Canadian mayor refuses to remove pork from school canteen menu and explains why

CANADIAN MAYOR REFUSES TO REMOVE PORK FROM SCHOOL CANTEEN MENU* and EXPLAINS WHY – Breaking News Gh

Good on the mayor. He did the right thing. Some immigrants are just so unreasonable and rigid in their views and create problems wherever they go. That is the sad and painful truth. No one is forcing their children to eat pork - there is ALWAYS a vegetarian alternative in schools - but parents cannot expect schools to change for them. You just cannot do that. No wonder we have such a bad reputation worldwide.

I go to various seminars and courses and these people are so decent that they will specifically ask you beforehand if you have any specific dietary requirements such as vegan, vegetarian, halal or kosher etc. There is ALWAYS a vegetarian dish.

Here in the West you have complete freedom to practise your religion. **Just do it in a decent, legal and civilised manner. **You can easily get halal meat. The West could have easily said go back to your own countries if you want this or that.

There are usually two Friday and 4-6 (yes 6 ) Eid prayers in every mosque just to make it more convenient for people (does n’t even happen in many muslim countries). But you just cannot/should not block pavements or car parks to pray juma and create nuisance for everyone (as some people did in France a few years back!.. and government had to act). If there are more namazi and there is not enough space in the mosque then hold three Friday prayers instead. Use commonsense!

Re: Canadian mayor refuses to remove pork from school canteen menu and explains why

Demanding pork out is like a demanding meat out if you are a vegetarian. While I heard Indian state Gujrat has it, but thats an extreme end and we all know their extremism.

As for the other comment, all Pakistanis here what I’ve noticed, are the best citizens when they are in non-desi areas. Following all rules and regulations and what not. But when it comes to parking outside a masjid, a islamic school or even a desi store, they forget all rules as if they are not even applied there. Not sure if it should be named as hypocrisy or ignorance.

Re: Canadian mayor refuses to remove pork from school canteen menu and explains why

Balance and moderation is key. You must give respect to get it and we must always be mindful of others while living our life as a Muslim.

We had an incident with our local masjid where people would be jaywalking to cross the road for jumuah causing traffic issues. It was extremely hard to work with the folks coming for prayer and tell them not to. It took months but still people didn’t get it. The masjid staff and the city worked together to put a traffic light to allow people to cross the street with ease and prevent traffic delays. It was a hassle but if you put your mind to it and work with the community it’s easy to find ways around it. If only people just listened it would have made things easier in the first place.

wud be interesting to know what justification they were giving to remove it.

Please wait for this “I know this forum is full of desi liberals…)”

If you don’t like it then don’t eat it. If it was being force fed, then I could see an issue that needed to be resolved.

PS Are these schools muslim majority? Still, I wouldn’t impose anything. I thought that backward wahabites didn’t cross the atlantic divide unlike the muslim ghettos in europe …

hasan nisar hota tau kia kahta…
kuch aisa kahta…
ganday ghleez doodh kay palay pissi hui entoon ki mirchon main gutter kay pani sayy ugi hui sabzian aur pani bhara gosht janwaron ki charbi main paka kar khany walo ko pork say masla hai. O baan karoo yeh doghla pan

So u represent desi conservative. .. I am very interesting to have some legitimate reasoning to stop pork in a country which is using pork for ages…
There r many foreigners living in pk. Wat u will feel if they ask to stop halal food in a canteen of pakistan.

Who is Hasan Nisar, he seems fairly eloquent.

YT him for more

Oh wow, the guy is a firecracker and speaks the truth.

Next would be, ban Bikinies, bars and knee height skirts and dresses…

Stick a pork in it, said the Canadian mayor, no fun intended.

But the same people eating dogs, rats and donkey’s meat in Pakistan without any complain. They never see what meat they are eating and never ran a strong movement to prevent selling absolute haram meats in restaurants, tikka kabab etc sh!t eateries.

So true :wink:

Aah our neighbor to the north is learning from us.

This is something that I have a gripe with, regarding people that wilfully immigrate to the West. You know fare well how the West works, it is not a Muslim society, it is not a Muslim country, it is a multicultural mixed society, and there will be things that you aren’t familiar with, or you don’t like. But you have to compromise if you end up going there, and they accept you in their country. I don’t get people who weren’t even that religious to begin with in Pakistan or something, but as soon as they go Canada, UK or USA, they become such hardcore thinkers and have such an ultra Muslim stance to things. No one forced you to live where you are, you came on your own free will. People don’t want to integrate into the society and gain the positives out of someone else’s cultures, but they want to have blue, red, black passports and earn in foreign currency.

Canada in terms of being open and accepting, is doing beautifully, especially compared to USA these days. Still people have issues. It is not fair to the people that accept you.

Well there are two things I need to say here…

One, as I was talking with someone and she mentioned that the people who migrated to west want the best of both worlds. I agree with this notion. People move here, want to avail free medical, schooling and what not but at the same time want to preserve eastern values which include religion as well. Now is it wrong? I dont think so if you decide a middle point to meet. So there is a fine balance and you have to reach that. A lot of people I know want to talk in urdu/punjabi etc in public and a lot of women want to go out in abaya even in burqa.
To me its totally fine with whatever anybody wants to wear or not to, but to others its not ok.

Secondly you mentioned about Canada and I agree that its the only country in west other than Germany who is doing great in terms of acceptance. But if you notice both countries have liberal leadership right now. What if it changes tomorrow? Thats exactly how it happened in US. Had Hillary won, things would be very different but thanks to our conspiracy theorists and right wingers, its now Trump we have to deal with.
And very unfortunately, this can happen anywhere now.
Sigh!

No, there is no harm in having a balance and wanting best of both worlds. But if you do decide to move to the West, you have to have an open mind. Many people talk about freedom of expression, freedom of speech, freedom of religious equality, but they don’t grant the same liberties to the people that are already there, regarding what they’re doing. Many people are very hypocritical. If they want a balance and best of both worlds, they cannot enforce their own religious beliefs and thinking on the people that live there. I’ve noticed this happen many times, people get so annoyingly hypocritical, advocating others to wear hijab, or telling people what to do or not to do. Fine, you wear hijab, or are a practising Muslim, but if you’re living in the West, you cannot be condescending towards people that don’t share the same values etc with you. And there are many that won’t do that, they won’t share your beliefs, morals, values etc.

The problem and issue arises, when people want to earn dollars or pounds, want to live in the Western country, but are openly advocating against the people of the country they’re living at, and forcing their religious beliefs and thinking down other peoples’ throats. That’s wrong. And you can’t expect a Western country to behave in the way a Muslim country does or should. If you have issues, move. But no, people won’t move, they want benefits, they want welfare, they want to earn in stronger currency as compared to Pakistani rupees, they want to enjoy the civilised world benefits, but at the same time they want to act like ignorant folk.

If you don’t like pork, don’t eat it. If you don’t want to drink alcohol, don’t go to pubs etc. But don’t tell people what to do or not to do. This is what makes people angry. Ignorance.

No harm in speaking Urdu or Punjabi, no harm in wearing abaya, but then you shouldn’t badmouth people that speak in English or wear clothes that are objectionable to you. Especially people who are similar to you, and have moved to the country. You know fare well that this is a country in the West and people here wear all sorts of clothing. You knew this before you came, so now you can’t suddenly say oh what the hell is this.

As for the second thing, Canada has a timeless tradition of being an immigrant friendly country and being accepting. Ever since Trudeau was elected, that has only shined out more, because of the liberal government. Despite the fact that Trudeau’s predecessor wasn’t exactly like him in terms of foreign policy and immigration, still many people were able to immigrate to Canada and build lives. So I foresee Canada to always be a neutral country, regardless of who is in government. As for the fact that things can change, you are absolutely right. Things right now are volatile and you never know, but next few years at least in Europe I don’t see a nationalistic uprising. Pro-national anti-immigration candidates have lost in elections, and even Marine Le Pen in France was involved in a scandal and was arrested briefly.

USA is different a bit, because of the political system that works around an electoral college. Despite the fact that Hillary got more votes, because Trump got more votes from Red states and some neutral states like Florida swung Red, Trump got voted in - however following the situation in America, even the people that voted Trump aren’t happy with his antics; apart from the cultists and brainwashed ‘Make America Great Again’ clique members.

Just looking at the election map Trump deserves to be the President; he won 32 states to Hillary’s 18 and it is not just the red states. Hence Trump’s support more representative of America.

Hillary’s vote% is inflated by wins in California and New York which are among the most populous states in America. If popular vote determined election victory, then someone could just win heavily in CA and NY etc. and win the presidency despite not doing so well in other (less densely populated) states! This argument alone counts against popular vote.

Hence US lawmakers came up with the idea of electoral college. It may not be ideal but I think it is still better than popular vote.