Re: Can Younis Khan lead this side to greater feats post WC 07
^ bhai GA..
I meant if at all from the current mix, then MoYo.
I really don't care right now...
too depressing a situ...
lets forget it for now.
AA, yaar don't get me wrong I like Yousuf as a person and as a batsman, but replacing Inzi with Yousuf would be like replacing like with like. On second thoughts I am not too sure about Younis or anyone in the team in the wake of the recent tragedy. I know this is probably not the best time to be discussing Inzi's successor but there is not a single person who is captaincy material in this team (when you think of the likes of Imran Khan and Wasim Akram (satta baaz yes but he was inspirational) in the past) and after how our team has played in this world cup I could n't care less who gets the job.
The thread highlights the fact that Pakistan does not have good enough player to who can be a Captain.
Younus Khan most likely WILL become a captain, despite all his shortcomings. Agree with guppies that he is NOT good enough as a player OR leader to be skipper.
**MOYO **no one is going to consider him to be a captain, so lets forget about him.
Abdul Razzaq will ne lining up for a job interview, bt again does not have what it takes to be captain.
**Shoaib Malik **young, talented but no previous experience as a captain.
The thread highlights the fact that Pakistan does not have good enough player to who can be a Captain.
Younus Khan most likely WILL become a captain, despite all his shortcomings. Agree with guppies that he is NOT good enough as a player OR leader to be skipper.
**MOYO **no one is going to consider him to be a captain, so lets forget about him.
Abdul Razzaq will ne lining up for a job interview, bt again does not have what it takes to be captain.
**Shoaib Malik **young, talented but no previous experience as a captain.
Younis Khan - most likely to be a captain but may not last long in the job if he shows the attitude shown just before the start of ICC Trophy. He is useful batsman but not what lot of Pakistani fans make him to be.
Abdul Razzaq - very talented and exciting player to watch especially in the ODI's. However, don't think he has done justice to his talent and seemed to take it easy and can be lazy. I don't think he has strong enough personality to lead the side.
MOYO - Player I always rated and when batting makes things so easy. However another Inzi if making him the captain.
Shoaib Malik - very agile and athletic in the field. I never really rated him as an all rounder and regard him as a 'bits and pieces player'. Don't think he is good enough player especially in the test side.
I was just watching this show eye something on Geo Tv with fakhr -e- Alam hosting it and Imran Khan was the guest... Imran Khan said one good thing which might make people think about this issue, that kicking a player out of the side and again bringing him in is not the way to go about a certain issue...If only the PCB took the time and stress of grooming players like younis khan they might be able to perform under pressure then...i am not talking about captaincy but yea this logic is actually right instead of giving confidence to the players or helping them work on their faults the only thing which our selectors do is kick them out for sometime and again bring them back without them being able to improve anything...sami as he said can be a matching winning bowler if only polished more, even though he is still good without even someone helping him with is game but just think if a bit more effort and work is put on him we can have a gem of a player..
I was just watching this show eye something on Geo Tv with fakhr -e- Alam hosting it and Imran Khan was the guest... Imran Khan said one good thing which might make people think about this issue, that kicking a player out of the side and again bringing him in is not the way to go about a certain issue...If only the PCB took the time and stress of grooming players like younis khan they might be able to perform under pressure then.....
Does Imran Khan know how long does it really take to "groom" a player? or may be he needs to define "player" for us as we have seen "players" like Imran Farhat, Mohammad Sami, Taufeeq Umar, Mohammad Hafeez, Kamran Akmal Younis Khan persisted for SOOOOO LONG but they still are unable to learn from mistakes..... what is Imran Khan's idea of "grooming"? is it anything like M Sami coloring his hair? or is it "drawing room ki sayr" for players when they don't perform?
He said they should have groomed him rather then pulling a player back who performing good and bringing his confidence low - same is what happened with salman butt, he could be a match winning batsman for the team but they never even picked him...you seem to attack this guy what about the mistakes the present captain made and look at the bad performance by the whole team which kicked it out of the world cup and killed a guy who didnt have anything to do with the country or the teams loss - abb woh khud toh khelnay say raha nahi tha...
If Pakistan cricket remains stuck in reverse gear, then Younis tau kiya, no body can do jack$hit to provide good results.
We have a few months break from now till our next series in Dec. Someone good should be placed as head of PCB, and an across the board cleanliness has to take place. Kick out the cronies and chamchays and other assorted free-loaders. Engage professionals to run the team. Most importantly kick out the players who are part of the problem rather than part of the solution. Get in youngsters who are talented, motivated and have a desire to show what they can do. Give them the best coaches and drill in them a sense of what it means to represent the Pakistan colors.
Younis Khan is a fighting person. He is energetic. If he stops engaging in stage-theatrics like the one he engaged in prior to ICCCT, he can be a good and effective leader. I am not sure if he is brave in the way we expect most "Khans" to be. Could be. Could be not. When I started watching him early on in his career, I was often left shaking my head wondering how come a Pathan hits such weak shots. He was the joke of KK and got titles like "Youseless Khan" and "Veggie Pathan".
Leadership is different. Lets see.
One thing will definitely irritate me that is if we allow various players to start political plays to become captain. The reason board appoints Vice Captain is to ensure consistency and set expectations. If we now bring in Shoaib Malik or Akhtar as captain, you can bet their entire reign will be tempered by political backbiting and the sort. If Malik is good, make him Vice Captain, but lets have some sort of proper chain of command.
Someone good should be placed as head of PCB, and an across the board cleanliness has to take place. Kick out the cronies and chamchays and other assorted free-loaders. Engage professionals to run the team. Most importantly kick out the players who are part of the problem rather than part of the solution.
You expect cronies to remove other cronies and appoint "professionals"?
Actually when it comes to PCB or Pakistan cricket in general, I don't expect much. Probably a good way to maintain sanity. What I wrote is what I want to happen. Sadly thats not what I expect to happen.