can we delay salah for work?

Assalam o alaikum

well…i need to know…is it allowed to delay salah(too late near to end time) for work…
if anyone have any sheikh or imam answer…share with or any video if you have…i would appreciate it…

jazakumAllah khair…

Re: can we delay salah for work?

i don't have any video by any sheiKh or 'aalim but as far as i know you can occasionally delay salath till the last moment if the work can NOT be interrupted. however, delaying the salat on a regular basis is not a good idea. one must talk to the employer to allow you to say your prayer. it doesn't take too long to do the farz namaaz...you may skip sunnat. offering only the farz namaaz will suffice for a situation where you are on the job and you can't take too much time off to do the sunnat.

'wallaho 'aalam bissawaab.

:wsalam:

You can make your salat as long as it is within the time of that salat. So for instance if Zuhr starts at 1:00PM and finishes at 3:30PM, then you can pray anytime in that time window.

^ it's 'lawful' but delaying REGULARLY it 'on purpose' is not recommended...the reason for such delays should be sorted out and an alternate way must be found.

I agree with captain obvious on that. There is no such thing as delaying the salaat, if it's been performed within it's window of time. It doesn't matter if you do it early part or later part of that window

Not recommended by whom?

by Hanafi fiqh.

The opinion that I know is that you can pray it anytime that it does not become qaza, but I will double check with an aalim. That's how I plan my salats during work/studies/travel. I've heard the scholarly opinion of not delaying Asr as it might be easy to miss its time. I've also know that a common misconception is that Maghrib must be prayed at the beginning of its time, like within 15-30 minutes or it also becomes qaza (depending on who you ask), but really its time is there until Isha time enters.

I am aware of the recommendation, but it's for ehtiyaat only. It's does not make it makrooh our invalid if your delay it. Every salaat, except for fajr, can be performed till the time of next one enters.

what i meant is this:

namaaz awwal waqt meN paRhnaa afzal hai aur tawaatur se, taaKhir se yaa baGhair kisii jaaiz 'uzr ke yaa 'aadatan paRhnaa munaasib nahiiN.

maiN ne yehii kahaa k namaaz jaa'iz [lawful'] hogii.

Right, that's also what I know. So as for OP's question, I'd say that you can make your salat anytime within its allotted time window and it should be fine.

I have heard the opinion that Asr should be prayed as late as possible, but within time that if a re-prayer is needed it can be done before onset of the makruh period just before maghrib!

Source: book: The Book of Prayer (Kitaab-us-Salaat) chapter: The Call of Prayer (Azaan)

1. The Time of Prayer - proper timing is the fourth condition of Prayer. The time for Dawn Prayer starts from actual dawn and ends at the beginning of sunrise. It should be offered within this period. The time for Afternoon Prayer starts from the time the sun crosses its zenith until the shadow of any object becomes double its actual length. (The actual length means the length of a shadow when the sun is at the meridian - i.e. half distance between sunrise and zenith).

The time for Evening (Asr) Prayer starts from the time the Afternoon (Zohr) Prayer ends, and finishes at sunset. The period of 20 minutes before sunset is undesirable (Makrooh), therefore one should complete the Evening Prayer before this. If the Prayer could not be offered before this due to some reason, then one should offer it during this period before sunset. The time for the Sunset (Maghrib) Prayer starts immediately after the setting of the sun, and ends upon the disappearance of twilight. The period for Night (Isha) Prayer begins upon the disappearance of twilight and lasts up to dawn. However, delaying it after midnight (half time between sunset and sunrise) is Disliked (Makrooh).
[end of quote]

All the Makruh times are mentioned. They are generally accepted as being 20 mins duration. The dislike of Isha prayers beyond half the night is also mentioned. Outside of these makruh times the prayers are well and good, and even permitted in the makruh times

jazakumAllah khair ya ikhwati...

well what if we are living in islamic country?
cant we manage easily even the jammah....

and as per my knowledge...isha is prefered to pray late night.....like the mid of night..Allah knows best...this is my knowledge but as per convenience..it is done earlier time..

If delay does not cross the set time of qaza, I don't see problem.

Personally i feel it has to be on time...its not a big problem to take 10-15mins of your work time...unless you are doctor and have emergency to deal it...this could be the reason of delaying...otherwise it has to be done as earlier as it can be...

secondly, delaying obviously means close to qaza or may be qaza...
otherwise its not a problem to pray within time frame...

Delaying does not mean close to Qaza. The problem with our mullahs is that they have introduced their own restrictions within restrictions created by Allah. That is stupid. Because of this mullah created restriction, 90% of awaam think that if you delay maghrib till it becomes dark, then maghrib becomes qaza. Now for that reason, if they could not perform maghrib in first twenty minutes, they think the time is gone so now ther are like, oh I will do it with Isha. That means that though they had the time, they did not perform maghrib. Now who is going to get the gunah of that lost maghrib? Obviously the mullahs who are spreading this false ruling.

Lets stick with the timings that Allah and his Rasool gave us. Lets not create timings within those timings. Its almost a form of Biddah.

:wsalam: & Peace Tahurra,

Are you asking about ‘delaying salah for ladies’ or ‘men’? please clarify. :hat:

I've run into that misconception myself recently. I was traveling, and when we landed, I asked the local staff how long I had to pray Maghrib. Then they said that Maghrib was finished (25 minutes after its start time), so then I asked them what time does Isha come in. Then I found out I had at least another half hour left to pray Maghrib.

It's not the ulema who are misguiding people on this from what I've seen. Whenever I've asked someone with knowledge about it, they would tell it like it is.

Just want to clarify captain, when I say mullah, I don't mean ulema and real scholars. I am talking about half molvis, that your find amongst general public, and unfortunately on the mimbar of many of our smaller mosques, especially in rural areas