Chacha ~ Bhateeji

Iv just been told my friends that they think I have an un-natural relationship with 2 of my chachu’s :frowning:

ones 32 and the other is 45 - bearing in mind im 26.

The one that is 45 I can talk to him about absolutely anything from affairs of the heart to sex, boyfriends, rude jokes.. when I say anything - I do mean anything.
infact he’s the only person I can tell anything and everything to. I know he wont judge me, I know he wont abuse my confidence. what I tell him will stay with him and no-one else.

Its the same with the one that’s 32..

When I told my uncle, he said its the illiterate society that doesnt understand it.

Does anyone else hav the same relationship with their uncle… or lads - with their anties?

Re: Chacha ~ Bhateeji

Your friends are just jealous that they don’t have uncles (chachas, mamoos) who they can talk to openly. Show them the finger Mem Saab :k:

thanx, they definately dont have relationships with their uncles. infact she despises them. i could never do that.

mem saab, everyone is different, as long as you dont do anything wrong than whats the harm. dont let others judge u, thats only the right of the All-Mighty Allah (SWT)

Get rid of your fire-ends (friends).

mmmmm fire ends - that one thing i can call them sometimes.

You chacha’s don’t seems to have any Ruab on you :hoonh:

Closeness is fine, but sharam-o-haya bhi koi chez hoti hai.

How much close I may be with someone but, that does not mean ke I forget etiquettes..

whats Ruab? :hoonh:

and just coz Im close with them doesnt mean I dont have any sharam o haya - ettiquettes have nothing to do with it. As for the illiterate society he was talking about - he must mean people like you.

To each his own.

However this does apply:

My father’s brother, but no more like my father
Than I to Hercules. - Hamlet.

CM - explain?

Its great that you have such a good relationship with them......... someone to talk to, get advise, learn from etc.

I dont have any uncles but I know many girls who have similar relationships with their brothers.

but of course ...one must remember etiquettes.

My unlces's are about the only men i hate and love at the same time, mashallah i get on so well with all of them, some of them have limits, but most of them are brilliant. We go out together, watch the footy, play playsation, go shopping, we'v even cooked to together!! Some of me unlces have seen me cry, throw hissy fits, and have been through practically every happy/sad moment in my life. None of my other cousins or sisters get on with any of them as much as i do, i generally get on well with older men anyway, as they know i dont take any crap like the rest of them will, i answer back. However, i will do anything i possibly can for any one of my unlces. Whenever they need my time, money or expertise, im there and that's why we get on so well. I see them as mini father figures, but each one has a different role to play, if you get what i mean, i know which one i can go to whenever i have a specific problem.

Some of my mates have had issues with this, but generally it's because they dont have uncles or they dont live near/with them. In my experience, its usually a desi thing.
I agree with your unlce, its definately illiterate society.

how you can explain that you have sharam-o-haya ?

Raub mean respect for elders, so that you may not use foul (loose) language in front of them.

Like, for example ruab of your mother will be that you don't use abusive words in front of her.

You dont share Rude jokes in front of elders. These are etiquettes :p

Dear code_red

Mem Saab is 6 years younger than the youngest uncle.....how much older than you does some one have to be to be considered an "Elder"

Mem saab its not just an illiterate society...its a very judgemental one.

Just to add a point, why is society illiterate when it comes to subjects that do not conform to a certain person's point of view.

Personally that denotes an arrogant and narrow-mined point of view. But hey to each his own.

Miss Mohabbat, I know exactly what you mean.
Unluckily one of these uncles is in Saudi and one is Dubai and when I went to Pakistan I stopped in DUbai and the one from Saudi met us there.

and it was just how u explained it, we spent all our time together. playing, fighting, shopping, cooking.. when I would wash up, he would dry and put away, when we made marathon amounts of tea, I would make it and he would serve it.. we would stay up till 5am every morning just chatting and laffing. I hurt my hand when I was there and my uncle insisted on feeding me all my meals himself. we were always together and he's such a funny character that I was aways in stitches. He helped me chose my wedding dress and at the time of my nikah he was there holding my hand :)

Im also close to my mamu but in a different way.. I think these rishta's are wonderful coz uv got the father figure, the friend - all rolled into one.

COde red - Whatever :rolleyes:

Lazy Daisy - thanx :flower1:

i really wouldnt worry about your mates, your uncles actually sound better than mine! but some of them do give me money for shoes so i still love them :)

They'r like having mates who do actaully understand where your coming from as they live in the same environment.

i have one uncle who got out of bed at 3am in morning to make me a hot water bottle when i was ill, he then went out to buy ice-cream, bless him. He said i was a practice daughter untill his own girls grew up.

whats so strange about it?