CFA

Salaam All.

I am thinking of doing my CFA - but I dont know how beneficial it will be for my career.

I am an accountant working the field for about 3 years now. Primarily in Hedge Funds and I llike it here will stay in the this field.

I have a BA in Accounting, and currently working on my dual degree MBA in MIS and MSA(ccounting). This degree will take about 3 years part time.

In the meantime I was wondering if doing the CFA is a good way to boost value and salary. What do you guys think. Am I being overly ambitious?

BTW if it matters - I am living in the USA (NY/NJ/CT)

Re: CFA

Hi Muniya,

I suspect that Faisal or someone else who’s working in the financial sector may be better able to answer your question. However, I’ll give you my own viewpoint as I have been contemplating writing the CFA exams myself, and still intend to do so in a couple of years time inshaAllah.

My colleague just finished doing hers and we’ve had conversations at-length about the viability of it and how much work is involved etc. Ultimately, I think it’s well worth it for sure. Some market salary surveys show that there’s a difference of more than $20K per year at junior level positions, and on average, CFAs earn about 50% more than investment analysts with similar experience and qualifications who do not have the designation.

I’m the last person who people would expect to give you a fair opinion on what is and is not “overly ambitious” since I tend to take up too much myself… but if you ask me, you’re better off finishing your MBA/MSA and then completing the three exams over the next two years while you work. It’d be best to take up electives at school which will help you in your CFA exams and make sure to let it be known to potential employers that you have that target in mind.

Good Luck.

Good advice. Thanks for taking the time to write -

I think I have the "overly ambitious" syndrome too. :)
I may wait afterall but I want to look at the books in the meantime.

Umar bhai r u taking the CFA exam? My husband is going to take it in June inshallah....any advice for him? Do u know of any jobs he might be able to apply for currently. He has an accounting degree from PK and he just came here like a month ago. Do u know of any good entry (in accting) level positions that might be good for him. He has never worked just studied.

^^ Pyari where are you? I may have something for your hubby

I am planning CFA Level 1 late this year inshallah-

The United States....California

hmm sorry - I have a ton of connections here in NJ/NY

:mad:

tons of connections> :halo:
use for me:mad:

^^ You don’t drive!
:stuck_out_tongue:

And I did promise to help you - but you have to invite me over and feed me :devil:

:hoonh: boht duck ka makaam hai, larki, yeh batain public ko tu na batahoo na,:teary1: ,
hayee mere ansoon kadam ho gaye hain:fatee:

^^ :hehe:
sorryyyyy

:kiss:

well if u have someone in Los Angeles area...plzzzzz do let me know...I would really appreciate that....

A query about CFA

Hi guppies before asking question I want to tell some thing about me I am in my early 40's have Master degree in Economics (Govt. College Lahore) with good standing, for last 4 years in canada and now thinking to get some education to get good job( right now working in Accounts payable). Actually I need some information regarding CFA.Is it good idea to get this certification to pursue a career in Investment & Finance, how hard is it to pass the three exams( keep in mind a person with very good IQ, intellegent, fast learner but out of college since 1994), how much time should some body need to pass each exam (I know as per CFA institute on average it's 250 hours of study) I need answer to this from some one's personal experience.Keeping in mind I have not studied finance courses, it it ok to go for CFA.

Re: A query about CFA

Hi newguy… you may want to talk to bao bihari who I think would have written level 1 last year and I think Pyaari83’s husband as well.

My brother’s writing the exam in June and is preparing for it these days.

It sure is a lot of work and if you’ve been out of school for a while and have little finance background, you can expect to spend significantly more time in the preparation for the exams.

Here’s another thread with some discussion on CFA:
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=245345

HI! :wave:

^^ you PM me

Re: A query about CFA

My husband took the exam but did not do as well as anticipated. I think he has good study background but lacks the experience. I told him to take the CPA first then go for CFA after he gains experience...and inshallah I think that is what he is going to do. I think the exam is quite tough. I know his friend took part 1 exam 2 times and finally passed it. His friend is a CA and has been working...not sure how well he prepared for it the first or second time.

But good luck with everything. Just study hard. Follow the CD's too. My husband mostly studied from the book and didn't pay too much attention to the CD which I think is important as well.

Muniya did u take the exam yet?

NYC/NJ FOLKS: Who is planning on taking the CFA Level 1 in december? Which prep courses do you guys recommend?