CHEF RAHAT

Alright Guppies,

I felt the overpowering urge to start a thread on CHEF RAHAT. For those of you that are familiar with her show, what do you think of her? I think that Chef Rahat is knowledgeable, has a lively personality, and presents a wide range of recipes not only limited to Desi cuisine. She also is cordial and polite to her callers and provides numerous health related tips for her viewers.

HOWEVER…in my opinion, there are some things that she can work on to improve her show.

1. She needs to stop with constantly referring to herself in the 3rd person. She keeps saying things like “Aur yeh pyaari recipe aap ne seekhi hai Rahat k kitchen main.” Listen, lady, WE KNOW THAT YOUR NAME IS RAHAT, WE ARE NOT THAT STUPID. YOU DO NOT NEED TO CONSTANTLY REMIND US OF YOUR NAME. PLUS, FREQUENTLY REFERRING TO YOURSELF IN THE 3rd PERSON EXUDES AN ARROGANT AND UNPROFESSIONAL VIBE.

2. She frequently uses the word “pyari”. Examples: “pyari recipe”, “pyari cheez”, “pyari tip”. Surely she can come up with other words as substitutes such as “mazedaar” “lazeez” “faiday-mand”, etc, etc.

3. She needs to quit it with what she thinks are “cute” names for commercial breaks. Just call it a “break,” it’s that simple. Referring to the break as “gullu break”, “babloo break” and other variations become a bit too much at times.

4. The sudden and frequent changes in the pitch of her voice can be startling and scary. It’s like she will talk to the audience in a normal manner…and then out of nowhere she’s screaming childishly. It’s off-putting…for me anyways.

She has managed to make the cooking show her own by infusing a sense of lightheartedness…but some things can definitely be worked upon. If you are just as bored as me…join in and post your love/irritation for the show!

Re: CHEF RAHAT

Woah..i m right there with you. That's exactly how I feel too.

to add to the list......

Self-Praises..she keeps talking about herself and how great she is, and no one will share the things with the audience i.e.."itne faide ki batein apko or koi nahi bataye ga sirf Rahat ke ilawa"

I hate it when she keeps washing her hands in a bowl and then wiping them with some tissue..
she's so clumsy, and disorganized. She doesn't know where everything is in her kitchen. Half the time she would skip some ingredient just because she can't find it.

But, i still like watching her show! :)

THANK YOU, Farishta2. You're right......she's not always a humble person is she?

lol. i dont know about rahat.

but i have some chef mheboobs show...i think he is good and contemporary.

i liked Farah Khans show much better, her recipes turned out waaaay better than Rahat's. Anybody know why farah left the show?

omg........ i love u for saying all that!!....i just hate her!! when sometimes i dont have anything to be mad at.... i watch her show!!!
other day she was like......... "boht saye logoon naye mujhye poucha about facial hair.... and how it can be helped..... like this girl is asking about her mother's facial hair.... so whats the tip?" she was like..... "the only solution to it is (boht pyaari aur achi tip) when a baby girl is born.... u can solve this problem.... after this u can't" :|
WOMAN!! she is talking asking about her mother!! be resonable!!!

uss saye pehle someone asked something about another suggestion.... and she was like... main aap ko abhi batati hoon... after the call ended..... she was like....... the best solution to ur problem is to go and talk to ur family doctor!!! argh!!!

when u dont know anything then why being apnaye moon mian metho!??!?!?

we dont want to know what ur daughters do..... or what ur husband cooks...... or if ur veggies were chopped by ur daughter........ who is an adult!!
i was so mad the other day....... her daughter chopped her veggies...... and she was prasing those normally cut onions and tomatos jesaye she is a five year old!!! for god sakes..... she is old enough keh she does her own show!!!

pata nahian why geo still have her.... Farah Khan was much much better!!!

rahat was saying keh....... jo itnaye pyaari recceipes hain.... woh aap ko khai saye nahain mile gi... u can only get them from CHEF RAHAT's kitchen!!! argh!!! she keeps repeating that all her reciepes are her own.... and not from internet!!!....... my answer to her is keh... if they are original.... and u are true in what u are saying.... then why do u have to say it??? when ppl ask her to repeat an old recipe she doesn't remember them!!! and on other hand if u see Rida Aftab......... she knows all her stuff by heart............ ppl keep asking her such old recipes and she say it out with the correcct measurements!!!

what kinds of a chef is rahat... and she doesn't know her stuff!!

i hate it when she squeez lemon on her hand........... and then claim that ppl compliment her that she is so neat and tidy and so professional!!!

after seeing her.... i can easily stop going out for food.... if thats professionalism!!!! ewwww

Rahat's daughter, Maida, is no better!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! She's just like her mom, OMG, and it's scary!!!!!!!!

One day, I was bored and turning on the tv, I saw this teenage girl dressed in a shalwar kameez with a dupatta wrapped around her head (similar to Rahat). Then the girl, in a very chirpy voice, starts OPENING THE SHOW THE SAME WAY RAHAT DOES USING THE EXACT SAME WORDS RAHAT USES. Soooo, I start LAUGHING, cuz I'm thinking this show is most likely a comedy, and that the girl is an actress doing a mock/parody/imitation of Rahat. And I was thinking to myself, "Man, this girl is hilarious, she really knows how to imitate Rahat so well!" And then.........to my HORROR...........I discovered..........that this was no comedy/parody/imitations...................this was RAHAT'S DAUGHTER!!! AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!

And, it turned out that Maida was doing an Eid segment on her mom's show. I've never seen Maida's own show...........but God..........I hope she's more humble than her mom.

As far as that chef, Farah, is concerned..........I think she's better in some ways, but Rahat is more entertaining because she's ridiculous. The thing I didn't like about Farah was her voice and she seemed a bit smug/snooty at times. But definitely more normal than her counterpart, Rahat!!!!!!

I love Rahat's show.. she's a lively person who has a different personality than other chefs and there's nothing wrong with that. Noone is perfect and everyone have bad qualities but that's what makes us all different. She's funny in the way she does things.

she is annoying as hell....

^agreed.

subbo and redvelvet..you guys are hilarious...

what channel aires Maida's show? I have seen her on Rahat's show a couple times, and yes, she's a duplicate of her mother.

PS. I found Farah's show way more annoying than Rahat's. Farah has this wierd voice that just makes me mad for no reason. I named her "Laado Rani" :D

Lol at redvalvet’s comments, you are so right :hehe:

Maida is as annoying as her mother, I saw only one show of her and I think it was Rahat’s Birthday or something and I swear she is ditto copy of her mum :smack:

Farishta,

It's funny that you mention the words, "laado rani," because my sis and I think those words are hilarious.....and soooooo girly.......and soooooo gay!!!!! We laugh when hear "laado rani" in dramas and movies......in fact, we sometimes use the same words to make fun/annoy/and tease each other.

Aminas,

If I remember correctly, you're right. Maida was not on Rahat's show for an Eid segment.......I believe it was Rahat's special day. And I remember Maida saying that "Meri ammi ki itni khawaish thi k un ki beti ho. Aur jab main paida hui, to meri ammi mujh ko apnay se door nahin rakhti thi. Har waqt mujhay apnay paas rakhti thin."

Aaaaw.....it was sweet. And I mean that sincerely. Although I'm currently single, I dream of having a daughter myself one day. And I think it's cool that Rahat and Maida share such a close bond. It seems that Maida really looks up to her mom........to the point of emulation.

While all of this is so endearing and lovely........I also think that perhaps Maida's personality might have turned out just a little bit more different....if Mama Rahat had placed some distance.

Rahat's REALLY critisizes other people by saying she's the ONLY chef and the others are mere housewives.. Farah's recipes always turn-out great while Rahat's aren't all that :S

I can't stand how she always says this recipe is by "chef rahat"! She really snapped at a caller that said her baking cakes in tin pans wasn't healthy! "America mein rehne se aur angraizi bolnay se koi educated nahin hota" Rahat se baat karnay ke liye aapko bohot knowledge ki zaroorat hai samjhi Miss Nazia!

Maybe this is why she wanted a daughter, so she could clone her in her likeness and live on though her daughter! Self-centeredness, I tell you!

^ :rotfl: at Gina’s comment.

oh one more funny things about her..when she’s chopping onions or whatever, she keeps saying ke aap log sochte hon ge ke rahat ke hath itni taizi se kaise chalte hein…bhai rahat to ye kaam saalon se ker rahi hei issi liay itni taizi se saray kaam kerti hei..

Chef Rahat's husband, eats outside, regularly.

ROTFL:omg: :omg: :omg:

I dont know much about Chef Rahat myself but my mom and sis watch her shows with so much involvement. They praise her a lot! And very often i've to miss my program due to that damn show coming...

bari 'pyaree' thread start ke hai aap ne...:D

she might be a great cook,but she sure is annoying...!!