can we eat with non-muslims?

:salam: guppies and guppans,
I study with a lot of non-muslims and was wondering it is okay to go lunch/dinner with them or go to their house and eat food prepared by them. Islamic scholars disagree on whether we should or should not and its a very touchy topic for everyone who has non-muslim friends or colleagues. Zia-Ul-Haq would bring his cook with him wherever he went outside Pak- I guess all Pakistani diplomats do that. I can’t afford to have a cook but should carry my own food if I go to any party:confused: ? Serious replies please.

Allah Hafiz,
Moin

Re: can we eat with non-muslims?

As long as u r not eating or drinking any forbidden thing, then it is okay, but i have a same question, what about a person who drink, fool around and then says he cannot eat pork becuse his relgion doesn't allow that? can he say that!!!

I never heard of that. One can eat with them, use their plates and glasses and forks as they should all clean and you will be picking up halal food (if that is the concern) anyway (means fish and veggie and what not).

Prophet Mohammed:saw: excepted the invitation of a Yahoodi aurat and ate at her place, after the battle of Khyber.

That is another thing that she tried to posioned him but that is unrelated to what you asked

He can say that. If you are commiting one sin, does not mean you cannot say no to the other sin

You just had to bring that up lol

Hmmm.. Hypno Bhai, are you implying that I bring up controversies:hmmm:

ya technically speaking u r right!!

but look at the situation, Drinking is as haram as swine is, ZINA is considered the biggest sin ater Shirk, then whats the logic of doing one haram thing and not doing the other one! may ber personal likes dislikes, hidden behind the curtain of religion?

(remember in above scenario we are saying that the person is not the one who commits a sin and then ask for forgiveness)

Islam is not as complicated as you guys are making it.. Islam doesn't say don't sit with non-Muslim or eat with them.. there are some circumstances but i don't think it is tat hard to follow.. as long as ur not eating anything non-halal i think it is absolutely fine to eat with them..
Agar aysee bat hotee to aj hum log western countries kay groceries main bee na jatay thinking a non-muslim packed it lll

I understand what you are trying to say. I think what you are saying is that when one is ready to commit zina, why does he think drinking as a moraly wrong thing when he himself is moraly proven himself so low. Means he has no right to look down upon another sin (or another sinners) when he himself is commiting adultery.

Did I understand it right? Kind of ?

why can;t u eat with them, after all they r humans 2!!!

the only one thing on GP that every one agrees atleast uptill now

that muslim can eat with non muslims untill the thing is halal and non Allah names is not taken on that thing ie not parsad , or kisi buut per charay gay khaney main sey naeen hay

Do you want to add Koonday, Nazar, Niyaaz, Langar to that list or will that be too controversial to discuss:)

Here's a rule I apply to religion: if it tells you that you're not allowed to break bread with someone from a different religion, way of life, race, color or creed - you are following the wrong religion.

seminole, to prove that most muslims dot think like this i nvite you to come to chicago anytime, I will be more than happy to have dinner with you, your treat of course :)

i remeber langar, we used that to loot patangs..

Zia-ul-Haq’s doctor was an open Qadiani, a fact General sahib did not seem to mind that much considering his antipathy towards those people.

Your thread is in line with the usual bigoted rubbish you post, so I won’t comment any further.

Addition to that ,when couple of months ago , Fazul Ul rahman (MMA guy) was at Punjab governor House to do some rest , he was treated and look after by a Qadyani doctor who flew from US to Pakistan , specially for this purpose .

It is doleful what these so called religious leaders teach their ignorant and bird brained followers , in practice they don’t follow it themselves .

I hope ya get the bottom line here !

What about those pizza shops , staff working up there use same cutter for cutting pizzas from Ham& pepperoni to Veg pizza , they all cut by same cutter . Even you don’t know that guy making yr Veg pizza have just made a Ham one and without washing his hands he is about to make pizza .

]In my case if ordering I try to order it from shops where I know some desi staff working so ya can make special request to lads or ask them to kindly make it as they are making one for themselves . But still there is a doubt

I just eat it coz its one of the things I cant live without but I want to know the religious stance on this issue ?

P.S: please no suggestion of going for home made pizza as they aint gud as dominoz ones

And this is one of things i have neva learnt in me life , how to fly a kite !

my family does all of them , I dont eat koonday since i have read the real story behind this event .

is there is a difference btw nazar n niyaaz tariq bahi or its same?