Can Single women do Haj?.....thoughts/ advice/evidence please?....

Re: Can Single women do Haj?..thoughts/ advice/evidence please?..

I am 1+ so I’m 1.5 :hehe:

Jafri Bhai I gave you my answer with reason and agreed with you. So let it go. Shabash.

My question to poppies remains.

** Thanks Lusi…My understanding is that a Mehrum is a male and excatly like Jafri stated .. a man that cannot marry u and is blood related.. I was surprised that someone mentioned and forgive me Lusi if it was u that a women is also condidered Mehrum?:hmmm: but Lusi I think u may have hit the nail on the head- the mehrum u need is to “represent” a female for visa purposes.. alhamd the Haj u can perform individually as does everyone else… I guess Im gonna be hearing responses to this point:k:

** Yes Jafri…I always believed it was a male Mehrum and in this case my friend did have a Saudi guy who put the stamp to say he was Mehrum to her ( but then thats confusing cos he could potentially marry her as hes an ajnabi:konfused:)**

By definition Mehrum concept is for men who cannot marry the women. Not women to women. ** :k:.. Thanks Diwana **

Poppies says she is 35. The visa requirement for these kind of women by KSA is 45+. Also a NOC from a Mehrum who cannot travel, in these kind of cases.

Not sure how she got the visa. Something needs explanation for others to learn.

**Diwana, Jafri is rite I said 35 plus .. without disclosing her real age, shes actually closer to being 40 but regardless of age… women who are single/ divorced do appear to be going on Haj with groups so therefore Haj must be allowed.

Diwana I hope the above was able to answer ur qn u put to me about her age.. Im gonna chat to her to get the accurate facts so that may be clearer to all :k:.. thanks hun

Re: Can Single women do Haj?.....thoughts/ advice/evidence please?....

^ Thanks.

Here are the requirements for the Visa in Saudi Arabia for Hajj - referring to women travelling:

**All women are required to travel for Hajj with a Mahram. Proof of kinship must be submitted with the application form. Women over the age of forty-five (45) may travel without a Mahram with an organized group, They must, however submits a no objection letter from her husband, son or brother authorizing her to travel for Hajj with the named group. This letter should be notarized. **

http://www.saudiembassy.net/services/hajj_requirements.aspx

Those women younger than 45 going in the group have to “lie” that one of the men in their group is their mahram. Hajj on a lie? It is being done all the time.

** Thanks Psyah and u raise some very provoking points:k:..however my friend is actually 42 and now what u state is quite contentious.. I feel it would be sacrilege if people are haing to “lie” to perform Haj but u state that this appears to happen all the time which totally defeats the objective of doing Haj in the first place. I really appreciate your research and may Allah swt grant us with taqwa and Deen Ameen…**** to answer my question, it seems like Haj for women single/ divorced is permissible alhamdolilah:k:**

Lol I was trying to make it a joke, not mocking you. Aite bro.

^ OK sir. :)

its is forbidden for a women to go for Hajj alone.. and a mehram is required.

Can't you get a written consent from a mehram - if you don't have one or the one that is sick? I saw ALL women's group at Hajj.

What reasoning do the travel agency use for those packages for only women?

**Sorry Sussana but evidently thats not the case- it cannot be haraam- as single women in groups do perform hajj and what evidence do u have to say its “haraam”??:hmmm:

**Thanks N but it appears the travel group arrange the visas and a mehrums stamp- and apparently theres an age limit that the Saudi stipulate- until I investigate I cant elaborate much.. but the point is that as u saw, Single women do perform hajj and Allah swt knows best :k:

First of all whats this thread doing here in wrong place . shudnt it be in religion ..???

**Heyy Sallams FBI :wave: inshallah hope ur well.. FBI , I deliberately did not choose to put this in that Forum as for me , the key question I asked was asked in a spiritual light - Yes typically anything to do with Haj and Umrah would be alligned to the Religion and Scriptures thread but I didnt want to loose essence of my key question

1. Can single women go and perform haj
  2. Is there any evidence from either Hadiths/ Scholars/ Quraane ne Pak or Schools of thought that support this?..I wanted intelligent and reasoned feedback which alhamdolilah I feel this thread has demonstrated. I hope ur able to see this FBI .. Thanks**

:salam2:

In Qur’an:

Surah Al Baqarah 2:126:

Surah Al Imran 3:97

According to the various Hadiths:

**Book Fighting for the Cause of Allah (Jihad) - Sahih Bukhari **
Hadith No. 250

Book 'Penalty of Hunting while on Pilgrimmage - Sahih Bukhari
Hadith No. 85

Book Shortening the Prayers (At-Taqseer) - Sahih Bukhari

**Hadith No. **192

Book General Subjects - Malik’s Muwatta

What is the ruling of women performing Hajj without a Mahram?

There are five general conditions before Hajj becomes compulsory upon someone. They are that the person is Muslim, has reached the age of discernment, is of full mental capacity and is not a slave. Additionally, they must be capable of completing the journey to Hajj, both physically and financially.

Both males and females share these conditions. However, the Muslim woman has an extra condition before she can be held accountable for not performing Hajj and that is the accompaniment of a Mahram.

The statements of the scholars regarding this matter:

The Shafi’iyyah state that Hajj is not obligatory upon a woman until she finds a male Mahram relative or a husband or a group of trusted women. If she finds any of the previous three, it is obligatory upon her to perform Hajj. If she cannot find one of the three, she is not obliged to perform the Hajj.

The condition that the Shafi’iyyah hold for a woman to perform Hajj is that she must be able to perform the journey securely. This security can be found when a husband or a Mahram or a group of trusted women accompanies her.

In the popular opinion of the Madhhab, it is permissible for a woman to perform Hajj if she finds only one trusted women to take the journey with. More so, they say it is permissible for her to travel alone if she shall be safe and she fears nothing on the road. This is how they understand the ahadith which forbid a woman from traveling alone.

However, if she has already performed her first obligatory Hajj and this is a voluntary performance, then she is not permitted to travel alone - she must be accompanied by a husband or a Mahram. In this case, traveling with a group of trusted women is not permitted; this is the more correct position in the Madhhab.

The opinion of the Malikiyyah is similar to that of the Shafi’iyyah in that they allow a woman who does not find a Mahram or husband to travel with a secure group. They add that this secure group may be a group of men, a group of women, or a group made up of men and women.

In the Madhhab of Imam Ahmad, Hajj is not obligatory upon a woman who does not find a Mahram or husband to travel with her. In fact, Imam Ahmad specifically commented on this issue, as Abu Dawud states: I said to Ahmad, “A wealthy woman who does not find a Mahram to travel with her to perform Hajj, is Hajj Wajib upon her?” He said, “No.”

They cited as proof for what the opinion that they took a selection of Ahadith which we shall mention shortly.

The Hanafiyyah held an opinion similar to that of the Hanabilah. They said that Hajj is not compulsory upon a woman who does not find a Mahram or husband to travel with. In addition to the following Ahadith, they said that for her to perform Hajj without male assistance would expose her to situations that may very well harm her.

A** Discussion of the Dalil **

[The woman should not travel except accompanied by a Mahram]

Hadith Adi in which the Prophet (peace be upon him) said to him “if your life is prolonged, you shall live to see Adh-Dha’inah (a woman) traveling from Al-Hirah (in Iraq) all the way until she performs Tawaf of the Ka’bah, fearing no one except Allah.”

They also cite Qiyas. They compare a woman traveling alone to that of a woman who converts to Islam in the land of the Kuffar. Or a Muslim woman who may have escaped from the clutches of the disbelievers - in both cases there is unanimous agreement that she is permitted to travel alone. So should the case be in her traveling alone to perform Hajj.

The Hanafiyyah and the Hanabilah reject these proofs with the authentic Ahadith that forbade a woman from traveling alone. It is true, they say, that the Hadith of Adi is authentic, but it was a statement of the Prophet (peace be upon him) that did not amount to him sanctioning the act. Rather, it was an account to Adi of what would happen in the future.

As Imam Ash-Shawkani said, it is more befitting to take the Hadith to mean that such a thing would happen - not that it is permissible. This is so there would be no contradiction between it and the Ahadith that forbid women from traveling alone.

** LK.. jazakallah khairun for providing hadiths and sources that support that women can perform haj as long as certain conditions are met:k:. alhamdolilah…Thank you**

It has been a while I read this, but I think from pure Quran and Hadith, it is not allowed for women to go for Hajj without a Mehrum.

Some sects and religious people later allowed that with some conditions.

** diwana whilst I totally appreciate ur comments , the more Ive spoken to my friend and others- the more Im convinced that as a single woman , one is allowed to perform Haj, there are many tour groups that are catering for this issue and as you all travel and go in a group- I guess thats what they are referring to as a Mehrum…ultimately I do believe that we all are referring to the mehrum that is a blood male connection but in this instance its appearing that for the plight of single/divorced/ orphaned women who dont have this blood male relative , its reassuring to know that these women can still perform Haj- ultimately Allah knows best :k:**

Poppies :)

When i went to perform Umrah, I saw a group of 50+ (numbers of girls) young girls came alongwith an instructor and i asked the instuctor. Why there is no males in your group? He replied: In Malaysia if a female wanna get marry, she must perform Umrah or Hajj then male (mulsim malaysian) will marry them. I didn't went into details.

Another reason my cousion wasn't allowed to perform Umrah (documents rejected by Saudi Embassy) b'coz she was going with cousions (Concern dept. thinks there is no kinship link of mahram), and rest like Psyah said: performing Hajj or Umrah of lie (fake documents).

thanks LK.. but are u saying that these groups of women who are performing Haj are having to “lie” about how they applied for visa and so on??:hmmm:. my point is these tour groups exist and theres a growing market - surely its a halaal procedure as ur evidence also supports single women performing Haj yes?..

Like i said earlier, I didn't went in details. It could be or could b not. Allah SWT! knw better. They came for Umrah not for Haj. I guess they came alongwith tours as here in Bahrain most of tour agencies offers 'Ziyarat Services of holy places' for Iraq n KSA. Once you r inside of Haram Boundry. No1 will gonna check stamped Visa on ya passport.

They will check at the entrance/exit of any ports.