Change

We are all crying for it, we are all looking forward to it, a change which can change our lives, which can bring harmony and prosperity in our society… a change which will eliminate killing of our brother and sisters on daily basis, the change which will ultimately lead Pakistan to have position in G8…

the question arises, are we ready for the change? are we mentally prepared for this change? we can only change when we want to change… a dream can only be made reality when somebody works on it… the point is, we need to work for the change and as a starter, lets not discuss our glorious past, lets not discuss our wonderful religion(s), lets not indulge in refuting other point of views on the basis of personal likes and dislikes, lets try to live with differences, lets try to tolerate the ones who do not carry or believe the views we have, lets not follow anyone blindly, lets try to re-build Pakistan of our children…

Khuda nay aaj tak uss key qom key halat nahi badli
Na ho jisay khayal apni halat badlnay ka

it is high time we start working towards the change.. the change would only come, if we change our thinking style, if we identify our problems and if only we try to fix them… let us identify the problems we have and lets try to seek the solutions for it…

To me, the major problem is our ruling elite, the one who is always in parliament, doesn’t matter if it is Democracy ( thats what they call it) or if it is Army rule… they can be found with Ayoub, With Yehya, With Zia and With Musharaf…

The ruling elite has given us following:

1. Differences, in the name of religion, color and linguistic issues… they have kept us busy fighting and killing each other on this, meanwhile they continue to loot our wealth… they made sure that none of us ever get in power

2. Poverty, in 62+ years, we have just gone from bad to worse… the poverty has increased and people have suffered more with the passing time, we were denied the opportunities to develop and build our fate in our beloved country, we were given the passports and be humiliated by the employers in the foreign lands.. yet we are told to send our hard earned money back to Pakistan so that our ruling elite continue with their lavish life-style

3. lack of Education, we were purposely denied any education facility, all the govts of Pakistan has shown least interest in providing education facilities and/or educating the masses, the only reason, the can only run their scam-based politics when the masses of Pakistanies are uneducated…

we need to work on it, as change will not happen until work it to happen… spread the awareness, this is the least we can do…

Re: Change

edited...point proven

Hanibal,

Like a true patriot , many are sitting out there hurt , very hurt .. some have lost complete faith in everyone in that society ... We have reached a point where we dont even know where to start from ...

Bribery, corruption, sex crimes, murder, terrorism, fraud, safarish .. the list is never ending ... Its us , who are sat outside pakistan that are feeling strongly for things to change .. change will actually be initiated by those who live there ... and they are not ready for a change ..

even after the huge damage that nature inflicted us with, there are people who have raped innocent girls in the displaced people camps ... there are people who are selling fake medicines despite knowing it will kill the already suffering souls ... there are still people stealing charity money .... education, religion, patriotism , nothing is really helping us right now ... because we have left it all far far behind and its not going to come and change the mess that we are in right now.

We need a danda and strict implementation of Islamic law .. A strong judiciary ... that is going to be the starting point ... if Justice Chaudhry can make a simple pledge and improve the basic morals of the judiciary, the change will be forced upon this nation ... who will commit corruption when they know they might recieve a death penalty over it? who will try to take law in their hands when they know they will be charged for treason against the country and who will try to accept the bribe when they know they will be put in jail for life.

We need strict punishment codes until the deeth nation learns to respect law and accept it .. until then , we will just have to wait for someone who will implement law unto everyone by force .

^ Dear Bro,

What you say is right, i've trying to seek solutions for the problems, but our problems are inter-linked... crimes are committed without any fear of law and punishment... the criminals are in parliament and the convicts become the ministers and/or presidents... so would punish the criminal...

Our so-called ruling elite, which is often called our leadership, is the one who have groomed these evils in our society, they have either turned a blind eye to it or they have created such environment where these crimes and criminals can prosper...

as of now, we need to create awareness, we need to educate people by telling them that this evil is going to knock your door someday if not today...

punishment codes won't work if we let go the powerful and punish the weaks only.... this is what we are doing as of now... if Zardari/NS loots a bank, they getaway with NRO if you and me do it we get life-time...

But that is the whole point of having a powerful judiciary. aam janta is not half as corrupt as the elite .. strong judiciary will have to start applying pressure on the middle classes , aik class sudre gi then others will come in the trap...

We have in the past empowered Army , but no positive results came, empowered the government with democracy , zero results again ... lets empower the Judiciary this time and hope for things to change .

We need a Turkish style revolution leading to a TOTALLY SECULAR government and extremely strict laws for crimes such as murder, rape, corruption, kidnapping etc (As in China, where many of these are punishable by death).

After the secular revolution, the government should put every thing on the back burner and concentrate on education. Only when the masses are truly educated (and not just able to write their names) will Pakistan prosper.

Also, the liberation of women that will follow a secular revolution will itself trigger massive economic development.

I agree .. But I am not counting on the government to take any steps .. coz they are leading the dacoit group that has led Pakistan to the brink of destruction. Infact , I cant count on any politician .. they are not worth our trust anymore .. we need new faces , new people , people from the middle classes ..

LMAO! Totally secular. When you don't even know what that word means.

I remember a long argument about it in the "religon of country" thread. To each his own :)

Whatever the terminology, all I want is Pakistan to be a state in which religion is confined to the homes.

Well said. But how do we make this happen?

CM....perhaps he/she doesn't know what it means. Fact remains, we need an overhaul of the system.....and if I am to read between the lines he means an overhaul that does not show bias towards any one religion, ethnicity, language, etc.

Can't really see it happening unless a person like Ayub Khan is in power or or a non-religious political party forms the government. Ironically, the party least inclined towards religion, the MQM is also the worst.

I wonder which type of goverment did you mean, Islamic Government and danda, only for ppp, of Zia-ul-Haq Or Islamic governement of Saudi Arabia?.

Almost every one in Pakistan is frustrated, I have yet to see a happy and satified soul there. But when it comes to money every one wants to grab it whether by hook or by crook. Elite blame poor masses, poor blame elite class, politicians blame military, military blame politicians, every crook in Pakistan believe in holier than though attitude. When nation go that low, only Allah can intervene like Sodam and Gomorah, there is absolutely no solution.

I sincerely believe , new people , new faces are needed on the political arena .. We need to break the existence of parties like PPP and PML and their whole lot .. and start seriously voting for those individuals who come from the masses rather then the elite class...

The state of mess that the country is in right now , even a common , well educated man can run the country better then the current lot.

Yes and you defended church in the White House as an aspect of the Secular Government. Sad.

Also Munza and Icesoul, if anything any revolution in Pakistan would be along the lines of the Islamic Revolution in Iran. The fact is that the majority 90% of the country is deeply religious. Unlike the posters on GS. There is a huge disconnect between what we call the English medium and the Urdu medium. The Mehran Man as quoted by the Guardian is a deeply religious, modern politically movitated Islamist with a view to a large Ummah where the religion is more important than a sense of national identity. That is roughly 160 million Pakistanis.

I always ask this question to prove how disconnected posters on this forum are. Remove the word Islamic in our official Title as a country. How many in Pakistan would agree with that? Easily less than 2%. On GS a majority would.

One of the reasons the country stands where it is today , is because we cant let go of the past .. we dont think out of the box ... No I do not want Saudi style or Zia ul hak style danda ... I want the nation to stand behind the Judiciary , make it powerful ... so that rule of law will set foot in the country.

And for a nation that has simply no respect for law from stopping at the red light to murder and fraud ... Capital punishment and strict implementation of higher level punishments is needed and some of the ills of the society , like , corruption, bribery, fraud , treason, should be classed as severe as drug dealing and murder.

The first victim of a top Judiciary , should be the police , we need to rid the forces of the lazy , big tid , non trained , uneducated officers and bring in competitive , merit based officers and punish them if protectors of the law break the law .

The big fish will only be caught if the grass root level has been dealt with .. change and revolution always starts at lower levels and creates a tsunami that can overturn the biggest ills in a society.

That's the tragedy. I know that a revolution, if it occurs will be Islamic in nature. And on that day, the sun will finally set on Pakistan. The only reason Iran is still afloat is because they have vast oil reserves and legions of secret police to violently keep the masses under control. Take away the oil and there economy is in shambles.

The "Mehran Man" is also the reason why Pakistan is at the edge.

Look at this hubris. The views of the vast majority of Pakistanis is a tragedy. Pathetic. No its not. Because your military, your intelligentsia and your politicians are not representative of the Mehran man. They are representative of you. You know what I mean. The desi crowd that sounds like gorays when they speak urdu. The ones that write more fluently in French than in Urdu.

Your top level people. The ones that run the country would fit in very well on GS.

Zia Ul Haq was your type, wasn't he. And look where he left the nation. Not to mention what he did to his "Muslim Borthers" in Afghanistan.

1) So you are asking for Military to take control (ok Mohib-e-watan Generals) -- right? We all know who has power in Turkey.

2) There is no need for TOTALLY SECULAR govt. Revolution can be Islamic too. Only thing we really need is STRICT, SWIFT and IMPARTIAL IMPLEMENTATION of law.

I do agree to the part that Govt should concentrate on Education more than anything else!