Caste/clan

Re: Caste/clan

This whole caste system thing is like zodiac signs , you try and try to get a generalized view of the people belonging to a certain star, but the fact that can never be denied is that every individual is different and majority even claim that they dont fit into their Zodiac sign characteristics .. the same goes for the freaking zaat system in Pakistan

I think this bid to claim superiority over others is what is fueling the caste war .. werna kanjoos kon nahi hai aaj kai zamanae mai :cb:

some caste/jamats in Karachi are

Memons
kachi
gujrati
junagarhi
kathiawari
Turks
Mughals
patni
chohan

isn’t chohan plural of chooha

LOL plural of chooha is choohay.
chohan = chauhan

don’t be calling chohan’s as chooray…they might get offended… chooray are the lowestest caste…FYI

choora = untouchable, literal meaning.

^ arghh, that was clearly a typo! :naraz:

lowestest is not a word! And you know what I meant!

All this caste talk sounds like a fake ego boost more often than not and in the race for milking it to the max, Syeds take the medal home.

Never heard Sheikhs are usually Kashmiris because I’m an Urdu speaker and relatives from my mother side are mostly Sheikhs.

In KPK and balochostan you have tribes , in punjab and sindh you have castes.

Pashtuns are egalitarian , no stratification among tribes as all are related to each other and have shajra that traces back to common ancestors.

Punjabis, kashmiris and Sindhis on the other hand are categorized into castes like indians

Butt (Kashmirir)
Jatt (Punjabi)
Aarain (Punjabi)
Memon (Sindhi/Gujrati/Katchi)
Mughal (Pathan)
Achakzai (Pathan)

Mughal technically is not pashtun…

^ My cousin mentioned a Mughal doctor in our conversation last night his last name was Khan, we assumed based on the last name he was of pashtun origin. But then again I don’t know anything.

How do you pronounce “Achakzai”? Pehli dafa sun rahi hon.

اچکزئی

http://www.tribalanalysiscenter.com/PDF-TAC/Achakzai%20Tribe.pdf

Thanks!

I’m wondering how are you people in the know-how with all this jargon? I can only remember the more common ones and the rest just escape me.

a-chuck-za-ee :slight_smile:

There are series of hotels who share same name Quetta “Achakzai”… Once I was traveling with my cousin from Guru Mandir to Lasbella (the area between these two roundabouts is called Patel Para, Karachi). I memorized this name because every other hotel sharing same name… :5:

Interesting. That must be so confusing for newcomers if so many hotels have the same name. In small towns in Pakistan, waise bhi address dhundna bara mushkil kaam hai. No street maps. No directory.