Can we impose cultures

Re: Can we impose cultures

THIS!

^But cultures do affect to some extent how we practise religion, we can see how Sikh or Hindu women from north India do purdah. Similarly the Islam practised in China, south east Asia or Africa would have the colour of those areas. How can we purify them? Who will decide who is a Muslim or mushrik?

brother, my point was and is that cultures must NOT affect our deen because Allah asks us to keep our faith 'PURE!' that's it!

Its all about looking things from different perspective. One may label people going to mazaraat as Mushrik, but its not necessary that all mazaar going persons are involved in shirk. A long debate, which we can keep for some other time :)

Agree with Kinzz.. A lot of things that suited our parents just wouldn't work for us..

I don't think anything should be imposed but nothing wrong with encouraging them..

agreed lekin mere khayal se har cheez ka balance hona chahiye.

There is no purdah in sikhi, we simply conver our head, similar to hijab way thats it, purdah is banned is sikhi and hindu punjabis are also not into purdah, hindus from hindustani areas are into purdah :)

that again prove the point that culture of an area affects religion :)

Can we impose cultures

I wrote out a whole thing before my battery just died! Feeling a little lazy to rewrite but simply put, yes and no but in my case my parents enforcing their culture has only helped my life. And I believe I can attribute that to the approach my parents have taken in raising us. I am comfortable moving around my desi community more than I ever was with white people. Same doesn't go for my cousins who hate a lot about Pakistani culture that could be considered "backwards" therefore with four children who ultimately believe the same, my Mamu and his wife have grown up with their children and adapted a lot of non traditional ways into their lifestyle or the way they think (and I am not referring to drinking or anything like that they are still very religious). But more modern in their way of thinking which I love because I think they have been able to not only move with time but still preserve their heritage. My parents have done the same but not to the extent that my aunt and uncle have, there are a lot of old habits my mom will never let go but I only think it's because she just wants to keep with her, her mothers teaching. I noticed there was a lot of stuff I didn't care about when I lived with my parents but then when I got married and moved away, I noticed I starting doing things the way my mom used to do them.
And then there is someone like my FIL who doesn't realize what year it is and whether the idea still works or applies in this day, he still lives by it. Because of that unwillingness to budge, his children have had a hard time adapting everything he has done and ultimately live their life the way they want and incorporate culture when it is easy or convenient for them to do so and even with an Arabic and Urdu speaking grandmother in the house, they can't speak a lick of Urdu, they speak it in a super paindoo style that we all make fun of for laughs. And in their maturity relate their mindset to the way they felt suffocated growing up to be forced to do everything in a certain way and basically blindly follow their dads ways without much room for wiggle. If this is the way then this is the way it has to be done and thats it. If they didn't they were being rebellious or even unislic.

I think there has to be a balance in the way you bring up your children by imposing your culture on them but also realizing how to help them balance it when they are outside of the home and out in the world amongst many other different cultures and mid sets. There is influence around but that doesn't mean all influence is bad and that they have to function in a very strict restricted way in terms of who they talk to, where they go etc. I think today you have to be able to trust your children to let them make their own choices but always reminding them of the guidelines and foundation you've crated for them to base their decisions off of.

My brother used to be one of those very confused desi kids but that's because my mom was great at imposing her culture on him but other than me he didn't have anyone especially a brother showing him how to balance both his cultural teachings into his everyday life. I think thats very important but she did always say one thing to him which I think put it into perspective for him as he got older and eventually came around to figuring out his balance; she would always say "ek baath yaad rakho, na tum Pakistani musalman ho gay aur na tum in logon ki tara gora christian ho, Allah sab se pooche ga ke tum kon ho? tum kya bathao ge?"