'chhila'/post pregnancy 40 days

My SIL had a baby girl 3 weeks back and sheis staying with my MIL since then. I went to see her over the weekend and was surprised to see what my MIL and the ‘aunties’ around were making my SIL follow :konfused: I had never heard or done such stuff at all and it seemed all ‘jaahil’ to me.

• not wearing new clothes for 40 days .. neither mom nor the baby

• not wearing gold

-not watching tv or working on laptop/ mobile screen as eyes are still weak

-not uncovering her head to avoid headaches for life

-not to get off the bed on one leg. it is so funny to see her getting off the bed :smiley:

-not eating anything with preseravtives

-eating in small bites/smallest sips so that baby doesnt have colic problems

-not letting any lady (or herself) with wet hai inthe baby’s room

-eating all the maroondaas, panjeeris, organic eggs, desi ghee she can

-not driving the car

these are all i can recall right now…

has anyone heard of similar practices?

what are the do’s and dont’s during this time?

Re: 'chhila'/post pregnancy 40 days

That sounds like some crazy stuff.

I can understand not driving the car initially, but not for 40 days. And maybe the no preservatives. But that's about it!

Superstitious bullcrap which manages to creep into many families!

I wonder where the inspiration comes from for such asinine ideas?

This basically regarded as Islamic practice in UK.

Wife friend went out 4-5 days after birth, and the entire female Pakistani community has blacklisted her
Old biddies love to gossip.

Proto, you didn't mention putting a knife under her pillow so her and the baby don't get scared (of god knows what). :D

Re: ‘chhila’/post pregnancy 40 days

Here’s another one i remember: not doing any parties/get togethers at home when there’s someone in chhila around :smack:

All crap i know but it was sad to see my poor SIL all in rage with her mobile seized and doing anything my MIL,her chachees,khalaas,servant,etc told her to avoid. I was all thankful to Allah that i was here in Lahore for my son’s birth and didnt have to go through all of this.

Lol..you kidding me right?

Nope. :smiley:

I was told to put a knife under baby’s pillow (takay wo neend mai darr na jaye) by a female relative and while she was saying that another one agreed that it was something that should be done and she herself did as well after her baby was born.

Another one was not to stay by myself in the room, if I remember correctly it was to prevent any possible aasaib. :eek:

I have heard of this, one girl (very distant family) was told not to bath as that would cause harm to her raw sensitive organs, she really stunk :bummer:

May be in your part of the country… certainly not where I am.

What is aasaib?

How sad (not to mention unhygienic).

What nonsense, I did all those things and nothing happened to me.

Chila is not a disease or sickness where you are on bedrest complete, of course u have to take it easy on yourself and ur body to heal the inner wounds, but its not like u have to cut urself from the outer world.

I dont believe in these old fashion meyth, maybe at those old days females were working a lot like outside in the fields and they needed all that ghee stuff and all the bed rest as later it would be work and work, but today with our life and standard, its not necessary to keep with these old pratices, it is said the first 10 days are where no work should be done (i was cleaning and cooking by day 5 :D) later u can gradually carry on going outside and doing light chores, if you had a normal pregnancy. Nothing to block urself from any finger lifting for 40 days, unless of course its ur choice.

lolz

oh god i cannot think that some girl didnt take bath for more then a month..
very disgusting…:bummer:

even girls who had csection take bath …after 3 or 4 days of their operation..

bath is vey healthy and refresing…

ask yr gyny and if she allows hen please take bath with warm water…
i think medically no harm in taking bath aduring 40 days after baby..
thats all jahelo wali batain :frowning:

covering your head for 40 days...:( oh god i think cover rakhne se ziada sir main dard hoga ...40 days cover rakhne k bad tu kabhi jaye ga hi nahi...

apanjeeries,eggs i think r fine..will give mom to energy

hmmm, i dont know, i rather think I could deal with these things if I had 40 days to lie about and get waited on a bit after having a baby lol!!

I was up and about within a few hours of giving birth and back to housework and taking care of baby the day after!!

All I heard was that they make the women eat lots of fatty stuff like nuts and pinjiri to give her strength.

It doesn't go so well for the woman who is trying to lose post pregnancy weight.

The significance of the 40 day is also in the Chinese Culture. They also say that a woman should stay at home and have a party after 40 days.

i have my husband telling me all these things :rolleyes: yeah right like i was gona listen

i wont mind doing these if my husband takes the responsibility to do my work otherwise :D

Jinn ka saya.

oh yeah we had to do tht knife thingey too n not being left alone fr even a second gawwwd it was torture :hayaa: