Chaaleeswan

How relevant is this in the light of Islam? 3 days mourning period. Thats it full stop, dot, no more anniversaries or crap, so what is a chaaleeswan???

I know about iddat, but that is a different thing. When I used to debate against a chaaleeswan, relatives back home called me a wahabi.

Anyway, I havent seen this tradition amongst the arabs here.

Re: Chaaleeswan

malik mate...i don't think there is any relevance of chaaleswaan islamically....it is done in sub-continent only...i never saw arabs doing it...anyways, i encounter the same problems as you. I am strictly against chaaleswaan but then my relatives start debating with me just as i get into debates with them on peeri muridi stuff (another subcontinental thing). me and my dad are the only ones against it in my family

Acha homer, that is good to note u oppose them, coz there should be opposition to bidah. I think it is a bidah

yeah it is...and unfortunately bidah happens a lot in our sub-continent. I have seens desis in makkah tyring to cut the pieces of Ghilaaf(Cloth) from Kaabah. I have seen desis doing bidah on Prophet Mohammad (P.B.U.H) roza-e-mubarak. Arab security guards treat the people who do bidah in makkah and madinah right.. isliye unko dandiyaan parti hain...arabs are right in this case...isliye in islam there are no pics of Prophet (P.B.U.H)...warna bahut se log bidah karte.....

They also shifted Prophet Muhammad (SAWW) sword & his other belongings to Turkey. I have been in the library located on the first floor of Masjid e Nabi & saw some interesting artifacts.

The security does a good job there, coz people dont realize the bidah & the shirk involved in such an act.

Coming back to chaaleeswan, its just a family get together, plough (cooked rice with channa mewa) is cooked & distributed. They say its khairat.

pata hai yaar maghar aaj kal pakistan main degs pakiti hain chaaleswey par - all the relatives and friends want to be invited...bahut jagaa biryaani and zarda banta hai....we start these traditions but the poor man who cannot afford them has to follow them just to make his neighbors/relatives/lfalana/dhimkaana happy...instead of chaaleswaan why don't we just pray for our dead and keep on doing good deeds...the best way that a person is compensated after death is on the deeds of his/her children....

Xactly, & there are many other things that can be done. I also read in a Hadith that one should give Saqa jaria while alive. There are deeds which carry on bringing good deeds even after we die, Xample digging up a well - in todays age, distributing free water, planting a tree...

There was an incident when my mom wanted to go to a relative's place for dua, & my chachi asked mom to buy sugar...mom asked dad & he refused. I insisted too, coz it is bidah & she agreed with us.

Later we tried to convince chachi, but she wouldnt listen...:( sad to note that sugar is being distributed on the death of someone. :(

Its biddah...completely Biddah. Very clear hadeeth that you should not mourn the dead for more than 3 days. But what do we see nowadays...daigs and buffet dinners. And the khairaat part is just BS. I have seen with my own eyes....poor people getting turned away when they came for food. Zardaa being coooked ..... what the hell is the zarda for ???

Totally Biddah....

mourning is not the same thing as remembrance is it. it is only natural to feel the loss of someone especially at the date they left us or memories brought on by something. and remembrance doe snot have to be by beating oneself up or by distributing daegs of zarda.

aside from that I agree with you guys that there is no religious basis for all this halwa manda, but it is naturally impossible for someone to not grieve the loss for years, or decades.

**U should not mourn the dead for more than 3 days. ** – its about dead

how about those who are alive ? but you dont know

Fraudia bhai, remembrance is something else, & yes u can remember the dead. Remember my pm. Xactly, u cannot remember one by beating ur self, or distributing zarda or any other means.

Sharaabi - Pirawa, post the Hadith yaar, Im being very lazy, having a Red Bull, trying to contemplate the fact that educated desis in Dubai still do bidah :frowning:

inuit - what did u ask man, & who was the question directed at?

If Arabs do it does it that make it Islamic? And if Muslims in the sub continent do things that Arabs don’t, does that make it unislamic? Isn’t all this just about culture and not religion?

No, he was trying to justify my statement, where even I mentioned that arabs dont do this here. You should see the difference of cultures in the sub continent & middle east. I have yet to see a mazar, shrine or a pakki qabar here.

Yes it is a difference of culture like u indicated, but there is absolutely no reference to an arab doing something & justified in Islam. Quran & Hadith are the correct reference

malik i know its off the topic but r u in dubai?

relax seminole...i am not saying that arabs are the best race in the world and the most correct muslims- i was just saying that in this case (bidah) they are right...they don't do bidah

pirawa look in the Img 2 forum for a thread with the name Dubai in it. :slight_smile:

Here we go again.
It is biddah and completely unislamic. My maternal family used to be big in these kind of things ..Chaliswaan, Khattam, Deggay, Data Darbar…, however, my father showed me the difference from early on. I never did participate in such rasm-o-rawag and hence was labelled wahabi like my father.

Do you know what is Biddah and what is islamic & un-islamic - do you claim to have its complete knowledge. This “Biddah” seems itself a Biddah. -

The things you are talking about e.g Chaliswaan, Khattam, Deggay, Data Darbar; off course are not Faraiz -e- Deeni - These can be Mushabat still not sure; have to see each and every things separately and what Ullema says about it. – Correct these things not necessary to do. Obviously those who give more importance and give less value to the Faraiz - they don’t do well. but the way to refute them should not be un-islamic.

inuit, when I say un-islamic, I mean there is no proof that it is a part of Islam. People in pakistan think that it is a holy and necessary thing to do because it is Islamic and the way to break them of this habit is to come out and say it loud and clear....that those acts are not Islamic and never will be.

^^

People in Pakistan or Ullema in pakistan too. ?

If Ullema too involved in it; then they must have some reasons doing it. -- seems debatable issue.