I do mostly cardio workouts, (whenever I do happen to wokrout :halo: ) and i always go on the elliptical, only time I don’t, is when they’re all being used.. But which is better for cardio, elliptical or treadmill? Ive heard treadmill is better, but I hate walking/running on one, I can’t listen to any music while on it, and I burn less than half calories than I do on the elliptical..wht is the difference (workout/benefits-wise) between the two? ![]()
Re: Cardio workouts: elliptical vs treadmill
it really depends on the person.. treadmills are older on the scene than elliptical trainers.. regardless of that mat on treadmills, its not impact-free on your joints.. BUT elliptical covers a wider amount of body workout.. (rotation simulates walking, running, hip-movements, while the moving handles simulate cross country and challenge your upper body muscles)..
however, elliptical challenges both your upper body and lower, so heart rate climbs up quicker.. and thats a debatable scenario.. based on your height weight and genetics, quicker warmups/extended periods of elevated heart rate isnt good either..
i like balance.. so i will recommend having 1 day of treadmill, 1 day of elliptical..
^ Thas what i figured, elliptical requires more body-strength, u get a variety of movements, whereas on the treadmill n bicycle ur mostly jus using ur legs.. Plus, my ankles really start to ache wheN im on the treadmill.. don’t get the same when Im walking on regular ground..
I thot it was good to have ur heart rate elevated, to do a bit of heavy breathing and sweat? Like “no pain no gain”?
I’ve read material that says high impact workouts are far more beneficial, you burn alot of fat, and tht u continue to burn calories even after ure workout, ascompared to low impact workouts..
I am bored of both. I now like cycling :D Its very good or your legs.
Sara, elliptical will surely make you sweat. If you don’t sweat then u won’t loose much weight.
I can actually be half sleep on the treadmill, doesn’t work for me much.
sara <-> better to run after her and burn calories. it will help u aswell sara :D ;)
btw i have treadmill and its just sitting in my basement ro'ing on its qismat like a first wife. don't remember when was the last time i had a ride on it. :D
faizy bhai faizy bhai, I have love handles stuck to me like glue. kya karoon :=(
saray maslon ki aik suljhai
faizy bhai, faizy bhai
:k: ![]()
Elipticalls tend to workout the entire body, though you may not feel it when you are actually on the machine. Treadmills are much too harsh on my knees which is why I prefer working on the cross-trainer. Plus, it works out my entire body, including my arms as opposed to the treadmill.
I haven't been to the gym regularly since mid-January. I will inshallah go today at lunch time. Wish me luck! I'm scared!!!
I LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE elipticals
i have half/3-4th layer of love handles.. and i’m thinking of keeping it .. had the worst winter season of my life this year.. cuz instead of having 2 layers of upper clothing, i had to wear 3 or sometimes 4 to keep warm .. moment body senses the cold, it starts to hang on to the fat..
but i’ve worked from having 2 and half layers of love handles (yes, i was michelin tire-man figure one time) to this partial layer. .. i do side situps, lying down each side on mat, lifting 5-7.5pounders from one foot .. stretching before warming up.. trying to make a perfect circle from a 5pound dumbell in continous-stretch in those areas.. running by sucking up the tummy, and using chest to breath, not tummy.. (u will be surprized how magically it works.. it challenges your tummy area a lot)
i think tummy is the hardest area to work on .. thats why its so wanted..
i know ![]()
Faizy, im sure that is good advice, but i dont understnd it. I always put on weight roundmy belly. Goris get wide hips, I start a pouch like a kangeroo.
hops away
my next would be a bit harsh .. give up on sweet things.. and replace coffee with tea.. if possible
how much water in-take ? and how many meals (including snacks) in a 24hr time?
i drink about 4L in off-work days.. and 7-8L in working days.. (work is 12 hrs shifts, continous walking, biking, climbing and occasional running)
i eat 5-7 times at any given (off or working days) in 24 hrs period..
getting rid of love handles requires proper warmup BEFORE anything else.. 250calories burnout of elliptical or like 300 of treadmill.. i like treadmill cuz i've weaker lungs and blocked airpassages
For weightloss, elliptical is better, if you arent running on a treadmill. That's what my personal trainer told me at the gym I used to go to. smile