. The two buildings - The Tribune and The Wrigleys are a piece of art. Then you have the Water Tower, The John Hancock, The Sear Tower, The Soldier Field, The Wrigley Field, and The Buckingham Fountain.

For those of you who are unaware of these buildings, you may have seen The Buckingham Fountain in the opening title song of "Married With Children" and The Trib Building was showcased in "Silver Spoons" (I am not sure if that's the name of the show where one of the cousins is from the country side).

Buckingham Fountain in Grant Park at night

[thumb=C]Chicago_BuckinghamFountain_City_BlueGold2_LS_Hnail.JPG[/thumb]

Wrigley Company Building and The Tribune Bldg
[thumb=C]Chicago_Wrigley_BlueLight_wRiver_LS_2002_Hnail.JPG[/thumb]

looks like lovely place :-)

We recently discovered some relatives near Chicago. I have heard a lot about Deewaan street too. Chicago, here I come :D

Nahey chicago kooee best nahey hay nahey nahey or nahey Mian nahey manta. Mijhay America ka kooee city bhey acha nahey lagta..Fire

nothing compares to chicago, a truly cosmopolitan city...since i was born there i should know.

Re: Chicago - The worlds best city!

i couldnt agree more with spock and funguy.
i lived in nj for half my life, and ny was the 'hangout' for a long time, but i've lived in chicago only for 2 years and have to say...its a great great city.
spock..."sabri nihari"....my fav restaurant on Devon (and not deewan) street, its pretty much the only restaurant i eat at, if i go to Devon st...food there is superb!
and yes u are right, the entire city did burn down a long time ago, the only thing standing was 'the water tower' on michigan ave, and thats why its such a hot spot still to talk about.
btw, thanks for sharing pics of chicago, i havent bought a nice camera to take pics yet...but b4 i leave, i will take pics of chicago.
beautiful city...so much to do here!

*Originally posted by Spock: *
[thumb=C]chicago.JPG[/thumb]

out of curosity...spock, how was this pic taken? from helicopter or plane? well, thats what it looks like to me.

*Originally posted by zidee: *

out of curosity...spock, how was this pic taken? from helicopter or plane? well, thats what it looks like to me.

Hi,

well, this picture isnt taken by me, the ones that I have are too big, so I would have to resize them first. I got this from a chicago tourism site.

chicago truly rocks, I think it is truly one of those cities that have their own distinct personality..other ones being LA, NYC, SF, LV etc..there are plenty of McCities in US ranging detroit and st louis to Pittsburgh, Cleveland, Kansas City and Hartford..by McCity I mean that they are all 90% alike and dont have a real distinct personality.

I moved to chicago in 99 and love the place. did not think i would like it after beinbg on the east coast for a while but love the place.

Spock, thank you for adding me in one of chicago's attractions :)