Changing Pakistan's national language?

Re: Changing Pakistan's national language?

P4e pure Punjabi and Persian are as mutually unintelligible from each other as they are from Chinese, and Punjabis look as different from Pashtuns and Persians as they do from white people, common roots doesn’t mean anything, the people of the eastern two provinces of Pakistan and northern India have got Dravidian blood mixed in to them now whilst Pashtuns and Persians are still pretty much Aryan.

Punjabi and Sindhi have more in common with other North Indian languages such as Bengali, Hindi and Gujarati than they do with Persian or Pashto, they both belong to two different sub language groups (Punjabi to the Indian and Persian and Pashto to the Iranian) which are largely unintelligible from each other.

Urdu on the other hand is understoof by lots of different ethnicities because it's a mixture, true Urdu is about 40% Persian derived anyway, also with some Arabic, Turkish, English and Portuguese derived vocab... So it's similar but not as similar to Indian languages as people assume even though it was born in India.

The fact that Persian was the official language during the Mughal etc. rule doesn’t mean anything, most of the current Pakistani population the Punjabis were pretty much ignored by the Mughals and other ruling elite, Punjabis hardly ever held positions of political or military power which went to Afghans/Pathans, Persians, Turks etc. Punjabis were left to just plough their fields and munch away on their Daal.

Re: Changing Pakistan’s national language?

Balley balley dudd lassi Punjabi is only suitable for your kheyts, even the only Punjabi ruler ever Ranjeet Geedarr knew full well the status of his mother tongue and kept Persian.

Punjabis are not the only Pakistanis.

To me Urdu is a universally Paki language not tied to any particular ethnic group, it’s all ours national language but Punjabi is for Punjabis and to the rest of us being called a Punjabi is worse than a gaali.

In my view, urdu deserves better than the national language of a bigot state.

Not even Panjabis speak panjabi with much pride. Even Super dugga Iqbal wrote poetry in Urdu.

Urdu is a language of communication between different communities in Pakistan. There is absolutely nothing wrong for being Urdu as a National language of Pakistan. The mistake committed by Quid-e-Azam was when he imposed Urdu on Bengalis or Sindhis communities when they have there own language and culture. Later stupid leaders also tried to ruin Bengali or Sindhi culture by proving Urdu is superior to these languages. Had Quid-e-Azam made Pakistan a Bi-Lingual state (Urdu and Bengali) and had he or the following leadership not suppressed the regional languages and culture, there would have been absolutely no problem.

The only problem is double standard maintained in education system in Pakistan.
English is always considered as language of so called "Refined or Rich People" who are graduated from English Medium institutions. This can only be eliminated by introducing same Standard English language in Urdu Medium or Government Schools because English is the medium of communication between different communities of the World

FARID

The language of the Muslims is only Arabic... not punjabi, urdu or any other sort of mambo jambo.

Pakistanis come to the Uk and they're bloody obsesses with spreading their culture (urdu especially). We are Muslims, we belive in the Qur'an and the Sunnah so how the hell does the ideology of Pakistan with it's borrowed culture from here and there fit into Islam?

what r u doing in UK, then ? Come to Saudi Arab. Wait…They wont let u in and stay forever…Why? because ur brown skin does not belong to Saudi Arab…who cares about religion, right?

^i'm not bothered whether a Saudi is a Muslim or not or whether he loves me or despises me, i'm only bothered what the Qur'an says... which is 'wherever you go, take the Qur'an and the Sunnah with you'.

(and, oh, oh, out of 7.4 million Pakistani living abroad, there are around 1 million Pakistanis in Saudi Arabia alone out of around 4 million in whole of the Mideast. Another words, Pakistanis are more accepted in the Arab world than anywhere else in the world.)

Green and white for this guy must mean the color of the ambulance he must be sent to the mental hospital not the color of our national language.. I don’t speak arabic so doesn’t large population of Pakistan.. atleast the most populous state of punjab where I come from… except those mullahs i did not many speaking arabic in day-to-day life… who told Everyone who is a muslim should speak arabic and nothing else? What about the world’s most populuous muslim country Indonesia - do they all all speak Arabic? Islam is not only for arabic speakers.. if you don’t know about pakistanis living in arab - most of them are either barbers/laborers or sweep floors or bathrooms for a few dirhams to feed their family back home…what about those arab sheikhs who buy small girls from pindi or lahore in dozen and make them sex slaves - go and worship them cuz u r one such be-ghairat slave to arabs ..

Farid bhai,
assalam-alikum,
Tell me what percentage of pakistan speaks Urdu vs punjabi ( I am willing to even exclue the likes of saraiki)? the fact of the matter is that most of the population in newly formed pakistan was argarian and illeterate at the time of partition. So, this so-called newly formed “ruling” class which comprised of low-class clerks from N. India fooled the locals… Quaid did not have much idea about what will happen next cuz he was fighting disease plus he had given the mantle to that chor indian - liaqat. The fact that bengalis refused to speak is a sheer proof how wrong our policy makers where. We need to have a similar movement to overthrow urdu after nearly 35 years..

khud hafiz,

guys,
control the insults!

mulz

I am sorry I can not agree with you. Urdu Language has nothing to do with what you are saying. Language is language I only consider it as a medium of communication. Almost 99% of people of Pakistan understand, speak or read and write Urdu. So Urdu should be the National Language of Pakistan.

Green & White

You seem to live in the fantasy land of Nasim Hujazi. What you say is impractical.

FARID

They r accepted as slaves. No citizenship, no equal status.

Again, go and live in Saudi Arab, or any other couyntry, and speak Arabi. ..what r u doing in UK?

And write to me in Arabic, not English, OK? Even if I dont understand it.

Nice timeline of history, mash’allah majority of the Kingdoms - rulers belong to the Proud Afghan race.

Anyways here is a quote from the link provided in the first post on this thread:

That is what the Afghans should have never let happen, instead our language was forced to use Farsi & Arabic borrowed words. Insh’Allah, there will be a Pashto Language Purification Project in future, which will re-purify the ancient language of the Afghans once for all.

Regarding the language issue, well it is unfair to force a MINOR language be spoken by a people of MAJOR language. Every language shout have its status in its native region at least.

Pashto Till Ma Last Breath…

cultural and racial superiority stands no ground in front of economic one....muhajirs may only be 7% population, but go just look at the number of pakhtoons driving taxis and buses in karachi to really see which way this country is going for at least a decade or so....

pocketfuls of pakhtoons living outside the country, and that too in obscure areas of Britain and Europe, without any orientation to professional skill acquisition, thinking of changing the national language to Dari/Farsi really sounds like a joke....

apnai gorai rang sai jaa kar Afghanistan kai khundraat mai nokri kiyun nahin talash kartai Peshawari log, haan?

if there is anything to the middle east argument, its only Gwadar, and no way will the 'culturally rich' balochis be able extract it away from the hawkish punjabis and karachi professionals all for themselves....

hoonh, baat kartai hain...:p

its urdu vs. punjabi for at least a decade…phir apni Dariyaan bhi lai aana Gwadar kai saath…:flower1:

ghulail

You seemed to be a racist. Urdu is not your property has nothing to do with your superiority with other communities. Your observations make more people against Urdu language.

If you think your community is that superior, why Karachi is now ****y place to live, the city was like a Paradize in 1947. Ask your fathers.

FARID

thats a nice one....u think languages become national becoz everybody just loves the way they sound?

there is economics behind language acceptance, and thats all i pointed out....

the whole 3 pages of this thread u guys tried localising urdu back to the 7% mujhair population of karachi, and wanted to have yr culturally rich farsi in its place....

and now when i tell u the reason why it hasnt been replaced, u r telling me u love it as much as other languages....woh toa nazar aa raha is puri thread sai kitna love hai Urdu kai liyai...

Karachi is sihtty place to live in?....last i hurd it hadnt stopped growing in size!?

^^ to large extent I agree with ghulail....Americans learn Arabic before going to Saudi Arab, because of economic reasons. Windows is in Arabic. Who gives a damn to Arabic, if it were not the black diamond flowing underneath middle east?

I guess if the local population in Balochistan got any thing do with Gawadar ( and i hope they would), Balochi language has some chances to live. And as long as Al Qaeda is alive, Pushto has more money for its investment.

Regarding Urdu, this language is a binding force, propelled by economics reasons (Bollywood movies, included). I have yet to hear a big name after Manto and Faiz. There was one Faraz but his poetry is lost in posh localaties and govt job. Jon Elia is dead. If u read Urdu newspapers, then it is hard to find one intellectual writing soemthing there. Most of the Editorial page is full of garbage.

I don't see any reason to be proud of Urdu, and be very certain that this language will go a long time to come.

ghulail,

I am sorry I don't agree with you. If what your logic seemed correct, people on this forum would have never asked to change the national language. Same is true for Bengalis who agitated against Urdu and got their national language changed to Bengali in year 1948.

lost Soul

I agree with you that Urdu is a binding force among different communities. But I don't buy your idea of Bollywood movies or economic gains perhaps this may be true for English, French, German, Spanish, Italian, Arabic , Punjabi even Pushto. Indians never say it is an Urdu movie, they always say HINDHI MOVIE, though there is not much difference between HINDHI and Urdu accept dialect and alphabets. I see here people watching Hindhi movies even they don't understand a single dialogue.

FARID