Chappell was not happy with World Cup squad!

Antigua, March 27 (PTI): Beleaguered coach Greg Chappell was not happy with the composition of the Indian cricket team for the World Cup, it was revealed today.
Before leaving for the West Indies, Chappell, in an SMS to an Indian journalist Rajan Bala, claimed that senior players in the side resisted the inclusion of younger players and chief selector Dilip Vengsarkar sided with the seniors fearing a media backlash in case the young guns failed to fire.
"Even in the last selection meeting, I fought for youth. The senior players fought against it and the chairman went with them out of fear of media, if youth did not perform," Chappell wrote in his SMS to Bala.
This message was sent to the writer on the morning of the one-day international against Sri Lanka at Visakhapatnam on February 17.
In the same SMS, the Australian observed young stumper-batsman Dinesh Kaarthick had leadership material.
“Kaarthick will be a very good batsman and by the way, he is a potential leader. You are also very right about Yuvi,” Chappell said.
The coach was referring to the Bala’s article in which he had not been very complimentary about Yuvraj Singh.
The writer had written "He might or might not develop to be the country’s best future batsman, but let it be known that the possibility of his not being fully fit during the World Cup cannot be discounted. It is a risk that is being taken.
“The problem with Yuvraj is that he believes he is a star when he is only a rising one.”
Chappell had also confided with the writer that “Suresh Raina is a must. But he was not wanted.”

http://www.hindu.com/thehindu/holnus/007200703272021.htm

Re: Chappell was not happy with World Cup squad!

^ After all our Tabloid looking media, this is the only newssource which I still trust somehow.

Even if this SMS thing is true, it's not a new thing as for selection of players are conncerned.

BCCI has a history of retardation, but one should note that this Greg Chappal is bringing the topic now after our pathetic exit from first round...We already knew that "blame game" may start very soon...kudos to Chappal he started it first, so that at least he can have something to console himself before he is booted out.

And which "Younger Player" he is talking about? Is there really any Young player who has the potential to turn the things around for us??

I think NO....The players about whom Greg is talking are "one time" performers.

"The problem with Yuvraj is that he believes he is a star when he is only a rising one."

This is NOT the problem with him ALONE. In fact it's the main problem with all Indian players who manages to perform in some matches.
Now, I am worried he too should not become a burden like Sachin and star "Dhoni" in team.

The only problem I have with Dravid's captaincy is his love for Sehwag and Harbhajan. Dravid should be retained as captain nevertheless. Yuvraj should be made the vice-captain.

Gangu, Tendu, Sehwag, Agarkar and Uthappa should be kicked out for good.

But no..that will not happen...we need to show "respect" to the greatness of Gangu and Tendu. How dare we drop such legends for such little things as the "interest of the country being higher than the individual".
Exactly the reason....why Indian team will continue to suck....for infinity and beyond.

Oh and btw, Dhoni should be dropped too (at least temporarily). He needs some time off for his brand ambassador*giri*. Will also get his head back in the right place.

I agree, he is another victim of too much commercialization

Hello friends, I was banned from the forum, for reasons I don't know. After a long time I tried to login and I was successful.
I am glad to be back.

I think, and this could be true for both Indian and Pakistan teams, since both are politics stricken.
We should have a team of about 30 players and all play in round robin. Two bad innings and the player is out and the next one gets a chance. This will create a some pressure on the players to perform better. Today the likes of tendulkar do not care. They know that they will make the squad, no matter what.
This wil also provide a player backup in case of injuries and we will always have team with some experience in future.
But I know this will not happen as the star player will be against it.

All I can say is good luck to our teams for the next World Cup

Narayan Narayan...yeh kaisa ghor anyaaya hai ki narayan par bhi ban lagaayaa jaata hai. :D

why not Harbhajan and Kumble also.

^I am not a big fan of Harbhajan....but I do like Kumble....I wish he had played against BD and SL...he is an intelligent bowler....though, unfortunately, he is the one who is most likely to get the boot by our "wise" selectors.

Yuvraj is probably the most over-rated cricketer to have come of India, even more over-rated then Sachin...the sooner Indian's drop him and the Punjab quota the better it would be for their future...

I hear he is going to fly straight to Aus and wont go back with the team to india fearing being greeted with chappals at the airport?

I, on the other hand, believe that Yuvraj and Dravid are the only two players of any substance in the current Indian team.

Haha, i am not sure if we should find this funny or sad - you always appeared to be a punjabi hater, but apparently it is intense enough to even transcend international borders ... man you are something .... telling Indians to get rid of 'Punjabi' influence (when this is the least they care about)....

why don't you die of overdose or something? Why must you incite hatred everywhere you bitter piece of siht

Hey Moron,
During Inning break of India vs SL match you said it was all settled.SL delivrately batted bad and India will win the game.. I didnot see you in thread after India lost...

As is famously said, "victory has many fathers; failure is an orphan".

The process of disowning the big failure at WC 2007 has begun.

Interestingly this SMS is only released after India is crashed out of WC. If India had won the cup, Chappel will be beaming from ear to ear, talking about how "his boys" played so wonderfully.

And considering how busy these international cricketers and their coaches always appear to be, for Chappel to be sending such long and potentially highly controversial messages by way of SMS is laughable. I barely write a few words in SMS before pressing the Send button. This dude is going on and on.

On the other hand, if you guys assure me that this Bala dude is straight as an arrow, then I'd say Chappel is hedging his bets before the World Cup. If India wins, Chappel is a hero because he turned underserving players into super starts. If India loses, leak the SMS saying I never wanted these players in the first place! Win-win!

I do not believe that a different selection of players in the Indian team would have made much difference. India's bench is pretty weak at this time.

Though I would have liked Karthick to have played in place of Uthappa/Sehwag.

Why Gangu? He performed well in the first two games.

So did Shewag, I think they were the only two that really tried to help their team as much as possible. Even Yuvraj did better than Tenducrapkar. Sorry but i am just so pissed at Tendulkar that I really can't stand him these days. I think he should get the boot.

Sacking every senior player indiscrimanately will not help the cause, I think Tendu was never droped from the team through out his career even though he failed no. of times coz of his past glory, but I think its about time to drop him and let him sort out his problem and come back, I think he is still good to play another 4 years(i know some people don't like to hear it).

Coming to Gangu, I think he played well since his come back except couple of innings, he is better opener we have so until we find somebody better than him there is no point in droping him.

Dhoni should not play abroad period. take him as reserve keeper and play him if only other keeper is injured or serioulsly out of form.

Sehwag need to be droped.

Dravid should remain captain.

There is no gurantee that a player playing good will still be good one year form now so take one series at a time and stop thinking about builiding team for futuer or WC2011.

I think its high time to assign a player certain tags, like for instance FTB tag. and let them play only if the pitch suits there batting-nothing wrong with that.horses for courses.

I think everybody knows that sehwag and dohni as dangrerous batsmen as they are, will fail 10 out of 10 times if there is something in the pitch for the bowlers, but we still persist with them and just hope for the miracle would happen and they will comegood- thats were we lose lot's of matches.

bottom line drop tendu, sehwag and dhoni for now.

In my view Ganguly has shown he still has what it takes to play under pressure. He did well in South Africa, and home series against SL and WI and even in this WC. But what are his long term prospects? He is not going to be around for long. But I would take him any day over Sachin. Sachin is a legend no doubt. But nowadays even Dhoni is more reliable than him.

no gangu should go. I felt that he was playing too slow. His strike rate was terribly low. This was the case even with Bermuda. He could not take singles and rotate strike. He was just playing for himself. I didnt felt so when he was playing in india and south africa. But in this world cup whenever he came to play, there was some kind of negative energy associated with him.