Re: Cheap clothes
No Girls....hahaha I think you read it all wrong. I'm looking for every day wear at 5,000 each...maybe upto 20 of these...OMG my main wedding suit for 5,000 rupees...NOWAY!!! the budget for that is 75,000 rupees to 1.5lakhs...
Good to see u Saila. Hey I feel whatcha sayin sis! You can get a great dress within that range. Although I wudn’t recommend something too heavy. the 1 lakh dresses usually have real gems/pearls and gold thread kam on it, thats why the sky rocketing price. Although I think the best I would recommend you from Lahore is Karma by Kami. They have absolutely beautiful items. I got my valima suit custome made thru them, in three weeks, but we really really had to push them for it plus my sis in law was sort of a friend so he complied. Sana Safinaz from Karachi also works within budget. If u can somehow contact them while still being in UK, I think they will really pull out a great dress for you within whatever budget u set for them, I got mine thru them. They pay close attention to personal details. I wish I was in LHR, cuz I cud’ve arranged something for u, since I know lots of designers there personally. But if u are looking for serious class, and that too in Lahore, Karma is the way to go. Talk to the guy up close, I’m sure he will listen, but be very insisting. Perhaps they may have some dresses up for sale too. I can’t really pin point any place in Mall rd area, cuz I’m really clueless when it comes to the old walled city.
But drive around gulberg, defence, you will come across lots of reasonable and chic boutiques. Rahi bath party dresses ki, within budget of Rs. 5000 per suit. Tuo tell you what! Check out Parahan (though good luck with 5k), or Collection R in gulberg, ya phir the boutiques in Defence Y block. Buying khola kapra from Orega, and getting that for stictching with a reliable darzi is a good way. Buy a dazzling kapra which has got it all, and getting that stiched plain with a few beaded lace work or stuff on it will make it work. Check fortress boutiques, see if u like something from there. Keep one grand aside from the 5k budget, and get ECS matching shoes with the party outfits. I woudn’t recommend either to spend too much on party wear that u know for sure u will never touch again.
For Jewelry, my dear dear friend. Listen to me and go spend the money at Sonica. They are the best in all of Lahore I know! They will give you the certificate (ask the person name Muslim bhai). They are very honest. And my inlaws have known them since four five decades
They sell u authentic stuff, and they will always return their jewelry for the same price they sold it to u, if not less. All jewelers in Lahore will vouch for their stuff and they are very reputable. Their Karahs are to dye for. They’ve got real classy stuff!
Alright, I wish you all the best, let me know if u need any sort of help. I wish you the all the best and pray that you may not stress out. and remember Enjoy it. For this kind of stress happens only once in a while ![]()
Best wishes,
Daysee Behna
Well what can we say when Dady’s little girls like Barfee interprets that. Poor buchi.
Haha that just proves you wrong hun and its dady’s princess not girl ![]()
Btw DB, why dont I get the special help Saila is getting?
^Cuz you my silly cinna bun are too busy proving whats wrong and right. U cud’ve said the magic word too u know ![]()
Acha acha, so what u need help with? kia yaad rakho gi… ![]()
ps. Saila, there’s a place called Ichra in Lahore. They’ve got reasonable priced clothing to or so I’ve heard from feller auntiaN. For rest of the stuff, lemme do some research for u and see what I can come up with. wish me luck.
Hey I don no much abt party dresses n prices in pak ..but abt gold I agree wth DB ( i m not a gold fan) but all my family , chachis aunties buy gold frm Sonica Jewellers too ( in pindi) n they r trustworthy as i heard ..good luck !
DB just give me the list you are gonna come up with for Saila thats all I am asking for ![]()
NO worries Barfee. The distressing thing is that there had be tragedy in my family which though happened in Dec, but the loss was significant. Those that can help me with regards to this are still undergoing a mourning period. So I’ve to think of other ways. If I come up with something I will pm the info to u and Saila, or post it up here. I tried searching the net but grrrr hate it when fashion designers are not organized enough to have a reputable website for them and make it easier on poor souls like us in a difficult moment.
Alright until then,
Bye: DB ![]()
ps. Pweej don’t cwy, u’re blayking my halt.
Hi DB,
I'm really sorry to hear about the tragedy in your family. You should focus on that more importantly than helping me etc. Inshallah I hope Allah gives you & your family patience to get through this difficult time.
I'm not sure if any one uses msn here but it'll be nice to chat on msn!! hotmail!!
Saila
^ I agree. I am sorry to hear that, inshAllah Allah will give them enough patience to deal with their loss.
Thanks girls. btw I came across someone suggesting "AKS collection" by a guppie akif.in another fora with the 2 of u in the same thread, did u guys consider that by any chance?
Well for me, I am not even sure if its gonna be any time soon
I dont have no date, not even a range but most likely it will be this year
So its like pre-prep, I am gonna make a list of places I HAVE to visit.
what did i do now ![]()
I'm getting married Inshallah in July/August. My inlaws are from India and so my walima dress will come from there. Isn't AKS very expensive?
^Actually I looked into their web, and the prices they’ve quoted for bridal are quite reasonable. Last time I designed/sold a wedding dress to a client here was around $1500.00. That too I had to cut back on price wise since it was an aquaintence/bro’s friend (Lahore can be expensive esp’ when adding up the fabric/kam/stitching costs etc.). You’d have to ask Sabah about their quality of work (back there in fashion/beauty who suggested ak’s collection in first place) but price wise they are reasonable esp’ if they are not charging for delivery extra.
I think Aks is charging within ‘okay’ price ranges esp for the bridal/party wear. Designers usually charge that much. I’ll suggest to to get simple ‘cut dana’ work done with ‘chanta’ of beads (small glass beads) either all over the shirt/pallu of dupata. And go with the short shirt/trouser, bell bottoms, pants, flares etc look. What u can do is get a few suits from Aks, before going to Pakistan like maybe two or one. and rest buy khola kapra at reasonable price in Pakistan and get it stichted there. That way u can save urself some time. I’m just concerned because time is a great factor. Sometimes tailors make mistakes, finding a reliable one is hard, and they ruin ur fabric sometimes (alot of times they think with their bottom up mode God knows why they forget using their precious melons). So you have to keep all those worms in mind
Therefore time and planning takes a great consideration m’dear. Hmm… there is however another option. How about u do me a favour. Pick out a few pics over the net/mag whatever. Post it up here, and let me check it through with someone in Peshawar. Atleast that way we are doing something rather than nothing. An aunt of mine is visiting, she’s a huge shopaholic and has significant knowledge about anything in kapra world being sold. If u want we can discuss this at personal level pm me or if u need I’ll pm u my email. Same goes for you Barfee. If you guys have a dress or pic in mind/on p.c. share it here or pm me and we can see to arrange something for u two hmm… no harm trying. Along with the pic state the Rs. limit u’re willing to spend on it. I’ll run it through my mom and see if she can pull something out of the box. ![]()
But I have to tell u one thing. U have to know what u want. Last time I had to deal with the person, who took good 3 months of communicating back and forth via email not being able to decide what exactly she wanted. In the end I got so tired, I just left her to herself cuz if she wasn’t interested why should I get so concerned eh.
She wasted great time since I was in lahore in touch with the business world back then. Humpf. Ohwell. Anyway, lemme know if things work for the two of u, we can do something to save u two the trouble.
Adios!
Regards: Daysee Behna
DB,
Whats your msn ID or email address?
Saila
I dont even know if its going to be this year
but as soon as I find out you will be the first one to know and I am adding you to my database ![]()
so wait you are a designer yourself? In pakistan? Where in Pakistan? if not there in the US? where in the us? Can you move to michigan by any chance?
Hi DB & Barfee,
Please find attached some outfits I really like from Bargelloshop but I'm trying to see if I can get them made cheaper. I've also attached picture of my wedding hall at a previous wedding..what do you guys think?...nice hey..
Spk to you soon!
Saila