Cheap clothes

:eek: Hey Guys,

I contact a few designers from the designers websites lists and asked for 5-10 suits for me to wear at upcoming weddings and these guys gave me qoutes of around 30,000 rupees each, for medium suits, nothing special! I’m socked what a rip off!! I was looking at a suit for 5,000 rupees…

Can any one recommend cheaper clothing websites where i’m not being ripped off!!!:crying:

Re: Cheap clothes

5,000 not happening honey!

with that kinda budget.. you really cant get designer stuff… BUT, you can get pretty neat stuff from boutiques… unfortunately, you havta shop ureself or get someone to do it for u in Pakistan.. cuz these stores dont have websites…

for karachi i can tell u to go visit bahadurabad… your bound to find something that suits ure needs and is within budget … plus.. weren’t you all set to visit pakistan for your own wedding shopping?? or am i mixin guppans up.. :hoonh:

yes for casusl's contact sobia's in islamabad. she isn't al that but not bad either, or you can contact nikki and nina in lahore. I am sure they do dresses in that range , probably they gave you higher quotes coz you contacted them through the internet.

^ MYWISH, contact info?

Saila, cant you lower the num of suits and maybe have like couple of really nice ones and then couple of cheap ones?

Nickie and Nina will give you a plain cotton suit for Rs. 5,000. Defintiely not any party wear for that price.

Maria B starts her orders at Rs. 10,000 for party wear. But if you are on a budget, you best bet is to go to the zari houses and karighars in various bazaars and get custom made outfits from them. You can buy your own material and you can select the kind of work you want on it. That way, you can easily get a heavy outfit for Rs. 5,000. But these people don't have websites.

Why not look at your local Indian or Pakistani shops? This past summer, I bought two lehngas from an Indian store, for $125 each. People were really impressed and the work was very lovely (antique style). At least you know what you'll be getting.

Nickie and Nina will give you a plain cotton suit for Rs. 5,000. Defintiely not any party wear for that price.

Maria B starts her orders at Rs. 10,000 for party wear. But if you are on a budget, you best bet is to go to the zari houses and karighars in various bazaars and get custom made outfits from them. You can buy your own material and you can select the kind of work you want on it. That way, you can easily get a heavy outfit for Rs. 5,000. But these people don't have websites.

Why not look at your local Indian or Pakistani shops? This past summer, I bought two lehngas from an Indian store, for $125 each. People were really impressed and the work was very lovely (antique style). At least you know what you'll be getting.

I think everybody got the point the first time ;)

Hi Guys,
Yes I am getting married in June inshallah! I am going to pakistan in two months with my mum and its been ages since we last left that I dont even have any family left in pakistan as every ones scattered abroad like flies that I needed to ask every one elses advise.

I went to some of the designers here in UK like Chiffons, Khoobsorath, Daminis, Raishmas etc and their clothes seem to be cheaper than pakistan!!! I have seen loads of nice dresses here in uk for 20000-30000 rupees and I thought it'll be cheaper to buy in pakistan hence I contacted these designers.

Anyway, seems I was wrong..at that rate I think I'll just stick to wearing english clothes designers, versace seems cheaper!!

Hey by the way I spoke to the uk agent guy for Bargelloshop and he has lots of good things to say about the brand, I know they copy etc but he thinks they are really cheap! Have you guys seen a HSY wedding dress red & gold which HSY told me was for 1.5lakhs and these guys selling it for 60000 rupees can you believe that...any thought? Oh btw I just need a few nice outfits I can wear after wedding to dinner parties, I hardly wear any english clothes so I didn't want to invest either! with regards to my wedding dress I will only be in pakistan for 3 weeks..what are my options to buy within this..from lahore only? any thoughts on gold?

My advice for cheap clothes would be get magazines like Libas and get the designs copied by the kaam walay and they will make a dito copy of a 30,ooo outfit for less than 3,ooo trust me.

Hi Saila, since u'll be going to Lahore in two months, and u're budget for a suit is around $5000, if u want ready made, check out Parahan. Although I doubt u will get a party wear ready made from any boutique for that range.
What duskykajol recommended is best, get a Magazine, Libas, She or Women's own, or any other one u can browze through in a store, or even a dress u like on the net ask the Kam walay (at the back of liberty) in Lahore to get a mock copy for u. It may come close to ur budget. Although getting more than 2 suits done less than Rs.5000.00 is a little too much to hope for.
A good idea is to go to the Orega, buy khola kapra (take a lahorie resident aunwty with u, otherwise those merchants will rip u off big times noticing u're bahir wali) real fancy one, and but some matching lace shace with it from liberty/ matching ECS/Ehsan shoes, and bam u're set to go! works!

But I guess if u have means to go to the inner wall city, prices are much cheaper there for kam sham.

Buying a wedding dress in Lahore in 2 weeks, I'm really not sure if thats a great idea. Little time, plus if u don't have friends or someone in lhr, its really hard to point in in the right direction. If u're considering Gold as in Jewelry, Sonica has the best selection and they are the greatest. Near H.karim buksh liberty area. You should leave buying jewerly business to Pakistan. The prices are much reasonable there than here the crap u get sold in the west. I would recommend to find some aquaintence in LHR who can get u to shop around esp' in the inner walled city, the gold/clothes are much reasonable there when u bargain enuf.

I think jewelry from here is much better. Only because you get a certificate and you know that they arent ripping you off. I would rather be safe than sorry, esepcially when it comes to things like wedding rings and wedding jewelry.
One of my friends bought like the pure all-gold stuff from here and smaller sets with gems in it from pakistan(sounds like the best idea). I wanna go to lebanon for my wedding ring :love:

DB according to my dad you can do anything in pakistan in two weeks as long as you have the money.

Barfee if you go to an established jeweler in Pakistan (not the ones in dingy shops in little galees) they can provide you hallmarked 22k jewelry plus a certificate if you request it. Of course they are pricier but at least there is a guarantee behind the purity of gold and its quality.

So u are obviously not talking from first hand experience or insight since u had to refer to dad in this thread. :rolleyes:

Lastly, Saila did mention being on a budget, since u missed reading between the lines.

She didnt mention a budget for the wedding outfit in case you missed reading that :p

I would personally like to have more time, but i know for a fact i wont (Trying to make myself feel better :( but zalim samajh)

^^

ps. read the title of thread again.

pps. oh Also, u just proved me right.

Therefore, beta ji its always better to be prepared for the realistic side to things forehand, than getting frustrated at the last moment.

Hey Girls,

Thanks alot for the advise, especially DB. I am not really on a budget but the problem is me and my fiance want to buy a nice house in kensington and to do that I must budget on other things + the hall + catering here will cost me 12,000 lakhs...and unfortunately me aur meri ammi are alone...so it's all coming out my pocket...so where ever I can I'm trying to save. I don't spending the money but I'd rather not..I think for the wedding dress I don't want to spend more than 75,000 rupees to 1lakhs and then cheaper part wear...my hubbi to be isn't into apne clothes no I doubt I'll be wearing them more than twice each outfit...ontop of every thing else he wants us to move to melbourne 6 months after the shaadi...!!! so stressful!

For the gold I was thinking 3 laks is more than enough...for 1 large necklace, earings, tikka, chumbar, nath, ring & maybe karee..I dont like bangles its too mumsy so might just stick to kareh instead..or I was thinking should I get bangles each with a different design..so two sets of each design ...what do you guys think?

Hey something to tell you guys...I put my details on Meeras.biz to view the catalogue and one day randomly I was on msn and the IT guy from Meeras added me to his friends list...he didn't say much but very strange!!! Any further thoughts on Bargelloshop guy? I think his name is Khawer...he invited us to his place at New Year...

All the best
Saila

:cb:DB haaaa there you go! She just said seh wants to spend about a lakh on the wedding dress