Can someone enlighten me?...

Hello/Salaam :slight_smile:

I’m confused!

Basically, I joined a matrimonial site as I was finding it hard finding a Ristha as I just don’t have the time and wanted to meet someone minus the family involvement if I could.

I was talking to a male on this site and we were attracted to each other and got on really well. We exchanged messages for a couple of weeks and he said he wanted to move onto next the stage. I asked what the next stage was and he said it was to exchange numbers. So I asked him for his and he gave it so I then messaged him mine. He said he’ll text and call me…but it’s been 2 weeks and I’ve heard nothing! He hasn’t been online since neither.

What was the point of asking me for my number? I don’t really want to make contact after its been quite abit since I’ve heard from him.

Shall I just forget and get to know someone else? I only like to get to know someone one at a time.

Men are so confusing!

Re: Can someone enlighten me?...

Move on... If he liked you he would of got in contact. If he was going to be busy for two weeks it only takes a minute to ring/text to let the person know he hasn't gone AWOL.

Yes, forget and move on. MOST people who join online sites contact/"get to know" several people at a time. It could be that he found someone else he liked more OR he just lost interest in you.

Men aren't confusing. The guy is giving you a VERY clear sign by not contacting you. It's women that make things complicated by trying to analyze everything.

He only came on to speak to me, that was evident as he told me and as soon as I logged on, he would too. He's been logged on everyday day to speak to me until we exchanged numbers and he stopped logging onto the site the same day. If he lost interest, he shouldn't have asked me for my number.

I was confused that's all. I can't do with getting to know several people at once as it gets tedious in a situation like a matrimonial site. But thank you for insight. He probably has lost interest. Oh well! Time to get to know someone else.

It's not just the men. Women do it too.
I decided to give shaadi.com a try a couple years back. This one time this "aunty" messaged me and was so eager to speak to my mom. I gave her my mom's number and she said she'd call the next day. I didn't reply, but we waited. Two days later, she messaged again saying she got busy and will definitely call on the weekend. Again, no phone call came.

Then there was another time it was the potential dude's father who messaged me and insisted that I give his son a call. I didn't call but I texted the guy and he replied. We texted for a few days but he didn't take the initiative to call. So I just asked him straight up what he wanted. He said that his dad had made his profile without asking him and he actually preferred meeting someone on his own. (Tu phir messages bhi kyon ker raha tha? Ullu ka patha!)

Anyway, I think the guy you were talking to probably had second thoughts once he realized things are getting real now / you are getting more serious. Or he found someone else he is more interested in (maybe through family or from the site).

You're better off not waiting.

It's a shame what happened to you.

Yeah, I'm just kind of down beat of having to get to know someone all over again, as he ticked all the boxes especially when he made out that he was really interested in me and wanted things to go to the next level with exchanging numbers.

I thought it was something i said or did. I hate being a woman and over analysing everything like women do :D. I'll get over it.

I feel for you nadii, this is smething that scares me a lot about these sites as well, but what can ya do wen u have very limited means of meeting ppl.

Hm...well if he stopped logging on to the site and didn't contact you...then he might have had something come up. Who knows what that something is?

Just let it go. He knows how to get in touch with you.

Move on.

may be he got into accident and is hospitalized?

reminds me of the same joke I posted few days back.... "diary of husband and wife".

@OP

May be he got in to some serious trouble, if you have his email you can email him or leave a message on his profile on that matrimonial site, if you are not willing to text him.

Well he logged off midway as it was late at night so I replied to his message that he sent me last and he hasn't logged on to see my reply so I don't know....maybe something has happened to him or maybe he's got bored of me.

I'm starting to think its the latter as a simple text to explain that he hasn't lost interest but he's busy with so and so is something I would have done. But why should he have to answer to a girl behind a computer screen?

This matrimonial malarkey is harder than I thought. It's easier meeting someone in person but I have no means :(

Re: Can someone enlighten me?..

Maybe he was married and his wife caught him chatting with you.:smokin:

Re: Can someone enlighten me?..

Hahaaa maybe!

I feel so stupid for giving my number. I hardly give my number to any males so makes me feel uneasy that he has mine.

he stopped communicating after exchanging the numbers......hmm..
..maybe he is someone who already know you .....

If I were you I would change my number and not give my phone number to random dudes on some website again, having spoken to him for only a couple of weeks. If he was seeking for a serious relationship he wouldn't have asked for your number in the first place, he would say 'ah no i think we should get to know each other better and then swap numbers'. Otherwise he is just considering you as another girl he can have some fun with. I AM NOT TRYING TO BE HARSH OR ANYTHING, I'M SORRY IF ANY OF THIS HAS OFFENDED YOU. But let's be honest, no guy would want to marry a girl who gives her number to some random dude online! Perhaps that's the case with him. And if I were you, I would cut contact with a guy like this.

I doubt it. He saw my pictures and I saw his. Never seen each other before. Not from the same town or anything.

He asked me for my number after 2 months of talking and swapping messages. Theres only so much you can talk about. How do you propose to get to know someone via a matrimonial site if you aren't eventually going to swap numbers and get to know each other more? I don't agree with your message. Plus I've never been in a relationship and I told him that early on so he wouldn't have been looking for "fun" with me if that was the case. And if he was looking for fun, he's got my number, why doesn't he play me along?

He hasn't done anything with my number so no point changing it.

I don't give my number to just anyone so please don't imply that I do.

If it takes two months to move on to the number exchange, you already know it's not going anywhere. In future your priority should be more in- person, face-to-face communication sooner than later. Otherwise you will continue to be emotionally exploited by people who are unsure about you.

Secondly, the whole 'I don't give my number out to guys' attitude needs to go. Guys don't have cooties and the more comfortable you are in communicating with them and being in their company, the better it is for you not just for your marital prospects but life in general.

Also, this whole 'he'll think I'm easy if I give my number to him so easily' is total BS. If you don't even want to exchange phone numbers because you have trust issues then maybe online matchmaking isn't the way to go.

People have a lot of choice online to pass time or be confused and even just to stay confused if that's what they wish to do. There's not much you can do except identify then quickly and move on.

^ you multi?

2 months did seem like a long time but that was due to him. I was waiting for him to ask and he finally did...and then disappeared!
I don't have a problem with giving males my number, however there are ALOT of males on there who are just looking for fun, probably half of them so that is why I am reluctant to give my number to anyone after speaking for a short space of time. I am looking for marriage purposes online, not to have a friend.

I feel comfortable with getting to know males...alot of males think I am easy to talk to and have a good sense of humor. That is not the problem...the problem is what i wrote in the original post. I just can not be bothered with this happening time and time again!