Champions Trophy - Pak V WI - Sep. 23, 09

Re: Champions Trophy - Pak V WI - Sep. 23, 09

Nazir should go and Ajmal should make way for Asif.

Its not a warm up match on saturday

Here is something for you:

Head to head Pakistan 65 India 42

Lets see what happens on Saturday.

*Waise, *you can keep looking back at the past if you like. I would rather look forward to the future :)

*Umer Akmal is Man of the Match

Exactly. As a fan, you’d rather forget the past especially if it holds bad memories like that record shows. :p:

Or conversely, you can continue living in the past (since it was better than the present which sucks).

We’ll see you on Saturday :slight_smile:

bhai is there any way I can look backward to the future or may be forward to the past? Please let me know :)

btw, I dont know how much time in past do you count as "current" but here is an eye opener for your

last 12 months = no games
last 2 years = Pak 4, Ind 5
last 3 years = Pak 4, Ind 5
last 5 years = Pak 11, Ind 12
last 10 years = Pak 21, Ind 18
From day 1 = Pak 68, Ind 45

I dont know what made you think that India is miles ahead when it comes to result :)

PIU bhai… waisay nam tu aap ka PUI (Punjabi under influence) hona chahiey, considering the type of posts I have seen from you since T20’s royal exit.

Aisa hay kay aaj say mein aap ko PUI hee boloan ga. Anyway looking at your concerned posts for Pakistan through out this thread, I have got a feeling that you have withdrawn your indian citizenship. Bhai itni bhee kya pareshani Pakistan kee?

On a serious note… Pakistan did play well under the conditions. It was a tricky wicket and losing 4 wickets on a tricky pitch under lights is not a big deal. Won’t count Yousuf’s since it was not out. They did a good job of adapting to a totally different pitch after playing on placid pitches used during warm up games.

Never said that. The point I made was that the past may have been in Pak's favor (due to a number of reasons), but that does not reflect on the future.

Infact, last 5 years India has done better :) 10 years from now, the stats would be telling a different story.

Centurion wicket is going to be VERY different than this wanderers one. Thats why we WILL need Ajmal's variety there. It is going to be tough but Asif should not play in this match but if he HAS to, Rana is the only one I see getting dropped. Nazir should make merry on that pitch but he didnt help his cause today so lagta hai woh bhi gya.

only if ODI's survived for that long :)

btw, I dont feel any shame in accepting the fact that Indian batting lineup is more solid and better than Pakistan and has always been except for the period when Miandad, Salim Malik etc were playing all at once but similerly, when it comes to bolwing, Pakistan has always been better and is better even today.

If somehow Pakistani batsmen (specially openers) stop self-destruction so frequently, Pakistani team is up there with others....

Shukar hai aap ka hero nahin open kar raha tha warna 4/2 ho jatey. :hehe:

In think Pakistan should play this team/batting order

1- Kamran Akmal
2- Shoaib Malik
3- Younus Khan
4- Muhammad Yousuf
5- Misbah Ul Haq
6- Umer Akmal
7- Shahid Afridi
8- Rana Naveed
9- Umer Gul
10- Muhammad Aamir
11- Muhammad Asif

Ajmal being unlucky just because
1- Shahid Afridi and Shoaib are available as slow options (Younus can run in too)
2- Indians are pretty comfortable and strong against spinners. I would have dropped Rana in fav of Ajmal in case opponent was Aus
3- Rana can make 10-20 runs (even more) if he bats well...

Agree with you 100%. Ajmal could be the factor in our bowling lineup we need on a placid pitch. Indian definitely will have a game plan against an ill prepared Asif. We know he could easily go for runs during the death overs. With no match fitness he could become a big liability in that game.

Unfortuntely Nazir didn't help his cause today and made the choice easy for the final 11 on Saturday (assuming younis is fit to play).

As far as Omar Akmal goes, I just want to say, Mashallah, allah nazar na lagiey. The guy can play in any condition against any opponent.

I think Umar Akmal should bat at 5 and not 6 (maybe even higher up the order!). He has been mashallah in good nick recently.

As per Imran Khan 'Your best batsmen should play the maximam number of overs in an ODI'

HQ Highlights

Enjoy!

Ajmal has far more than Afridi and Shoaib can offer, infact i have my own resevation on Shoaib's ability to perform...

Rana Naveed can be expensive bowler and seeing indian batting order, he will give them glimpse of hope against Pakistani attack... Shahid Afiridi can be deadly if other end is operated by Ajmal or bowler of Ajmal's calliber...

Ajmal was our main striker in T20 and in recent series against Srilanka, i guess, he is in form and with little help from the pitch he can send 1/4 of Indian and Australian batting to pavilion.

on the other hand, maximum we can accept from Rana Naveed is a wicket or two, he is not main striker atleast not the replacement of the varieties Ajmal can offer.

Indian Team is not that good player of spin, Mendis gave them tough time ( yes same mendis who got treatment from Pakistani players), so we need Ajmal, we need to have variety and options in our bowling line, thats all we have to depend on, our batting line has miserably failed us, its the bowling we are depended and we shouldn't be shooting in our foots by resting a good bowler

Thanks GA for the h/l. :k:

Problem is we have to beef up our batting and Ajmal is lacking in that field else he would have been automatic choice over Shoaib Malik

Kia zamana aa gaya hai, Afriti English main interpret ker raha hai :slight_smile: