Cheap DarZi !!!!

OMG - 250-500 rps is cheap!

We went to Pakistan 4 years ago and I got suits tailored for 150rps in Gulshan-e-Iqbal - but the tailor was unreliable. If he did a good job - it was great otherwise he messed up.

I was in Pakistan last year and the Kehkeshan Market tailor charged 800 rps (and even then after haggling - you wouldn't believe how we nickeled and dimed over piping kai saat, kai baghair, zipper, lining everything! - and I was grateful to get it for that price.

Wherever you go in Pakistan, ab sab kehtain hai kai mehngai hogai hai - prices have gone up massively - and truth be told I feel guilty as a consumer paying 150-250 rps - I think most people in the West can afford to pay more than 4-5 dollars per suit for tailoring - think about the charges here - anywhere from $25-40 for tailoring.

my relatives have gotten my clothes stitched from tailors close to "Victoria Fabrics" on Link Rd. i don't know which ones exactly but they did a pretty decent job and are reasonable. anyway, there are a few shops there...you'll need to go and see for yourself.

M Block market also has some tailors with good pricing.

Re: Cheap DarZi !!!!

my tailor charges 1100rs forsuit with lining, pipings,trouser and dupatta piping

Well nice of you, if u want to pay more than the usual rates in Pakistan, in the end the locals will have to deal with the high prices just coz us ppl abroad grow our money on trees and can easily give above Rs1000 for a normal suit. .

That's not quite what I meant. First of all, people abroad work really hard for what they have, hamey apney mehnat ki kamaee milti hai.

My point is that in an era of inflation when the prices for all goods and services are going up - imagine the darzi whose clients tell him "lekin hum to sirf 150 rps daingay kyun kai hum nay hamesha 150 rps diya hai.”

If you think about in equitable terms - how many suits does a darzi sew in a day - 3, 5, 10 - however many. If you have the master tailor and his juniors - the master tailor is getting at the low end - 250 per suit and at the high end of the cheap scale 500 rupees. The master tailor is paying for his storefront, electric and supplies and however many other costs associated with operating his business - which occasionally include mehmandari of their clients.

So the 500 rps becomes considerably less after you take out the expenses, and in turn the junior tailor gets just a fraction of master tailor’s charges.

Like everyone else, the master and the junior darzis are also dealing with skyrocketing inflation - the cost of living - beginning with basic necessities like food, housing, school fees have gone way up - so what are they to do? Say:

"Nahin baji, hamarey akhrajaat bargai hain mehngai kai zamaney main, lekin hum aap sai utna leyngai jitna pehley liya kartain they kyun kai ziada liya to inflationary cycle main mazeed izaafa hoga."

They charge more and clients pay more.

There's one point I didn't explain in my earlier post - Kehkeshan Market tailors are more expensive than Gulshan ki gali waley tailors – which was one of the reasons I paid more for tailoring during my recent trip. But even if I had gone back to Gulshan, I would have expected to pay at 350-500 because of the reasons listed above.

And one last comment – the darzi had initially quoted 1500 rps for a suit because he knew I was from abroad - I knew to pay less because he had been recommended by my aunt who lives in Karachi and she told me what the going rates were. Instead of 1500 rps, I paid him 900 rupees for a lined kameez with zipper with trouser or shalwar and dori piping on the kameez and dupatta – the zipper and piping ka kapra was provided by the tailor - which if you look at prototype's email is comparable to what she pays her good tailor for similar work and the fit was amazing.

Which is why I was saying - 250- 500 rps is not so terrible in this day in age if you compare prices.

I could elaborate and mention social responsibility and obtaining goods produced in sweat shops also being a factor in paying fair prices for goods - but I think I'll leave that for another post...

Really r there tailors sitting in the zanaib tower?
What do they charge?
Can I also fund crinkle or chiffon type clothes of reasonable prices( between 1000-1200)clothes also?
Please guide me need urgent help?
I m totally lost!

you can go to raja sahib and 2-3 big fabric shops adjacent to it for purchasing fabric of all kinds

I don´t know about tailors in zainab tower.... but you can buy fabric there... Crinkle chiffon suit for 1000-12000 rupees??? Itnay ka to dupatta bhi nehi aata... If you really like good chiffon clothes AND you are willing to pay a handsome amount for it... go to city towers.

If you have less time and you cant go all these places.. stick to link road, or go to Saleem Fabrics ( sometimes overpriced).

kyun nai ata?450rs ka undyed dupatta aam milta hai.pure chinese crinkle chiffon

Hanjee undyed... par yeh mera matlab nehi tha... me to three piece suit ki baat kar rehi thi, not undyed kapra.

hmm... city towers, there was this shop in the basement that we bought a lot of stuff in, mainly chiffon jamawar. i bought a 3-piece one for my MIL in turquoise which was about 6,000RS.. it had blue and gold in the pattern and a gorgeous border on the duputta.
the undyed ones were about 2000-3000rs.

yeah.city towers has some really nice shops..it's different cuz there are many sikhs at shops there whom we dont see here commonly

I know there is a indian shop, Baba Guru, or something like that.... Just when u enter the city tower... He has some really nice things... BUT ladies.. BARGAIN!!!!

Also that Khan Baba has lots of good stuff... .....

What do you call that silver embroidery in different shapes but mainly in circles...??? Prototype you must know...

^fashionista, what kind of embroidery is it? silver thread? silver metal?

was that a riddle? :D
can you elaborate it a bit more?

Haan bilkul stoppit, silver metal... It comes like on plain white dupatta´s , but that indian shop had three piece chiffon suit, very nice colors ....
Anyways, yes I meant the silver metal .. kya kehtey he us ko?

muqesh? small dots type? they are also stick ons available which are done with iron and give a similar look.

^yea fashionishta, mukesh.

i have some of my mum's chiffon sari's with mukesh on them, they are really nice for semi-formal wear and if it's the real stuff, it won't so weird - this are 25 years old at least!
i would stay away from the stick on ones unless you wanna leave a trail behind you, lol.

when i was in pak a year ago, my friend's mum (in lahore) was telling me that you can get really intricate designs with mukesh now (rather than the spray all over) but i didn't get the chance at that time to shop for any. anyone know where?

having said that, in august last year i bought undyed chiffon jamwar and there were silver metal stars embedded in the material in the gold thread motifs.. it was so cute. i guess it was a kind of mukesh too, but they were larger than what you usually see.

i m actually quite shocked to read all the posts here. i like all of u live abroad, in dubai and work hard like all of u to earn money but still no way am i goin to pay even close to even 400 rs for a simple lawn suit!!!!!!! normally they charge anywhere between 250-350 and that price dusnt give me a heartattack but anything more than that is really crazy. infact ill tell u something. i have a tailor just opposite our house in karachi and he charges max 150 rs for a simple suit with pipin and all. nothing fancy or out of this world. but honestly when the cloth price itself is 350-400 rs i dun really care too mch abt cleanliness of the stictching etc. i mean, ofcourse i do, but i m not that demanding. that guys charges us so cheap cus we live soooooo close to him. he delivers on time too. I think he wud charge 200 or more for a hi fi dress. but the thing is, i will never ever give him any dress in which i want a capri, trouser or anarkali. i know he wud spoil it big time. so understand the tailors abilities first and then give him work

you can get mukesh done in few shops in liberty market.but i doubt it would be of quality like we have seen in our moms clothes