car seat in pak

Re: car seat in pak

chips thts my friend's baby :)

So sweet,Mashallah..>!

abay as I mentioned before Emirates doesnt allow the rear facing car seat on board EVEN IF you buy the seat for the baby.

Chipsy.. I am not worried about the travel, I will book the car seat to the destination.. and I dont need a stroller in Pakistan.. I just want the car seat in Pakistan. I am only worried about handling of car seat that may jeopardize its safety.. that's it!

by the way, good to know about the stroller.. if he gets tired in the baby carrier, we will probably try the stroller too if it reclines all teh way back.

Devilish.. at the time of travel he will be 3 months inshaAllah. We have the bassinet reserved for him.

GTG awww mashahallah just take baby carrier wth u on board n thn book ur stroller n car seat all wrapped up in plastic n ask them to put a fragile tag on them inshshallah they vl remain safe :)

^we will end up with two extra bags that we have to pay for.. arghhh the decisions!!

i think 2 years back these acr seats n pushchairs were free now they have added their weight also :(

so my understanding is right that I can take a stroller and a car seat with me, that will not count as luggage, but I will give it at the gate, before boarding the plane and get it at my final destination. If so, then thats good for me, as I will take a baby carrier with me and we can use those red strollers at dubai airport for transit.

I understand that we might not need the stroller in pakistan but if we do, it will be with us, I will use the stroller at home, buckle her up and give it to the older kids in pakistan to push her around the house and terrace when she is awake or when we will feed her and anyway its an extra stroller that we dont need here, so we will leave it in pakistan.

Saadia.. check with the airline..some airlines allow either the car seat or stroller with the baby but since you will have three kids with you,,, it may not be an issue.and yes they collect the car seta and stroller before boarding the plane.. at least thats what I was told by Emirates!

no saadia i have heard they have changed the policy u can book them but now their weight is included plz check from specific airlines u r travelling

I think this is Qatar's policy. BUt I would call and confirm with your airline.

Ya u better confirm that stroller and car seat dont count in the weight of ure baggage...rude awakening wi air france...but since i didnt have a lot of baggage...they didnt mind... So double check.

thanks all, I will tomorrow call them up and check, we are leaving on this thursday.

I called the Emirates hotline and got a go for both of them, but another dilemma, do they ever end. Well my husband was like you can take a car seat along but it will not fit in the car with all of us together. He is right as my husband doesnt drive a car in pakistan and we will have driver or relative along, with husband in the front row and me and 3 kids in the back, if we install the car seat, one kid still have to be on my lap. Anyway all I can do i pray for our safety, ammi is saying nafal for us and doing sadqa for a safe journey, (we recently had a relative die on a road accident on her way from the airport to her home, her 2 kids and husband survived :(.
Flight is tomorrow.

dont worry everything vl b fne have a safe journey make sure u wrap both the things

Do y'alls walaiti problems ever end? Car seat, stroller, baby carriers, do the nukray ever end?

I hated those stupid relatives of mine who would come from US and UK and act like they are so much better and sophisticated. Like everyone in Pakistan is living poor lives or something. Even after living in US for the last 16 years, I still hate those relatives. Work at gas station here, drive a taxi, or run dukaan, but go back home and act like you are the king.

Naulakhis.

Car seats are for safety, there is no nakhra in it. Since people in Pakistan don't use, therefore they think it is nakhra. But here in US it is part of our lifestyle whether you work at a gas station or make 6 digit salary.

I hate it when I go to Karachi and see the families of 5 on one Honda bike.... Abba, Amma, Bhai, Bahen, and then baby on the handlebars...all squeezed together mazay say on a seat meant for 2, at the most..... until some truck grazes them while swerving to miss the bhains....Honda bike skids....kids (including baby on the handlebars) fly off in different directions, while the concerned passer-bys gently steer themselves out of the way while throwing gaalis at the bleeding family. Yes, I have witnessed this scenario play out many times with my own two eyes....

Generalizations are a two way street my friend.....